We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 21:00
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Edinburgh
from US$12.80
More Info
from US$15.40
More Info
from US$16.70
More Info
from US$21.80
More Info
Reviews (12,070)
Filter reviews
12,070 results
Traveller rating
7,846
3,193
766
187
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,846
3,193
766
187
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews all ages vortex tunnel great fun no lift five floors couple of hours kids and adults few hours a lot of fun interactive exhibits any age whole family rainy day great attraction edinburgh castle royal mile mirror
Filter
Updating list...
7,456 - 7,461 of 12,070 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We absolutly loved this attractions friends raved how good it was and its was. We loved the tunnel and the mirror room fantastic. We had so much fun. The roof top views were beautiful.
Defo well worth a visit.

Thank blonde1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hello. It’s great that your visit lived up to your friends recommendations. The Vortex Tunnel is a particular favourite amongst our visitors and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Very good fun, go on a bright day for a good view of the city from the camera obscura, we went when it was clear but grey and couldn't see as much as if we'd gone when it was brighter. It's worth the trip for all the great illusions throughout the rest of the building though. Myself and two friends, all aged around our early 20's, were having just as much fun as the children!

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank misscorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hi there! As you’ve said the Camera Obscura does work best on a bright sunny day, as it works on natural daylight and can potentially be a bit dark when it’s overcast. A lot of visitors tell me that our exhibits make them feel like a child again! Thanks for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

This place was wonderfully bizarre. I loved it. Very interesting and fun. Great place to wander round x

Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hello! It’s fantastic to hear you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Went 30th october at about 1800 hrs with 3 x 11 year olds. We thought it was excellent, so many exciting things in every room, which kept us occupied until it closed. The views from the top are superb and the shop is excellent. We were tired using all the steps but it was at the end of the evening. Excellent value for money.

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank Julie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hi there! It’s fantastic that you enjoyed all of our exhibits! The stairs can be tiring, and to help with those who have difficulty with stairs we have placed seats on every level. Thank you for writing to us, it is wonderful to hear how much people enjoy their time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We used Tesco clubcard vouchers for entry which was great. Once inside we spent a good few hours exploring all the different exhibitions over the 4 floors. The show on the top floor was interesting, it wasn't a particularly sunny day but we did get quite a good image from the camera.
The rest of the illusions were excellent and my daughter enjoyed all the interaction. Her favourite was the vortex.....it made me slightly nauseous but was good fun!
Definitely go if you are staying in Edinburgh!

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank Gail71C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hi there! I’m glad you enjoyed the show in the Camera Obscura as well as our other four floors of exhibitions. The Vortex Tunnel is one of the most popular exhibits here, it’s certainly one of my favourites. Thanks for taking the time out to leave us know about your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews