We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Observatory Edinburgh Visitor Centre
Ranked #143 of 404 things to do in Edinburgh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Royal Observatory, Edinburgh is unique among UK scientific establishments in that it houses on a single site a university astronomy research group, an establishment of a UK Research Council and a Visitor Centre.The Visitor Centre is open for pre-booked groups and special events. Groups of 10 people or more can visit Monday - Thursday 10am - 7pm, and Friday 10am - 3pm.On Friday evenings we have our Public Astronomy Evenings, and from the end of October to end of March we have public talks each Monday evening.For full details of all our public events and how to book, please visit our website.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Absolutely fascinating. Mesmerising views of Edinburgh. My son was fascinated by all the constellations. Our guides were very friendly and enthusiastic. The icing on the cake was being able to handle pieces of REAL meteors. My son loves all things to do with space so he just loved it. Wrap up warm though it is very chilly on the rooftop and wear sensible footwear as there is a lot of steps to walk up.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PrincessSarahLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalObs, Senior Public Engagement Officer at Royal Observatory Edinburgh Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“What Views!”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

What an interesting place to spend an afternoon and an evening. On a clear night the stars are magical and the guides will point everything out for you. The history and beauty of the building is also well done and there is something for everyone especially the kids.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlebigfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalObs, Senior Public Engagement Officer at Royal Observatory Edinburgh Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thanks very much for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World Nomad
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great place for views of the vity”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Seriously get up here for some really great views of the city particularly around sun set. The building itself is quite beautiful too i should say.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckmeisterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“View the stars”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

On a clear night, the world is your oyster stars twinkling, breath taken views and a out of this planet experience, if it's a cloudy evening then sadly the views aren't as good

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank louisegough5936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Be prepared to get technical”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Our guide accurately divined our level of interest and knowledge.
Not easy to reach. Allow a few hours for your visit.

Helpful?
Thank gm8apx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Observatory Edinburgh Visitor Centre also viewed

 

Been to Royal Observatory Edinburgh Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing