We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice with kids. Very expensive”

Camera Obscura and World of Illusions
Ranked #12 of 416 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy unique 360 degree panoramic views over Edinburgh from the fascinating Camera Obscura and rooftop terrace. In World of Illusions, experience five floors of interactive hands-on optical illusions, tricks and fun things to do including vortex tunnel, mirror maze and shrinking room. Get involved, play, touch everything. Great fun for all ages and nationalities, whatever the weather. Scotland’s oldest purpose-built attraction, established in 1835. Tickets are valid all day, just get your hand stamped and come and go as you please all day long. If you don't see everything we give you a free pass to come back the next day. Unique money back guarantee if not fully satisfied. Free Wifi. 'Best family attraction in Britain’, The Telegraph. 'Five Stars, outstanding, world class', VisitScotland. Bring your camera - lots of photo opportunities throughout. Allow about 2 hours. Please note the attraction is located in a listed 17th Century building over 5 floors without a lift. Open every day, open late on holidays. Latest news: Autowed has arrived - get married, renew vows or become 'best friends forever', with our friendly robotic wedding machine.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 11 November 2013

It is nice to visit with children and the are some nice views on the city of edinburgh. In my opinion it is rather expensive.

Thank biancoydiaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hi there! We are often told we are a good place to bring the kids as everything is interactive. Many of our visitors rate us very highly on our online survey when it comes to value for money. I’m sorry you did not feel this was the case. I hope you were aware that we offer a full money back guarantee for those who feel their visit did not live up to their expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10,024)
There are newer reviews for Camera Obscura and World of Illusions
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,772 - 5,776 of 10,025 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We absolutly loved this attractions friends raved how good it was and its was. We loved the tunnel and the mirror room fantastic. We had so much fun. The roof top views were beautiful.
Defo well worth a visit.

Thank blonde1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hello. It’s great that your visit lived up to your friends recommendations. The Vortex Tunnel is a particular favourite amongst our visitors and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Very good fun, go on a bright day for a good view of the city from the camera obscura, we went when it was clear but grey and couldn't see as much as if we'd gone when it was brighter. It's worth the trip for all the great illusions throughout the rest of the building though. Myself and two friends, all aged around our early 20's, were having just as much fun as the children!

Thank misscorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hi there! As you’ve said the Camera Obscura does work best on a bright sunny day, as it works on natural daylight and can potentially be a bit dark when it’s overcast. A lot of visitors tell me that our exhibits make them feel like a child again! Thanks for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

This place was wonderfully bizarre. I loved it. Very interesting and fun. Great place to wander round x

Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hello! It’s fantastic to hear you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Went 30th october at about 1800 hrs with 3 x 11 year olds. We thought it was excellent, so many exciting things in every room, which kept us occupied until it closed. The views from the top are superb and the shop is excellent. We were tired using all the steps but it was at the end of the evening. Excellent value for money.

1  Thank Julie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hi there! It’s fantastic that you enjoyed all of our exhibits! The stairs can be tiring, and to help with those who have difficulty with stairs we have placed seats on every level. Thank you for writing to us, it is wonderful to hear how much people enjoy their time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camera Obscura and World of Illusions also viewed

 

Been to Camera Obscura and World of Illusions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing