We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely worth it!!”

Camera Obscura and World of Illusions
Ranked #5 of 449 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy unique 360 degree panoramic views over Edinburgh from the fascinating Camera Obscura and rooftop terrace. In World of Illusions, experience five floors of interactive hands-on optical illusions, tricks and fun things to do including vortex tunnel, mirror maze and shrinking room. Get involved, play, touch everything. Great fun for all ages and nationalities, whatever the weather. Scotland’s oldest purpose-built attraction, established in 1835. Tickets are valid all day, just get your hand stamped and come and go as you please all day long. If you don't see everything we give you a free pass to come back the next day. Unique money back guarantee if not fully satisfied. Free Wifi. 'Best family attraction in Britain’, The Telegraph. 'Five Stars, outstanding, world class', VisitScotland. Bring your camera - lots of photo opportunities throughout. Allow about 2 hours. Please note the attraction is located in a listed 17th Century building over 5 floors without a lift. Open every day, open late on holidays. Latest news: Autowed has arrived - get married, renew vows or become 'best friends forever', with our friendly robotic wedding machine.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We used Tesco clubcard vouchers for entry which was great. Once inside we spent a good few hours exploring all the different exhibitions over the 4 floors. The show on the top floor was interesting, it wasn't a particularly sunny day but we did get quite a good image from the camera.
The rest of the illusions were excellent and my daughter enjoyed all the interaction. Her favourite was the vortex.....it made me slightly nauseous but was good fun!
Definitely go if you are staying in Edinburgh!

Thank Gail71C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hi there! I’m glad you enjoyed the show in the Camera Obscura as well as our other four floors of exhibitions. The Vortex Tunnel is one of the most popular exhibits here, it’s certainly one of my favourites. Thanks for taking the time out to leave us know about your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"great fun"
in 945 reviews
"all ages"
in 1,104 reviews
"vortex tunnel"
in 454 reviews
"no lift"
in 201 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 438 reviews
"five floors"
in 123 reviews
"rainy day"
in 241 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 152 reviews
"few hours"
in 383 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 229 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 112 reviews
"any age"
in 101 reviews
"whole family"
in 143 reviews
"edinburgh castle"
in 278 reviews
"great attraction"
in 141 reviews
"royal mile"
in 289 reviews
"mirror"
in 1,193 reviews
Filter

6,865 - 6,869 of 11,332 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Really good day had by all highly recommend it to all members of the family . staff really helpful and very pleasant facilities are good and easy to access.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hello. I’m pleased that your whole family enjoyed their visit here. Thank you for your nice comments about our staff and facilities!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is the house of mirrors at the State Fair on steroids. They had the amazing ability to be able to visualize, minimize then transport people on the street wile you are watching them in real time.

Thank Bruce D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hi there! Wow, that’s a brilliant and different way to describe us! I’m glad you enjoyed the show in the Camera Obscura, picking people up in there never gets old. By the sounds of things you had a great time here which is fantastic. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

There was a lot of people when we were there, and that unfortunately leaves you with a bit of queues when you wanted to see something. The camera obscurra was unfortunately completely dark, because of the weather. It was raining quite a bit at the time.

Thank Buffonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hi there! It’s a shame that the weather was not good during your visit. As you’ve already said, our Camera Obscura is weather and daylight dependent. Therefore, it can be a little dark when it’s raining. I hope you enjoyed our other four floors of exhibitions though!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

My kids loved this place - so much to do and see and we also could get a pass back in. This was really useful as they offered to store our bags for us too.
Overall we must have spent 3 hours here and my boys aged 9 and 11 would have gladly stayed longer.
There was so much to see and do - easy to miss things on the first look around.
Would definitely go back when next in Edinburgh. Well worth a visit highly recommended.

Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hello! Thank you for your review! I am glad to hear you would recommend us and intend on coming back for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camera Obscura and World of Illusions also viewed

 

Been to Camera Obscura and World of Illusions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing