We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild Dogs?”
Review of Edinburgh Zoo

Edinburgh Zoo
Ranked #44 of 404 things to do in Edinburgh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Edinburgh Zoo is set in 82 acres of sloping parkland and is situated three miles to the west of Edinburgh city centre. It is home to over 1,000 rare and endangered animals, including chimpanzees, sun bears, Indian Rhinos, the UK's only koalas and the first Giant Pandas in the UK for 17 years.You can experience a busy programme of educational events and activities from keeper talks to hands-on animal encounters. There is also a wide-range of eating experiences, several play areas and a fantastic gift shop.Viewing for the Giant Pandas is free but ticketed.(Included with entry fee) To avoid disappointment we are advising all visitors to pre-book their tickets through our website to guarantee viewing. Panda viewing tickets must be booked at the same time as you buy your entry ticket.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Wild Dogs?”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Not sure it was/is a good idea to keep these animals in a confined space. None there on our visit, and staff said one had been put down for being agressive. Seems harsh.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Peterscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira A, Customer Operations Manager at Edinburgh Zoo, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
With regards to your concern about the size of the enclosure for our wild dogs, Edinburgh Zoo is inspected annually under the Zoo Licensing Act and the size of enclosures has always met the minimum requirements and in most cases exceeds them.
We do however accept that in light of modern enclosure design there is room for improvement at some of our enclosures. We are taking steps, as the funds become available, to improve our oldest exhibits.
The use the animals get out of the space is much more important than the physical area. Our enclosures are designed to provide all our animals with opportunities to choose whether they wish to hide, climb, sunbathe, forage for food, keep a look-out, etc. and thus perform natural behaviours in a zoo environment.
I can assure you that the keepers carry out behavioural and environmental enrichment with our animals to ensure they have a full and varied life.
Our previous pair of hunting dogs is no longer at Edinburgh Zoo. Both were due to move to other collections. Unfortunately the female was in the process of receiving veterinary treatment, therefore keepers took the difficult decision to humanely euthanize her. The male has since moved to another collection.
The enclosure is currently being renovated in time for the arrival of a new group of hunting dogs.
We expect to receive a new group of wild dogs next year and hope we will be able to contribute to the conservation effort to protect this endangered species.  
Thank you for your feedback. We hope you visit again to see the improvements and upgrades we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,564
    1,820
    978
    498
    353
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little zoo”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The quality of the talks given, and the conditions for the animals are great. We were entranced.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira A, Customer Operations Manager at Edinburgh Zoo, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you for reviewing Edinburgh Zoo. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, particularly our animal talks. We hope you will visit again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great day out, huge place took two days to see everything. Recommend membership if visiting more than once.”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Penguins parade was great. Be aware that the zoo is on a very steep hill.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sabydee_ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“a nice zoo and good value for money...”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

a big zoo full of different animals.A quite good number of pengiuns and enjoyed the sea lion at the entrance.However we didnt saw the Koala bear as listed in the booklet,also the big cats were not visible maybe cause theyre unhappy there.Also the food for people was disgusting and expensive.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira A, Customer Operations Manager at Edinburgh Zoo, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you for reviewing your visit to Edinburgh Zoo. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed seeing our penguins and sea lion. The visibility of animals can sometimes be difficult as we do try to provide them with as natural an environment as possible. Their natural camouflage also means many of our animals blend in with their surroundings. This can usually be overcome by watching for a few minutes or by returning to the enclosure as some of our animals may be more active at different times of day. Our koala bears are usually visible. However their natural diet of eucalyptus does not give them the energy to be continually active so it may be our koalas were resting at the time of your visit.
In relation to you concern for our big cats, our keepers are committed to ensuring the animals have fulfilling lives and contribute to this by carrying out extensive animal enrichment to ensure they are stimulated. Our big cats’ complex 3-D enclosures provide them with plenty of opportunity to exhibit all sorts of natural cat behaviours in a zoo environment. We do accept there is always room for improvement and have plans to re-develop some of our older enclosures in the future.
In relation to our catering facilities we do try to provide a wide variety of hot and cold food to meet visitors’ tastes and needs. We are sorry to hear you wer disappointed by the food available.
Thank you for your feedback. We hope you will visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Penguin walk was great”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Zoo was clean and facilities were well maintained. Photographs of some of the animals without obstacles was difficult, but did manage to get some good viewpoints. Highlight of the day was when they bring the penguins out for a walk. If you get in place about 15 minutes before they are due out, you get a real good view of them. They walk right in front of you!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lisa10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edinburgh Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Edinburgh Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing