We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ghost and Ghouls Tour a bit of fun”
Review of Mercat Tours

Mercat Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.69*
and up
Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh...
Ranked #18 of 198 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 'History is a damn good story, what it needs is a damn good telling!' We're a family business and simply love sharing Edinburgh's stories. We're the original, largest, and first 5 star walking tour company in Scotland giving guaranteed quality. With a warm welcome and our award-winning storytelling and tour routes, we'll help you explore and discover Edinburgh. Our expert guides offer a unique, memorable glimpse of our remarkable history. We promise: - Guaranteed departures, daily, year round - The smallest group size in the city - Exclusive access to Blair Street Underground Vaults - 'Family business' customer care Join us to visit: - The fascinating Blair Street Underground Vaults - Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle, New Town, Palace of Holyroodhouse & National Museum of Edinburgh - Tours daytime and evening - Historical and ghostly
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Ghost and Ghouls Tour a bit of fun”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The trouble with ghost tours is that they must either be very scarey or funny with a cynical slant. This tour was okay and a fun way to spend an evening and there was much Edinburgh Horrible History stories but wasn't that scarey or funny (intentionally or otherwise). Older children who enjoy Horrible History would not have been frightened by this tour and may find it quite entertaining.
The visit to the vaults was, in particular, interesting but it could have been better. For example there was one 'haunted' vault that was supposed to be much colder that the other vaults. It wasn't colder but it was much damper and the atmosphere was cold and chilly. When walking into it from the dryer vaults, the air change from cold dry to cold humid did have the effect of suddenly feeling cold and damp against the skin - it could have felt like ghostly fingers reaching out and touching to any of that frame of mind. I didn't say anything at the time and no one else said anything but they may not have noticed. However, if we had all been set up to sort of what to expect before entering the vault, I am sure more would have had the same experience. (Note: I checked the vault wall and it was soaking wet as I expected - if the walls had been bone dry like the other vaults I would have been out of there sooo fast!!)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MatureSoccerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,651
    885
    246
    134
    105
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“informative fun tour guide, interesting walk through the vaults.”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I went on the underground haunted vaults tour. Kimberly, the tour guide, was a lot of fun. She read the people in the group and gave each person as little or as much attention as they wanted, ensuring an enjoyable experience. The tour provided spooky tales of the underground spliced with a bit of tongue-in-cheek humor. This tour is a good time to spend about 1 hr 15min.

Helpful?
Thank nvherekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ghosts and Ghouls tour a must!!!!!”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We went on the Ghosts and Ghouls tour with Black Agness who was very informative and funny despite the bad weather and heckling crowds in the background,all in all very good tour and thoroughly recommend it .This is a must do visit when you in Edinbrough full of gory tales and stories....

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Many thanks for your great review - we'll pass your 'pat-on-the-back' onto Black Agnes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Underground Vaulting A Must!”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Linda was an excellent guide. We were on the 3pm Ghost Tour and glad that it was dry as there was a fair amount of hanging around outside in the early stages. The stories could have been quicker and more packed in but tricky when a wide age range to cater for. The underground vault is well worth seeing and leave your serious side behind in order to enjoy the folklore and tales from years gone by.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTindalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Many thanks for taking time to review your tour - we're delighted you enjoyed it! Though we are slightly confused that you were 'vaulting' underground...!

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mercat Tours, -- good for light hearted humour --don't take it to seriously”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Its one of those, "must do" things whilst visiting Edinburgh, but having done it, I won't be rushing to do it again, Ella our guide for the hour and half was great with the group and really added atmosphere to the Ghostly Ghoulish evening with her gory tales and eyes popping stories but was up against it in the cellars when competing with the awful music noise emanating from the pub /disco next door.
Worth the money? I guess you will have to make your own mind up but if you are on a budget its probably something you could leave out and not suffer a major detriment. Lots of atmosphere and the kids loved it, me, well I'm a bit of a skeptic on these ghostly matters, so stories of strange apparitions and lights going out don't really impress me.
Worth a try if you are at a lost end and don't mind handing your hard earned pounds over.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PP29th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Many thanks for getting in touch and reviewing your tour.

We're sorry your tour was disturbed by noise pollution - unfortunately we have no control over the businesses that operate in adjacent vaulted areas. However, we're delighted you enjoyed Ella's storytelling and you were 'engaged, enthralled and entertained'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mercat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing