We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Edinburgh Zoo

Edinburgh Zoo
Ranked #43 of 394 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Edinburgh Zoo is set in 82 acres of sloping parkland and is situated three miles to the west of Edinburgh city centre. It is home to over 1,000 rare and endangered animals, including chimpanzees, sun bears, Indian Rhinos, the UK's only koalas and the first Giant Pandas in the UK for 17 years.You can experience a busy programme of educational events and activities from keeper talks to hands-on animal encounters. There is also a wide-range of eating experiences, several play areas and a fantastic gift shop.Viewing for the Giant Pandas is free but ticketed.(Included with entry fee) To avoid disappointment we are advising all visitors to pre-book their tickets through our website to guarantee viewing. Panda viewing tickets must be booked at the same time as you buy your entry ticket.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
1 review
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I cant believe someone reviewed this zoo as being clean! Arrived first thing and toilets were disgusting! Old, dirty and smelly. After paying £50 to get in was not what I expected. Went to cafe - highly overpriced. Kids got boxed meal which had half a sanwich in!!! Animals were few and far between. Appeared to be a lot of empty cages. Small monkey enclosures were very depressing as far too small and bare. Most enclosures far too small. Compared to other zoo's this is very disappointing...will not be back. Felt sorry for the animals.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank nijoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,432
    1,726
    936
    481
    344
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“feel like a queen...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

amazing view of the queens and princes shopping area from top of the castle, it was unbelievable to see the scepter, sword and crown of the king and queen of scotland... my trip was too good to be tru...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank melisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent zoo, don't miss Animal Antics”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Really good zoo although the Pandas were off limits and the penguin parade that had gathered a large crowd of waiting people didn't happen (the penguins didn't feel like doing it and it's up to them according to the human in charge.). The cafeteria was really good. Animal Antics was a lot of fun and worth walking up a very steep hill to see.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RafarbGeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Close up view of nature!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent points- The animals look well looked after. I had with a chat with a group of keepers who were maning the Panda info stand. Yes, it was disapointing we could see them in the flesh however. We all (3 children,2adults) fully understood for the animals welfare.
The only question i have is why most of the food outlets were shut? By 2pm the only 'choice' we had was the restaurant! This by the way had lovely food and not a bad price.
I also agree that it is steep in places that might be a problem for some but thats where it is built. We loved being so up close to the animals and the information was superb! Informative and exciting.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank armageddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic great day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Apart from having to walk up-hill around the zoo (but greeted with wonderful views at the top) the zoo is relatively cheap and wonderful day out for all the family! the place is clean with plenty of places to get a coffee or something to eat.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edinburgh Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Edinburgh Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing