We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bored to Death” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercat Tours

Mercat Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$36.88*
and up
Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh...
Ranked #18 of 194 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 'History is a damn good story, what it needs is a damn good telling!' We're a family business and simply love sharing Edinburgh's stories. We're the original, largest, and first 5 star walking tour company in Scotland giving guaranteed quality. With a warm welcome and our award-winning storytelling and tour routes, we'll help you explore and discover Edinburgh. Our expert guides offer a unique, memorable glimpse of our remarkable history. We promise: - Guaranteed departures, daily, year round - The smallest group size in the city - Exclusive access to Blair Street Underground Vaults - 'Family business' customer care Join us to visit: - Exclusive Blair Street Underground Vaults - Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle, New Town, Palace of Holyroodhouse - Tours daytime and evening - Historical and ghostly Please get in touch and we'll help you choose the right tour for you.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bored to Death”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

After taking a Free Tour in London which I found spectacular and I tipped the guide with 10 pounds and feeling that maybe he deserved more, after doing this tour I really felt I was being cheated..
Considering this kind of tours are some kind of lottery and they depends on your guide, I give it two stars.

The guide (i took a spanish speaking guide) was nervous, probably on of her first tours. She seeemed to be losing her air, having to take breaths every four words. The stories were boring and all they did was to taking us in alleys that were one block from the main avenue (High Street). Half of the tour happens in a Mercat owned vaults that are as unsurprising as your home basement. During the whole tour we were listening to a party that was happening in the vault of a pub next door. If I have should know...

I really feel sorry for the guide. Maybe was bad luck, but if the script is the same for all tours I am really amazed about reading good critics in this site. Probably is a tour for children.

My recommendation is, find a tour that goes to some of the several cementeries that are around the city and be sure that the guide is a good storyteller. Otherwise is a waste of money.

My recommendation to Mercat Tours is to let people know if the guide is "new". And think about making this tour a Free Tour, (only paying tips based on the performance). When I think that for one hour of nothingness the company made 2000 pounds (just on my group) makes me feel... astonished and upset.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ddiament
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Many thanks for getting in touch - we are really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your tour with us. You raise a number of very good points which we will certainly consider in our future training and product development. However, there are a few issues that we'd like to address.

You will appreciate that everyone starting a new job, inluding guiding, must be trained and have the opportunity to practise and improve. Your guide was a new guide during the course of their training, supported by a mentor who was in the group. We're sorry that this tour wasn't up to our usual 5star standard, however we feel strongly that our new trainees need real experience and support with a 'real audience' to learn and progress. We will consider how and when our trainee guides conduct public tours when we review our training.

All of our tours, English and Spanish, history and ghost, above ground and underground aim to bring the history of Edinburgh alive by telling the true stories of the city, in the locations they happened, with dramatic and engaging storytelling. The areas visited on your tour - the closes and wynds off the Royal Mile and Underground Vaults, are the authetic sites of Edinburgh's Old Town and we evoke the atmosphere through imagination and humour.

We're sorry your tour was disrupted by noise but we have no control over other businesses operating in the vaults adjacent to our Underground Vaults.

With regards the suggested locations visited on our tours, our Gallows to Graveyard tour does visit a cemetery and our other history and ghost tours cover various routes and sites in the Old Town. However, we will consider the route of the Spanish tour during our upcoming review.

Many thanks for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,516
    860
    238
    130
    104
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
welwyn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Ghostly night....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Took two children on the 8pm tour which was ideal...Faith was very good and kept all amused.
The vaults are quite scary and our 8 year old was hanging on to Grandad's hand ! Stories being repeated after the event to all who will listen ! Good value night out.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pottse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
202 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Faith was a wonderful guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I usually don't like doing ghost tours as they can be very cheesy but being in Edinburgh, I thought it would be an appropriate activity to do in this city. There are several choices of ghost tours with different companies and we chose to do an evening one with Mercat. Our guide that evening was Faith and the tour was totally enthralling because of her great talent in storytelling. It was a wonderful experience and we learned a lot about the grisly murders and hauntings in the vaults. No one saw any ghosts but it was odd that my camera would not work in the vaults that night. We ended up in a room toasting to the different spirits of the city and I now offer one to Faith for a wonderful experience. It added to our memories of this great city.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank OrpheusTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful, glowing review of your tour with Faith! We will certainly ensure that we raise a toast to her on your behalf! We hope you visit and again - let us know when you do and we'll organise your returner's discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“hidden and haunted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

went on the last tour on Tuesday the 10th April, Innes was our guide and was excellent. Thought it was really good value for money and enjoyed the vaults. Gearing up to do an all nighter there next time. Would recommend to anyone who is visiting Edinburgh

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Many thanks for taking time to get in touch about your tour and we're so pleased you enjoyed it! We will make sure that Innes receives a pat-on-the-back from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

The Ghost tour was great, especially because of the guide, Alex

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kikka777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mercat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing