We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience!!!! A must to do in Edinburg”
Review of Mercat Tours

Mercat Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$42.16*
and up
Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh...
More Info
US$18.27*
and up
Edinburgh Night Walking Including Underground Vaults
More Info
US$18.27*
and up
Underground Vaults Historical Walking Tour in Edinburgh
Ranked #21 of 218 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 'History is a damn good story, what it needs is a damn good telling!' We're a family business and simply love sharing Edinburgh's stories. We're the original, largest, and first 5 star walking tour company in Scotland giving guaranteed quality. With a warm welcome and our award-winning storytelling and tour routes, we'll help you explore and discover Edinburgh. Our expert guides offer a unique, memorable glimpse of our remarkable history. With guaranteed daily departures, year round we offer exclusive access to Blair Street Underground Vaults, Edinburgh Castle, Palace of Holyroodhouse & National Museum of Scotland. Our tours begin at 10am and finish at 10pm, so we're sure we'll find something for you!
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great opportunity to know the other side of Edinburg. Our guide, Javi, made a great job as the storytelling. Everybody must do one of the Mercat Tours in Edinburg

Thank ALFONSO O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,680 - 2,684 of 4,750 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

It was a great night tour! Angela was trully amazing. We first had a walk around St.Giles and some closes with Angela narrating stories about murderers and executions and then we went underground to hear more dark stories about evil ghosts and poltergeists. It was quite chilling, but not extreme. I suggest it for medium terror. lol! We had so much fun down there! :D

Thank Evlampia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thanks so much for getting in touch - it's great to hear you enjoyed your tour with Angela!

These are fantastic pictures you posted, would you mind sharing them on our Pinterest page too?

We hope you had a lovely time in Edinburgh and we see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Came as part of a hen do and did the hidden and haunted tour with Mark. It was very atmospheric and the vaults in particular are great but wear flat shoes. I knew what I was in for being a previous customer but wore wedges anyway because we were going out after and really wasn't comfortable! My fault entirely, but thought it worth mentioning in case any other ladies are contemplating it! Mark was very good as the "follow me's" got more sinister it made me chuckle but he made the stories come alive. A proper intelligent ghostly tour with no gimmicks and good for cynics like me with an interest in history and culture. We'll be back to use our £2 off voucher sometime soon. Thanks Mercat Tours!

Thank kateincardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Many thanks for getting in touch - we're delighted you enjoyed your tour with Mark, we'll pass on your thanks!

Thanks also for your tip on footwear, it's a great recommendation for other visitors. The vaults aren't for Jimmy Choos!

We hope to see you back again soon with your returner's discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Did the 'Hidden & Haunted' tour with Ella P this evening, really enjoyed ourselves. Ella was excellent at making everyone feel involved and told the stories of Edinburgh's unsavoury characters with skill and relish. The vaults are incredible, really impressive engineering, great tales and very cool by candlelight. The floor is very uneven and the vaults are dark so sensible shoes are a must. Thoroughly enjoyed, thanks.

Thank spacefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to get in touch, it's great to hear you enjoyed Ella's storytelling!

We hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and we see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We went on the tour that included the castle, very entertaining and informative. Lots of walking involved so don't spend the morning shopping like we did. Exhausted at the end but had a great time. The views from Edinburgh Castle are stunning.

Thank Eltel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thanks for getting touch, we're so pleased you enjoyed your tour!

If you have pictures you'd like to share, we'd love to see them on our pinterest board, facebook and twitter.

We hope you had a lovely visit and we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mercat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing