We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tour”
Review of Mercat Tours

Mercat Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.30*
and up
Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh...
More Info
US$17.03*
and up
Edinburgh Night Walking Including Underground Vaults
More Info
US$17.03*
and up
Underground Vaults Historical Walking Tour in Edinburgh
Ranked #20 of 203 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 'History is a damn good story, what it needs is a damn good telling!' We're a family business and simply love sharing Edinburgh's stories. We're the original, largest, and first 5 star walking tour company in Scotland giving guaranteed quality. With a warm welcome and our award-winning storytelling and tour routes, we'll help you explore and discover Edinburgh. Our expert guides offer a unique, memorable glimpse of our remarkable history. With guaranteed daily departures, year round we offer exclusive access to Blair Street Underground Vaults, Edinburgh Castle, Palace of Holyroodhouse & National Museum of Scotland. Our tours begin at 10am and finish at 10pm, so we're sure we'll find something for you!
1 review
“Good tour”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Good tour by Alex last night especially when I was last on closed the door as me and friend standing at the back as we went in jacks room a bit mental was thrown across the room I thought might be quieter and no children so could hear surroundings bit more as last time was bangs and dog barking apart from that was good

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,856
    941
    260
    145
    109
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Took the tour on our first night in Edinburgh. Great way to begin to get to grips with the city and learn a bit of gruesome history too. Our guide, Alex, was fantastic- very knowledgeable and fun to listen to. The vaults were a big highlight!

Helpful?
Thank Becca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks for getting in touch and we're so pleased you enjoyed your tour with Alex. Our grisly history sure is an interesting introduction to Edinburgh! Don't worry, we're all much more friendly and pleasant now...

We hope you have a lovely time in Edinburgh and hold onto your tickets, we'll welcome you back with a discount next time you visit.

Thanks again,

Kat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Interesting tour!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We went on the afternoon vaults tour. I had pre booked on line before and had to telephone 24hrs before to confirm. Our guide was William who was fantastic. The whole tour was very informative and interesting a worth while visit that won't break the bank!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your tour - we'll pass your thanks onto William!

If you have any photos, we'd love to see them on our pinterest page if you'd like to share them?

We hope you keep in touch on twitter and facebook until we see you back again.

Until then!

Kat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great actress tourist attraction”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a totally tourist trap and does not have any historical foundation. A bit of fun overblown for its genuineness.

Tour guide who was not from Scotland was excellent in her theatrical presentation but that was the content of the tour.

We had been recommended to go on this tour by a couple of people and found it extremely disappointing. The only people that appeared to be scared by the experience were a couple of 7 year old children, who would be concerned to be in a dark damp cellar below the street lit by candles.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Slimjim05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Many thanks for getting in touch and reviewing your tour. I'm concerned about a few of the points you mention.

I can assure you that all our guides are graduate historians and all tours are historically accurate. This includes our ghost tours which focus on the darker, more sinister character of Edinburgh - our history is so good there is no need for fiction.

We recruit and train our guides on their knowledge and flair for storytelling, not accent. We welcome the diversity of our guides who bring their own personality to your tours in a range of wonderful accents.

Lastly, we don't aim to scare. We tried in the past and realised it's just not our style, it's a difficult promise to deliver when everyone has their own 'fear level'. Rather, we give history a 'damn good telling' and so that's what we promise on our leaflets and website.

I'm sorry you've been disappointed and if you could contact me directly, I'd like to discuss the tour with you further - kathleen@mercattours.com, 0131 225 5445.

Many thanks,

Kat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Fantastic Ghost tour”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had an amazing day at the Edinburgh vaults. Very informative and loads of fun. Ella the tour guide was fantastic. Will definitely be booking up again

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lynmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Many thanks for your fantastic review - we'll make sure Ella gets your compliments!

We hope you had a wonderful time in Edinburgh and we see you again soon.

Until then,

Kat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mercat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing