We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST-DO in Edinburgh”
Review of Mercat Tours

Mercat Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.30*
and up
Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh...
More Info
US$17.03*
and up
Edinburgh Night Walking Including Underground Vaults
More Info
US$17.03*
and up
Underground Vaults Historical Walking Tour in Edinburgh
Ranked #20 of 203 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 'History is a damn good story, what it needs is a damn good telling!' We're a family business and simply love sharing Edinburgh's stories. We're the original, largest, and first 5 star walking tour company in Scotland giving guaranteed quality. With a warm welcome and our award-winning storytelling and tour routes, we'll help you explore and discover Edinburgh. Our expert guides offer a unique, memorable glimpse of our remarkable history. With guaranteed daily departures, year round we offer exclusive access to Blair Street Underground Vaults, Edinburgh Castle, Palace of Holyroodhouse & National Museum of Scotland. Our tours begin at 10am and finish at 10pm, so we're sure we'll find something for you!
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A MUST-DO in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

After the Sandemans walking tour guide recommended going to see the vaults of the underground city I decided to do the Ghostly Underground tour with Mercat today. As a student it was only 9 pounds and great value for money. Peter was a great tour guide and storyteller (and easy on the eyes as well) and it was a perfect mix of history and scary ghost stories. It's a good call that out of the 1 hr and 15 minutes you spend about half that time above ground because it was literally so eerie and scary underground that I was more than glad to go back up. Not truly a ghost believer but you start seeing and hearing things that aren't there, and I'm usually not an easily scared person, I will walk my dogs in the forest after dark but this place made me really jumpy. It was probably extra scary because we were only with a group of 3, kudos to Mercat and Peter for the tour in general and also for not cancelling and making us reschedule because we were only with 3 people!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to get in touch, we're delighted you enjoyed your *exclusive* tour with Peter. We know how precious your time is on holiday and never let anyone down by cancelling tours - if you're there, we're there and go!

We work hard to give visitors a great experience and so pleased you think we're 5 star! We'll pass your comments onto Peter to make his day too.

Hold onto your tickets so we can welcome you back with your returner's discount next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,856
    941
    260
    145
    109
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tsagkarada, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A valuble historic addition on my knowledge of Edinburgh”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The tour was the historic vaults, fantastic descriptions of the city's most important facts with a gradual link to the South Bridge vaults which was actually the main attraction. The vaults are maintained very well and modified only to the lighting which is as much as needed in order to understand the atmosphere and of course not to have any unpleasant accidents due to its somewhat uneven floor. Alex was simply amazing in his descriptions and both his quantity and quality of information provided all the way through the tour, which i personally believe that the his archaeology backround really helps. Also don't hesitate to ask him any further questions at the end of the tour if you have any. If i got the opportunity i would definately do the same tour again and probably the other ones. 10/10!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VillaGeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! We'll pass your thanks onto Alex too.

We hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great experience!!!! A must to do in Edinburg”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great opportunity to know the other side of Edinburg. Our guide, Javi, made a great job as the storytelling. Everybody must do one of the Mercat Tours in Edinburg

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ALFONSO O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great opportunity to walk...under Edinburgh”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

It was a great night tour! Angela was trully amazing. We first had a walk around St.Giles and some closes with Angela narrating stories about murderers and executions and then we went underground to hear more dark stories about evil ghosts and poltergeists. It was quite chilling, but not extreme. I suggest it for medium terror. lol! We had so much fun down there! :D

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Evlampia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks so much for getting in touch - it's great to hear you enjoyed your tour with Angela!

These are fantastic pictures you posted, would you mind sharing them on our Pinterest page too?

We hope you had a lovely time in Edinburgh and we see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hen do”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Came as part of a hen do and did the hidden and haunted tour with Mark. It was very atmospheric and the vaults in particular are great but wear flat shoes. I knew what I was in for being a previous customer but wore wedges anyway because we were going out after and really wasn't comfortable! My fault entirely, but thought it worth mentioning in case any other ladies are contemplating it! Mark was very good as the "follow me's" got more sinister it made me chuckle but he made the stories come alive. A proper intelligent ghostly tour with no gimmicks and good for cynics like me with an interest in history and culture. We'll be back to use our £2 off voucher sometime soon. Thanks Mercat Tours!

Helpful?
Thank kateincardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Many thanks for getting in touch - we're delighted you enjoyed your tour with Mark, we'll pass on your thanks!

Thanks also for your tip on footwear, it's a great recommendation for other visitors. The vaults aren't for Jimmy Choos!

We hope to see you back again soon with your returner's discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mercat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing