We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BRILLIANT TOUR!”
Review of Mercat Tours

Mercat Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.58*
and up
Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh...
Ranked #18 of 200 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 'History is a damn good story, what it needs is a damn good telling!' We're a family business and simply love sharing Edinburgh's stories. We're the original, largest, and first 5 star walking tour company in Scotland giving guaranteed quality. With a warm welcome and our award-winning storytelling and tour routes, we'll help you explore and discover Edinburgh. Our expert guides offer a unique, memorable glimpse of our remarkable history. We promise: - Guaranteed departures, daily, year round - The smallest group size in the city - Exclusive access to Blair Street Underground Vaults - 'Family business' customer care Join us to visit: - The fascinating Blair Street Underground Vaults - Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle, New Town, Palace of Holyroodhouse & National Museum of Edinburgh - Tours daytime and evening - Historical and ghostly
1 review
“BRILLIANT TOUR!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant tour and an excellent guide in Angela (from Penselvania) well constructed and would recommend Angela and Mercat tours for families and couples! Will make this my first visit to Edinburgh again!

Helpful?
Thank Kieran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for your great review, we'll make sure Angela gets your 'thanks'!

Haste ye back, and we'll welcome you with your 'returner's discount' too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,657
    888
    246
    136
    106
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and my wife went on the Ghost tour and loved it. Our tour guide Apoline set the scene with spooky stories of murder, mystery and ghosts that haunt the underground vaults and grave yard. Apoline was the perfect host and did a great job. I wouldn't say the tour was scary but was lots of fun.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank signer1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for getting in touch, we're really pleased you enjoyed your tour with Appoline. We'll pass on your thanks - you'll make her day!

And we're not too worried you weren't scared, we prefer to give our history a 'damn good telling' rather than big frights. Great to hear you agree!

We hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and we see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden and haunted tour”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Went on the 9:30 tour last night ran by Craig, was very entertaining and he definately got a couple of screams out of us wimps! Was really interesting and good for a taste of edinburgh's dark past!

Helpful?
Thank Thaliaf23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Many thanks for getting in touch and we're delighted you enjoyed your tour with Craig. We're sure you're not really wimps, our history is enough to make ANYONE shiver!

Please do keep in touch on facebook and twitter until we see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Spooky but not scary”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I had booked this tour in advance of our trip but I think we could have booked on arrival as well.

We found the starting point and met Rob, our guide. He went around introducing himself to those going on the tour, which was a nice touch. He selected a couple of people from the group to illustrate some of his stories and he chose well. He also asked questions, which my shy 12-year- old tried to answer. He created the atmosphere really well and has an excellent voice. He told the stories extremely well and had several people in the group thoroughly spooked, inlcuding my 14-year-old.

The whole thing is theatrical and well-constructed and a great way to get an insight into Edinburgh and its history.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time for getting in touch, we're so pleased you enjoyed your tour. We try hard to give visitors a real sense of Old Edinburgh, we think it's easy with such brilliant stories to share!

We hope you had a fantastic visit and we welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Vaults Tour - Interesting and a little bit Scary”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our tour with Mark was great - he clearly loves telling stories. Interesting to see different bits of the city and hear the grisly tales. Recommended for families with older children only. Don't take the little ones - the vaults are dark and a bit creepy. Cost for a family £35 with drink at the end seems reasonable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SomersetSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Many thanks for your review and the useful hints for other visitors, it's much appreciated.

We hope you had a great visit and we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mercat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing