We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Camera Obscura and World of Illusions
Ranked #11 of 428 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy unique 360 degree panoramic views over Edinburgh from the fascinating Camera Obscura and rooftop terrace. In World of Illusions, experience five floors of interactive hands-on optical illusions, tricks and fun things to do including vortex tunnel, mirror maze and shrinking room. Get involved, play, touch everything. Great fun for all ages and nationalities, whatever the weather. Scotland’s oldest purpose-built attraction, established in 1835. Tickets are valid all day, just get your hand stamped and come and go as you please all day long. If you don't see everything we give you a free pass to come back the next day. Unique money back guarantee if not fully satisfied. Free Wifi. 'Best family attraction in Britain’, The Telegraph. 'Five Stars, outstanding, world class', VisitScotland. Bring your camera - lots of photo opportunities throughout. Allow about 2 hours. Please note the attraction is located in a listed 17th Century building over 5 floors without a lift. Open every day, open late on holidays. Latest news: Autowed has arrived - get married, renew vows or become 'best friends forever', with our friendly robotic wedding machine.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We visited in the evening so the Camera Obscura was closed but they have us a re-entry pass for the next morning.
It's 5 floors of really different objects, photos, kaleidoscopes, trickery and much more. The camera Obscura is brilliant. Alistair was very interesting and funny. All of us loved it (4 adults and 13, 11 and 10 year olds) and would recommend it highly

Thank kerrykirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hi there! It’s great that you managed to come back the next day to see the Camera Obscura show. The Camera Obscura works on natural daylight so in winter months shows can end as early as 3pm as after that it gets too dark. Thank you for your lovely comments about Alasdair, I have passed them on to him.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"mirror maze"
in 594 reviews
"all ages"
in 1,054 reviews
"vortex tunnel"
in 434 reviews
"great fun"
in 897 reviews
"no lift"
in 187 reviews
"five floors"
in 121 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 410 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 144 reviews
"few hours"
in 364 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 109 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 214 reviews
"any age"
in 99 reviews
"whole family"
in 133 reviews
"rainy day"
in 227 reviews
"great attraction"
in 133 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 144 reviews
"edinburgh castle"
in 262 reviews
Filter

6,303 - 6,307 of 10,664 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

I visited with a group of friends wondering if it was more of a child attraction. We were surprised at how much there was to do and how long you could stay! we laughed so much especially in the tunnel! It is a very interesting place with varied activities. The staff were all so friendly. its definately worth a visit whatever your age.

Thank hazel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hello! It seems some people think that we are just for children, but as you have discovered for yourself, this is not the case. Visitors are welcome to stay all day with us if they wish as the ticket is valid all day. We also have a hand-stamp system which allows visitors to come and go throughout the day as they wish. Thank you for your lovely comments about our exhibits and our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

there are lots of things of interest for various ages. we were a couple of 23-27 age range and really enjoyed it :)

Thank Sammie_Jayne09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hi there! Some people think that our exhibits are aimed at children, but you are proof that we are suitable for all ages. I’m glad you both really enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Not what i expected at all! I thought it would be pictures on the walls and normal illusion stuff but it was way more than that! It was so much fun (espically the mirror room!!) and at such a reasonable price too! There is something to suit all ages and i found it a great way to pass a few hours! I would highly reccommend this place to everyone. Ill deffinately be back on my next trip to Edinburgh!

1  Thank Michelle_Smyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hello! It’s great that you were pleasantly surprised by what we have on offer here. Our ticket is valid all day to accommodate those who wish to spend several hours with us. This allows people to come and go as they wish throughout the day. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Probably meant for kids but hey, who cant revert to being a child and I did this in a blink at Camera Obscura. Lots of interactive exhibits which amuse and interest at the same time the mirror maze the infinity corridor and the tunnel, you must go on the tunnel, go on I dare you.so much to do and see and so much laughter, a rare Tourist Attraction that actually delivers what it promises at a very reasonable cost

Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hi there! Ah, that’s a common misconception. We aim our exhibits at all ages and most of our visitors are actually adults. You’re not alone when it comes to reverting back to feeling like a child as our visitors often tell me that they felt like a kid again. It’s fantastic to hear you had such a great time here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camera Obscura and World of Illusions also viewed

 

Been to Camera Obscura and World of Illusions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing