We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic night”
Review of Mercat Tours

Mercat Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.71*
and up
Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh...
More Info
US$17.64*
and up
Edinburgh Night Walking Including Underground Vaults
More Info
US$17.64*
and up
Underground Vaults Historical Walking Tour in Edinburgh
Ranked #20 of 216 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 'History is a damn good story, what it needs is a damn good telling!' We're a family business and simply love sharing Edinburgh's stories. We're the original, largest, and first 5 star walking tour company in Scotland giving guaranteed quality. With a warm welcome and our award-winning storytelling and tour routes, we'll help you explore and discover Edinburgh. Our expert guides offer a unique, memorable glimpse of our remarkable history. With guaranteed daily departures, year round we offer exclusive access to Blair Street Underground Vaults, Edinburgh Castle, Palace of Holyroodhouse & National Museum of Scotland. Our tours begin at 10am and finish at 10pm, so we're sure we'll find something for you!
Reviewed 7 September 2013

These tours are a must. What a fantastic night. We did teh 90 minute ghost walk including the underground vaults. The actors / tour guides were superb, funny and friendly. The tour was fantastic, and The Royal Mile is just the most fantastic location

Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,934 - 2,938 of 4,656 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

I took the Doomed, Dead and Buried tour and got Alex as a guide. Lovely, gorgeous, spooky chap, dressed as a vampire. He's also a great storyteller. Nothing supernatural happened on our tour, but the locations in the city, in the vaults and in the churchyard were certainly atmospheric for ghost stories and there was a certain feeling that something very well COULD happen. Fabulous tour, will try more of the Mercat tours when I return, which hopefully will be soon...=)

Thank Lisbeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Wow - what a lovely review, thank you! 'Doomed Dead and Buried' is one of our new experiences for 2013 and we're delighted to hear your feedback.

We hope you had a wonderful time during your stay in Edinburgh - haste ye back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I've just been on the "Secrets of the Royal Mile" tour with Mercat Tours... It was Brilliant. William the tour guide was polite, very well informed, animated, bringing the history of the Royal Mile to life... he was also very funny and really made this tour a pleasure to "go on". Would highly recommend and will be heading for the Hidden Vaults tour asap.

Thank cuffscds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thanks for your lovely review of your tour with William - we're so pleased you enjoyed it!

Feedback is really important to us - it's great to hear when we are getting things right and we love passing on compliments to the guides.

We hope you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh and we see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My lady friend and I were staying in Edinburgh for two nights and decided to take a look into some of the various tours available in Edinburgh. With a distinct curiosity for the supernatural we decided that a ghost tour would be the most enjoyable for the two of us. Upon arriving the pageantry began immediately. Our guide aisling (pronounced ash-leen) was both informative and hilarious. Adorned with a black cloak and an extremely fascinating character she led the tour group while having a great back and forth with us. She was really animated, rather dominant and kept the whole group entertained. Her stories were enthralling and her personal experiences in the Blair street vaults were chilling. I most highly recommend the 9:00pm ghosts and ghouls tour with aisling for that reason! A fantastic experience/ very informative - Easily worth the ticket price.

Thank Bazil_Fawlty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

We really appreciate your review of your tour with Aisling - she'll be delighted to hear you enjoyed it!

Make sure to keep in touch on facebook and twitter and we hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We took the Doomed, Dead and Buried tour on the 3rd September and it was a very nice tour, excellent guide, good stories and indeed a bit ghostly! :)

Thank Anders H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mercat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing