We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great opportunity to walk...under Edinburgh”
Review of Mercat Tours

Mercat Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.26*
and up
Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh...
Ranked #18 of 200 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 'History is a damn good story, what it needs is a damn good telling!' We're a family business and simply love sharing Edinburgh's stories. We're the original, largest, and first 5 star walking tour company in Scotland giving guaranteed quality. With a warm welcome and our award-winning storytelling and tour routes, we'll help you explore and discover Edinburgh. Our expert guides offer a unique, memorable glimpse of our remarkable history. We promise: - Guaranteed departures, daily, year round - The smallest group size in the city - Exclusive access to Blair Street Underground Vaults - 'Family business' customer care Join us to visit: - The fascinating Blair Street Underground Vaults - Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle, New Town, Palace of Holyroodhouse & National Museum of Edinburgh - Tours daytime and evening - Historical and ghostly
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great opportunity to walk...under Edinburgh”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

It was a great night tour! Angela was trully amazing. We first had a walk around St.Giles and some closes with Angela narrating stories about murderers and executions and then we went underground to hear more dark stories about evil ghosts and poltergeists. It was quite chilling, but not extreme. I suggest it for medium terror. lol! We had so much fun down there! :D

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Evlampia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks so much for getting in touch - it's great to hear you enjoyed your tour with Angela!

These are fantastic pictures you posted, would you mind sharing them on our Pinterest page too?

We hope you had a lovely time in Edinburgh and we see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,664
    890
    246
    137
    106
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hen do”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Came as part of a hen do and did the hidden and haunted tour with Mark. It was very atmospheric and the vaults in particular are great but wear flat shoes. I knew what I was in for being a previous customer but wore wedges anyway because we were going out after and really wasn't comfortable! My fault entirely, but thought it worth mentioning in case any other ladies are contemplating it! Mark was very good as the "follow me's" got more sinister it made me chuckle but he made the stories come alive. A proper intelligent ghostly tour with no gimmicks and good for cynics like me with an interest in history and culture. We'll be back to use our £2 off voucher sometime soon. Thanks Mercat Tours!

Helpful?
Thank kateincardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Many thanks for getting in touch - we're delighted you enjoyed your tour with Mark, we'll pass on your thanks!

Thanks also for your tip on footwear, it's a great recommendation for other visitors. The vaults aren't for Jimmy Choos!

We hope to see you back again soon with your returner's discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great way to spook yourself.”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Did the 'Hidden & Haunted' tour with Ella P this evening, really enjoyed ourselves. Ella was excellent at making everyone feel involved and told the stories of Edinburgh's unsavoury characters with skill and relish. The vaults are incredible, really impressive engineering, great tales and very cool by candlelight. The floor is very uneven and the vaults are dark so sensible shoes are a must. Thoroughly enjoyed, thanks.

Helpful?
Thank spacefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to get in touch, it's great to hear you enjoyed Ella's storytelling!

We hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and we see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value tour”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We went on the tour that included the castle, very entertaining and informative. Lots of walking involved so don't spend the morning shopping like we did. Exhausted at the end but had a great time. The views from Edinburgh Castle are stunning.

Helpful?
Thank Eltel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thanks for getting touch, we're so pleased you enjoyed your tour!

If you have pictures you'd like to share, we'd love to see them on our pinterest board, facebook and twitter.

We hope you had a lovely visit and we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Extremely entertaining and fun”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our guide Alex made the tour really enjoyable for us. I was with a group of "paranormal investigators" so Alex really customized our tour to focus on the ghost stories behind the Vaults. Of course the Vaults themselves were creepy, dark, dusty etc...but combined with Alex's story telling it was a great time! We were entertained with two of our tourists being flogged - as they would have many years ago - then we were escorted to the Vaults. We were given ample time to survey the area, walk around and enjoy the experience. I would not recommend if you are claustrophobic.

Good walking shoes are a must; a decent camera - it's dark down there and you're going to want to take pictures...you never know what you might catch on film.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank snowwhite0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mercat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing