We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast Spot”

The Gathering Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #1,771 of 2,458 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$10 - US$16
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Description: Contemporary Scottish menu including a range of 100% Scottish Beef Burgers, fresh stone baked pizza from our oven and local classics such as Haggis, neeps ans tatties and Belhaven smoked salmon. Enjoy Runway views in a warm, relaxing space.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
286 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Gathering has an actual restaurant and lounge, but there is also a nearby takeaway kiosk for tea, coffee, pastries, crepes, sandwiches, etc. Also, for some godforsaken reason, they have haggis and black pepper flavored potato chips. No thanks, I've had haggis twice in 10 days, and that's enough to last a lifetime.

I got a smoked salmon and cream cheese bagel, toasted. The Scottish salmon was fresh and tasty, without any fishy overtones. Cream cheese is always a good addition to bagels, and this was no exception. The Gathering was great for a quick breakfast before our flight.

Read my other reviews, complete with pictures:

Search "The Barbecue Fiend"

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheBarbecueFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan M, General Manager at The Gathering Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi Barbecue Fiend

Thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Glad you enjoyed your bagel.

Haggis is not for everyone, but a lot of folks around here love it!

Kind Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    77
    52
    45
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awful breakfast”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Do not go for an Earlybird. Truly disgusting breakfast that had clearly been sitting under heat lamps for a few hours. The fried egg could easily have bounced off the floor and back on to my plate.
Felt sorry for the waitress who had a number of other customers complaining as well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Turnbull2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan M, General Manager at The Gathering Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi Turnbull2013

I am realy sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast with us.

I would like gain a better understanding if you would not mind contacting me, either on the number above or via email at jmitchel@dncinc.com.

Once again my apologies.

Kind Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good view and food but expensive!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Probably one of the nicest spots in the airport as you can see the planes taking off - really great for kids and adults!!

Food very nice but pricey for basic breakfast but then it is the airport.

Clean tables in comparison to the one next door which had no view and very dirtly tables.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan M, General Manager at The Gathering Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hi Paula 1

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am glad you enjoyed your visit to my restaurant and that you all appreciated the food and the view.

We value all guest comments. Once agan thanks for posting and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“OK brealfast snack”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Service in the seated area is much more civil than at the outside counter. Our breakfast bacon and egg rolls were perfectly satisfactory, if not outstanding.
Edinburgh must be one of the few larger airports where you can still get a view of the aircraft taking off and landing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3xGrandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretending to be things it isn't ”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

The Gathering Place doesn't really know what it is. Part Scottish, part Italian, part burger bar - it isn't convincingly any of these. What it is is vastly overpriced. Go elsewhere or bring your own.

Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gathering Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Gathering Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing