We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vey good, easy to book online as well.”
Review of Mercat Tours

Mercat Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.71*
and up
Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh...
More Info
US$17.64*
and up
Edinburgh Night Walking Including Underground Vaults
More Info
US$17.64*
and up
Underground Vaults Historical Walking Tour in Edinburgh
Ranked #20 of 216 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 'History is a damn good story, what it needs is a damn good telling!' We're a family business and simply love sharing Edinburgh's stories. We're the original, largest, and first 5 star walking tour company in Scotland giving guaranteed quality. With a warm welcome and our award-winning storytelling and tour routes, we'll help you explore and discover Edinburgh. Our expert guides offer a unique, memorable glimpse of our remarkable history. With guaranteed daily departures, year round we offer exclusive access to Blair Street Underground Vaults, Edinburgh Castle, Palace of Holyroodhouse & National Museum of Scotland. Our tours begin at 10am and finish at 10pm, so we're sure we'll find something for you!
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Ella was very good for one so young !!
Very well presented and she also took an interest in the Group which was very good, well done !

Thank russ_fae_fyvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Thanks for getting in touch - we'll make sure Ella gets your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,598 - 3,602 of 4,656 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

I did the Hidden & Haunted night tour with my firends.

Starting with the positive things: the rainy night was a perfect set-up for ghost stories and the guide was appropriately dramatic.

But that's about it. We wandered around a couple of blocks and heard some old legends. Wet and cold, we finally we proceeded to the vaults (conveniently located under the Mercat tour office). The guide talked e.g. about Casper the ghost (!) and guided us through a couple of basement rooms in candle light pointing to the corners "can you see a ghost - it is there!". It wasn't scary. It wasn't entertaining. It was just boring. Visiting an average wine cellar is more creepy than this.

So in short: genuinely breathtaking was the fact that we paid £10 each for the tour.

1  Thank Alannainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your tour with us. We're very sorry that you didn't enjoy the experience.

All our tours focus on the storytelling skills of the guides, audience participation and the visitor's imagination to create atmosphere and bring stories to life. Our tour visits the closes and wynds of the Royal Mile and, exclusively, the 18th century Blair Street Vaults as backdrop to the stories which occurred there. The authenticity and quality of our guides, route, content and delivery has resulted in our 5star award from Visit Scotland. We're sorry that you didn't find the tour scary - we are careful not promise that we will scare you knowing how different people can react very differently to the same content. Perhaps a visitor attraction or tour with sound or visual effects with characters and tableau would have been more to your taste. We're sorry that we didn't deliver the 5 star experience we promise so please contact the office directly for a full refund.

Thank you again for your time and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Guide delivered a dull and monologue version of the Burke and Hare story. Hardly original. My friends one from Holland and another from England were bored silly. Do not do this tour.

1  Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Many thanks for reviewing your tour with us - we're very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the experience.

Our aim on all tours is to bring the true stories of Edinburgh's past to life and entertain our visitors. We agree that many visitors to Edinburgh have heard the story of Burke and Hare, however, very often it's as 'the notorious Scottish bodysnatchers', and we include this story to ensure they learn of the grim, truly accurate, detail of 'the notorious Irish mass murderers'! This is just one story amidst a wide variety told within the 75min tour around the Royal Mile and in the Blair Street Vaults, of which many are researched and told exclusively by Mercat Tours. We believe it is important to include recognised references to appeal to our visitors from around the world and balance it with quirky, less well known stories to 'get under the skin' of the city.

We're sorry that you didn't experience the tour beyond the first story and that it wasn't the 5star service we promise. Please contact the office directly and we will organise a full refund for you.

Many thanks again for your feedback, we'll certainly keep your feedback in mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Wife and I did the "Ghost and Ghouls" tour. Maybe we were expecting more information regarding the buildings, architecture and history of the area. We just walked around the different side streets of the Royal Mile, where we were told various stories of murder and torture. Can't even really consider this a scary tour. No real stories of actual hauntings or sightings, just vague "sometimes ppl see this and that". The guide was great though...enthusiastic and spirited, did the best she could. Tour got better during the later half when we were in the tunnels. Did not pay extra for the wine and extra stories. I'd probably recommend an actual architecture/history tour, unless somewhat scary stories is your thing.

Thank HouseHusband78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Many thanks for your review of your ghost tour. We're sorry to hear it wasn't the history tour you expected.

Our Ghosts and Ghouls tour is one of three evening ghosts tours we operate and focus on the darker, more sinister history of Edinburgh above, and underground. Given your interest in architectural and social history our daytime history tours, Secrets of the Royal Mile, or Historical Vaults tour, would have been more appropriate for you. We're glad you enjoyed theguide's presentation and hope we can welcome you back on a tour more suited to your taste.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The Ghosts and Ghouls tour was entertaining, fun and informative. Our guide, Linda, was very dramatic, spoke clearly and was very entertaining. At the end, we were amazed how quickly 2 hours had passed - we had an awesome time. We did the extended tour and as a previous review mentioned, it was an excellent value for the extra few pounds.

Thank Seagr112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Many thanks for gettign in touch - we're delighted you enjoyed your tour with Linda. We'll make sure to give her a pat on the back for you! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mercat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing