We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bed & Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #108 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Bed & Breakfast”
Reviewed 10 June 2008

A Haven is an excellent Bed and Breakfast for both the single and group traveller. The location is easily accessible by bus, with a grocery store and laundry mat less than a 3 minute walk away. The morning breakfast is excellent and the internet access is superb for traveller's who wish to check their e-mail while on vacation. The room is very well laid out, the bed is very comfortable and was spotless. The staff and the owner David are what really set A Haven apart. They are always available to help, always very friendly and have a wonderful sense of humour. I would recommend A Haven to anyone wishing to visit Edinburgh!

  • Liked — The friendly staff, the breakfast and the location
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OntarioTourist4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    89
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
47
141
34
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2008

A friend and I spent 3 days at the A haven last week. From the minute we enquired about the booking on the 'phone to the minute we left the hotel, the manager David could not have been more helpful. When we arrived, we were given a personal tour, and given all the information we needed about transport, attractions etc. We were made to feel very welcome, and David always greeted us warmly. He has a great sense of humour, so be warned!! The room was quite small and quaint, but very comfortable and spotlessly clean. And as we were on the top floor, it was very quiet, (not that I could imagine any rowdy guests staying there). The hotel is a little way friom the city centre, but on several bus routes - the bus stops are right outside, and with a £2.50 a day travel pass it was a great, cheap way to get around. It is also within walking distance of Ocean Terminal, home of Britannia. A great, relaxing, comfortable, and enjoyable stay. We would definately return.

  • Liked — The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The cleanliness of the rooms.
  • Disliked — The en-suite was very small
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wattas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2008

We have just returned from our trip to Edinburgh,we stayed at the
A-HAVEN TOWNHOUSE,we would recommend this hotel to anybody traveling to the city.It is a 10 minute bus ride from the centre
(a one day pass only costs £2.50) and we made full use of the pass.the hotel is very clean and the owner was very helpful with what to do and see in our 3 days in the city,we also had a great breakfast included in the price that set us up for the day ahead.
Overall a good hotel for the price great breakfast good helpful staff
we will be using this hotel again when we return to Edinburgh.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — all good
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank suffolkboy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver,BC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2007

What a delightful place! We really enjoyed our 3 nights here in 2006.
We found out about it from a lady we met on a bus going into Edinburgh. It was close to the sites we wanted to see and the room was very clean and nicely furnished. The breakfast and service are 5 star. You can order from several lovely choices and they even offer haggis and kippers if you want! Totally Scottish! The breakfast is served with style and the dining room is quaint. The owner has a real sense of humor and treats his guests very well. The buses go right into central Edinburgh and the location is good. For the price, it is excellent value. I would stay there again definitely! There is also a small car park.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank aircanadagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

Spent 4 nights in the A-Haven in July.

We were staying there to go sailing at Granton, rather than to visit Edinburgh, so can't really comment on its location with respect to the usual sights. Having said that, there are lots of buses right outside going into the centre of Edinburgh, also quite well located for Leith.

Our room was at the front, but was obviously one huge room which had been split into two, so the arrangement was a bit awkward. There was a huge double glazed bay window but it was partly obscured by the separating wall and there was not much natural light. The shower room was compact (verging on very small), however was adequate.

The decor in the hotel was not really to my taste but the whole place was clean and certainly had character.

All the staff were very helpful and managed to control their amusement at the sight of 2 people walking round the suburbs of Edinburgh in full sailing kit, which was appropriate for Scotland's finest weather, but did seem to scare some of the other guests. They did not seem to mind drenched kit being left to dry all over the room.

Breakfast was a very Scottish affair (haggis, black pudding, smoked haddock) and was very good, the portions were very generous, although the veggie option seemed to be limited.

A PC with Internet access was available in the hall.

  • Liked — Breakfast and staff
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zippy10k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2007

I'm just now posting this even though we stayed at A Haven nearly 2 years ago. But it was such a pleasant experience, I wanted to offer my review. We are American, and had been living short term in Manchester, England. We took a weekend trip up to Edinburgh, and wanted to stay in a reasonably priced, comfortable inn. A Haven fit our needs very well. It is not right in the main tourist area, but within walking distance of the Leith area (shops, restaurants, waterfront). There are 2 bus lines that pick up right outside the inn, making it very easy to get anywhere you want to go in Edinburgh. A trip to Edinburgh Castle only takes a few minutes, and you get to see some of the city on the way. Our room was clean, but a bit cramped, since it had 3 beds. But that is helpful if you are traveling with children. And the bathroom was very small, but had everything we needed, and was clean. There is a full breakfast in the morning that was very good and offered many choices. And cocktails are available to purchase for a reasonable price in the evening. But what really made this place stand out was the service. David, the owner/manager was very friendly, knowledgeable and accomodating. He made sure we were able to get in to their gated parking lot, even though we arriving late at night. He made reservations for us at a nice Italian restaurant (for my birthday dinner), and was able to arrange to have a nice woman from his staff babysit our daughter while we went out. After having spent a weekend at a London inn where we got very impersonal service, it was quite refreshing to stay somewhere where the staff really cares about their customers. The amenities, location, price and service make this a great place to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Liked — friendly, helpful service
  • Disliked — cramped room and bathroom
  • Stayed May 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank adial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2006

After searching far and wide on the World Wide Web, i stumbled upon the website of the A-Haven Townhouse in Edinburgh.
I told him i would be arriving quite late, and this didn't seem to bother David Kay(proprietor) and said i was welcome to arrive whenever i wanted and did i want any food ready for when i arrived.

I eventually arrived after many hours travelling and the door was answered swiftly by a smiling face.
I was given my room key, and then David carried my bag up to my room, which was up a lot of steps.

The room itself was an attic room, the window was in the ceiling facing the sky, so not much in the way of a view there.
The en-suite bathroom was very clean with little blocks of soap and fresh clean towels, and the shower was nice and hot.

In the main room, there was a TV wedged in the corner at the end of the bed, and there was a plentiful supply of tea and coffee and biscuits awaiting me.

A lamp on the dressing table, a direct line telephone and a shelf full of books outside the room made my stay enjoyable.

Beakfast saw a selection of cold cereals and fruit juice buffet to start with, followed by either a full scots breakfast, or bacon and scrambled eggs. Both supplied with toast aplenty.

I will be staying there again, that is no worries.

  • Stayed September 2005, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank looprevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Victoria Park Hotel
#121 of 148 in Edinburgh
194 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 148 in Edinburgh
960 reviews
Masson House
#117 of 148 in Edinburgh
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#57 of 148 in Edinburgh
636 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#88 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Haven Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Haven Townhouse Hotel

Property: A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
Address: 180 Ferry Road, Edinburgh EH6 4NS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Haven Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your A-Haven Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing