We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Different Story of Life in Edinburgh”
Review of Gladstone's Land

Gladstone's Land
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$19.42*
and up
City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #7 of 178 Shopping in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "The best address in town" - One of the oldest buildings on the Royal Mile, boasting wealthy residential and commercial tenants in its heyday - The main apartments are decorated with lavish Renaissance, hand-painted interiors with deep hidden meanings - The 1600s stone arches were erected to shelter customers, but became the ideal place for criminal activity - The grocers on the ground floor sold all the exotic spices and dried foods you would have needed to throw a banquet - 400 years ago Edinburgh’s elite purchased their imported silk, ribbons and lace in our cloth shop Just a stone’s throw from the castle, this 500 year old building is a towering testament to tenement life in Edinburgh’s Old Town and was once owned by merchant Thomas Gladstone. He extended and remodelled the building to attract wealthy tenants for his opulently decorated apartments, as well as for the high-end grocer and cloth shop on the ground floor and the tavern located in the basement. By the 1800s only the poorest of the city’s inhabitants remained in the Old Town. Gladstone’s Land was one of the first buildings the National Trust for Scotland acquired, rescuing it from demolition in 1934. A local wealthy resident, Helen Harrison, donated £1000 to help restore the building from its derelict state, in order to provide affordable homes for people of ‘little means’.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Different Story of Life in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed this little museum. It gave us some insight into life in Edinburgh outside of castles and palaces and closes. The displays, period furniture, stories of the people who lived there, and the construction were impressive. The docents stationed in various rooms were excellent - very informative and willing to answer any questions. Even though it is located right on the Royal Mile, I think too many people miss it or don't bother to go in, but we thought it was well worth the time and the admission charge.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie32159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    138
    43
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“not worth it if you're not a national trust member”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This house was interesting and the tour guides are very helpful and informative. It's just really really tiny. There's only a few rooms. We're NT members. So we got in for free but if I'd paid 6.50 in admission I would have felt ripped off.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,018 reviews
451 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 636 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

It's nice to be able to see around a traditional building on the Royal Mile but there's not much this place has going for it. The rooms are nicely kept and it's interesting to peek out of the windows but that's about it. Certainly not worth £6.50 entry if you have to pay.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
653 reviews
358 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Small but Interesting ”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This is basically a very old house that you walk around and see the various rooms. They have them well done up and the guides on each floor are very enthusiastic.

There is not a great deal to see so plan in spending 30-60 minutes. Gift shop is nice.

Helpful?
1 Thank tshep42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
612 reviews
206 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Lovely old house and keen staff!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very interesting house with rooms of varying uses and agesl I loved the little material shop on the ground floor. The painted ceiling on the first floor which is about 400 years old and in its original state is unique. The staff in each room gave a full account of the rooms history and lots of interesting facts as well. I was disappointed that the area of the house shown was small in relation to the size of the house. Part of it is let out as holiday apartments, which according to the brochures looked very smart.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gladstone's Land also viewed

 

Been to Gladstone's Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing