We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful oasis in the heart of Edinburgh”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Grounds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Grounds
Garden
Garden
Garden
Garden
Spiral staircase access to apartment
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Street
Bathroom
Wall plaque outside apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
dale_rive...
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“A beautiful oasis in the heart of Edinburgh”
Reviewed 30 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I rented Duncan's Land for 11 nights. I looked online for quite a while and I was delighted when I found this property, for I was hoping to stay in the Stockbridge area. Correspondence with Morag was easy and she was a complete pleasure to deal with, always responsive and very helpful.

Happily, the apartment was everything I had hoped for, and more: stylish, convenient, and very comfortable. Having the entire second floor was almost like staying in our own wee house! It was extremely generous of Morag to supply coffee, milk, butter, bread, and jam before we arrived, as well as fresh flowers. As others have mentioned, the kitchen is well stocked with plenty of good-quality dishes, cutlery, and pans, and the large bed is firm but not too hard. The serene living area (lounge) was a welcoming place to relax after a day of touring; we were especially grateful for the gas fireplace, which was a big plus since Scotland was a bit chilly in May.

Away from the Royal Mile tourist crush but close to the heart of the New Town, we agreed that the location was perfect. Three bus lines (24, 29, 42) stopped right across the street, and a fourth (36), which runs between the Ocean Terminal at Leith and Holyrood Palace, was only a block away. Easy food shopping was available at the Sainsbury Local and also at J. Mellis Cheesemonger. Two wine shops were literally around the corner, one with good frozen takeout dinners. In addition, we enjoyed lovely meals in the neighborhood at Henri's (French), Peter's Yard (pizza), Lancer's (Indian), and Hector's (gastropub). The apartment was also just a few minutes from the scenic Water of Leith Walk, where we saw a heron (!) and walked to Dean Village, an historic enclave out of a storybook. Indeed, even though we took the bus a lot, it was easy to walk to Queen Street in less than 10 minutes up Gloucester Lane, a pretty cobbled street.

Most of all I enjoyed gazing down at the verdant garden and watching the soft northern light beam through the windows. Since the building is so old the walls are very thick, and the effect was like living in a Scottish genre painting. By the time we left our Edinburgh "home" it was deeply beloved and we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of seclusion and the pretty interior garden
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveTrave...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The old building is beautiful with a spiral staircase. Upon entry into the spiral staircase it felt a bit damp and uninviting but it is a 16th century building. However when you enter the apartment it is warm, welcoming, spotless and very comfortable. The kitchen had everything you would need including a small dishwasher which is always appreciated when away from home. The furnishings and utensils were all of very good quality. The bedding was comfortable and warm. The location is very good in Stockbridge which has many nice restaurants, bars and shops. The walk to the High street and old city is not difficult at all at 15 to 20 minutes. The parking is inconvenient if you do not know where to go. There is off-street parking about a 10 -15 minute walk that is £3.00 per day. You just need to top it up each morning if it is a week day. weekends you can park around the apartment for free. If you have time St Andrews about an hour's drive is a great option. Beautiful old City with lots of shops, cafes and old pubs. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the apartment and in Edinburgh even though it was during a cold snap and freezing. Just to mention Morag had all the heating on when we arrived and it was a lovely gesture including the welcome pack. Thank You

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable apartment
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfrfcumbr...
Carlisle, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect little haven.”
Reviewed 22 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Booked Duncan's Land after reading positive reviews on Tripadvisor; we were not disappointed. It was perfect for our needs being immaculately clean and well equipped. It was tastefully decorated with a homely, cosy feel. The location in trendy Stockbridge was brilliant too, with bars, restaurants, independent shops and a great little Sunday market on the doorstep. The walk into the city centre was pleasant, we could do all the busy 'touristy bits' then stroll back to our little haven, perfect. Thanks Morag. We will certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2012
Thank you Viv for this lovely review - so glad your visit was so successful and I look forward to welcoming you back to Duncan's Land soon. Morag
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FayStenho...
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“More history than the castle”
Reviewed 13 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Lots of history and character outside and all modern conveniences inside. Good location, close to the action, but far enough away to be quiet. Very clean with plenty of Kitchen equipment.
The owner provided us with a welcome package of bread, butter, milk, tea and coffee, plus other essentials. There were fresh flowers in the living room. Pleasant decor in keeping with the ambiance of the apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little garden with fresh herbs.
Liked least: You could hear the noise from the apartment upstairs.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2012
Thank you , Fay for this lovely review. Have alerted our neighbour to the noise issue - the sound proofing is not great but now he is aware of it I am confident he will take care in future. Morag
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 2 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bill_keep
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Will always look to stay here first”
Reviewed 2 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

It was our first visit to Edinburgh and I selected Duncan's Land solely based on Trip Advisor and an email exchange with Morag, the owner. We could not have been more pleased with our stay and fully intend to return. The quaint, old building houses a clean, modern apartment. The fully equipped kitchen provided whatever utensil we needed, which made meals easy to make and clean up. The bed was very comfortable and the lounge (or living room) was bright and comfortable with the added warmth of a gas stove to take the chill off. The location gives easy access to the city centre and there are nearby pubs, stores, and restaurants. This may not be for someone who finds a circular steps a challenge (only one flight up) but otherwise I can think of no better place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Care that Morag takes to keep the apartment nice, plus the location.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Reviewed 28 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;