We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for Evensong”

St. Mary's Cathedral
Ranked #59 of 405 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Go for Evensong”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

I went at 17:30 for evensong. The cathedral is beautiful ,with spectacular windows by Paolozzi. The choir is wonderful, and there were short bible readings and prayers. A lovely experience in a great building.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Picnicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    79
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“serene”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I visited at the start of lent in order to say my prayer for change . I found the surroundings lovely . I have visited many places of worship all over the world and this is perfect for a wee bit of reflective time as it was very quiet when I visited . It worth a visit if your in Edinburgh , But I wouldn't go specifically for this .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank inzili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great architecture both external and the interiors. We were lucky to visit it on a Sunday afternoon while the choir was singing and it was such a peaceful experience. Loved the cathedral!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rinji B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Beautiful. Majestic. Organ practice. The space and atmosphere transcended me. The way the sunlight danced across the stone columns were surreal. Sarah, affiliated with the church, was a gracious and welcoming hostess. If I lived here, this would be my church, simply because I felt welcome.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxeConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

it was historical and proud. I have never seen some other place like before. it is a place you must visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rock S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Mary's Cathedral also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to St. Mary's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing