We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #109 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed there for two nights (8th & 9th October) with a friend.
We had an en-suite twin room - it was a bit tiny, but very comfortable, very well equipped (tea+coffee making facilities, sewing kit, trouser press, TV, cotton buds and nail files in the bathroom), the windows were facing the back of the hotel, so it was really quiet.
The staff were very helpful and lovely, didn't seem bothered by any of our requests, the hotel itself looked absolutely adorable and quaint.

Breakfast was satisfactory, with plenty of choice and the location is good - bus stops across the street and a few steps from the front of the hotel.

Highly recommended and well worth the price!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on 26th & 27th September. We were able to park the car in the secure car park at the rear of the property where we left it for two days. Nice friendly staff were very keen to help and served up a lovely 'Hearty Breakfast'. Our room was ok if a bit small and with thin walls. We could hear everything going on next door. The city center is only a short and very cheap bus ride away with the bus stop right across the road

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazzak66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We had a great time in this hotel! Our room was just fantastic (big, clean, well decorated). The walls seem to be a bit thin though and we could hear our neigbours speaking (but they were very loud)... We really enjoyed staying there. When we left, I even forgot that we were in a hotel! I thought we were in a B&B. We have been welcomed by David who gave us all needed info (buses and so on). The breakfast is served in such a lovely room! It was a delicious and generous breakfast. We have been able to park our car very easily in the hotel private car park. When we left, David went to open the gate for us and to say goodbye. It is very easy to go to the city center by bus (approx. 15 min journey). The bus stop is in front of the hotel. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends/relatives.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emilie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two night while on vacation. Getting our car into the secured car lot was a little bit of a hassle- thankfully one of us could run inside and ask for the electronic gate to be opened. No problem accessing our car thereafter. The staff are friendly and offer a very nice breakfast spread each morning. We found the stairwells and halls very tight for maneuvering with luggage as are the bedrooms. The baths are also really small but workable. The decor could really use some updating. There is patterned wallpaper everywhere and the lighting throughout is very dim. I started to feel claustrophobic the first day but got used to the tight halls and stairwells by the second day.The location was excellent- very close to grabbing a bus ride downtown. In the evenings we walked down to some really nice restaurants down on the waterfront in Leith. Overall, it was a nice stay but we will likely look for a roomier place next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midntmtncatfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I was in Edinburgh for a week, funded by a modest research grant. The A Haven was one of the few places that was available and within my budget (it was during the Edinburgh Fringe!). I received a really warm welcome from the owner and detailed explanation of all amenities - in particularly bus services, which was very helpful. It was explained (almost apologetically) that I was in the 'small single' room at the top of the house. I was a bit concerned, but it was great. The room had everything that you could want and was cosy, clean and very comfortable. Even had WIFI. A perfect little hideaway after a long day at work! The staff were all so kind and helpful. I was made to feel really safe and welcome. As a female travelling alone, this was really appreciated. Don't be put off by the distance from town - the bus connections (there are 3) are all great and it is very quick. I didn't have time to explore the surrounding area, but there were recommendations for restaurants etc. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the 'small single' if you are travelling alone. It's a good opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMcScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed two nights at A-Haven Townhouse. Had a great stay from the first minute we came to the hotel. Got a tour of the hotel from the manager David and was informed about bus lines to the city from the hotel. It's a 10-15 min. busride from the hotel to the inner city. The rooms are how you can expect them to be. Cosy and classic - nothing fancy but all you can ask for. Hotel as wi-fi and a great breakfast cooked to serve.
Would recommend and will book a room here again when we return to Edinburgh

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manic_rubber_duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This is a great little hotel, it almost has the air of a slightly eccentric country house hotel, but with all the convenience of being close to the city (it's only 15 mins by bus). David was very welcoming and even showed us the views from our bedroom (we could see Arthur's seat from the family room). Our daughter loved the fact she had a choice of beds and we all had a great night's sleep. There is a little bit of traffic noise as the hotel is on a junction, but it's really not enough to disturb a moderate sleeper. The amazing thing we found was how quiet generally it was - we thought there might only be us and another room until we got down to breakfast and saw how full it was! It made a lovely change from corporate hotels where you can hear the doors going at all hours. The mattresses were really comfortable and the pillows were just right. I'd requested non-feather bedding due to allergies a couple of months beforehand and this was all taken care of when we got to the room. The room had all the facilities you'd expect, plus the bonus of a very nice looking wine list which was available to order.

We went out to eat, but next time would probably eat in as the breakfast was lovely. David did a great job of nearly persuading our picky eater to have a go at the haggis, but maybe next time! The veggie haggis breakfast was delicious. The attention to detail that he and his staff has is what makes this place special.

We will definitely return both to A-Haven and Edinburgh and many thanks for the cuddly haggis gift on departure!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#43 of 151 in Edinburgh
685 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#127 of 151 in Edinburgh
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park Hotel
#131 of 151 in Edinburgh
222 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#82 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Haven Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Haven Townhouse Hotel

Address: 180 Ferry Road, Edinburgh EH6 4NS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £64 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Haven Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your A-Haven Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing