We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Time at a B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A-Haven Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #107 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Time at a B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was a beautiful place to stay for my trip to Edinburgh. It's right near a great bus stop and it was easy to get where I needed to go. David was great and very patient when I wanted to leave early and was sort of unaware that bed and breakfasts didn't have 24hr staffing. Oops. I'm not great with unwritten rules. The room was super cute, clean, and a great value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bexxie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    86
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
46
138
33
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We found this randomly online & was very happy with it!! David was so friendly!! He gave us his bus ticket so one of us could ride for free. So accommodating and lovely room. Great breakfast. We would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElyseG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Nice guesthouse with very helpful and friendly service. Secure parking is a real plus too. Room was nice, clean and with plenty of space and facilities, breakfast was delicious and very kindly cooked a little early for us as we had an early start.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed last weekend and David, the owner, couldn't have been a nicer, more accommodating host. Great location 10-15 mins from The Shore and a very clean, tidy room which was very comfortable for the two of us. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made very welcome, will without doubt stay again next time we're in the area and the Scottish breakfast was delicious! Highly recommended - 10/10

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abetts2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

So lucky to have found this after a dreadful experience at other supposed "brilliant" B&B.! Our warm Scottish welcome washed away the sourness of the start of our day! A real wee treasure! Highest standards of cleanliness and superb full Scottish Breakfast, Our twin room was very spacious, ensuite, comfy beds, tv, hairdryer, trouser press, tea making facility ~not to forget the delightful "little" touches like toiletries & sewing kit. all adding a luxury feel to the olde world quaintness.
Search no more~ you've arrived at a great place in your search engine for your Edinburgh break!! just get booking and enjoy!

Room Tip: don't think you would be disappointed with any of the rooms here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I loved to come back again and I will come back in the future. It's a lovely, familiy-driven B&B with a special scottish touch. Every room is an individual composition, sometimes small, but you find always everything you need.
Additionally, you can park easily near the hotel, it's very easy to find coming from Edinburgh airport. With a bus stop in front of the door, you can get everywhere - easily.
Additionally, you can buy selected art from local artists (paintings, cards etc.)
Enjoy A-Haven Townhouse, and enjoy yourself, as the owner is always saying!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamaraSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Had two nights at this hotel, more like a B&B during a visit to Edinburgh. Check in was very welcoming and efficient. My friend and I shared a twin room. Spacious enough for the two of us. The bathroom was not big but all that we required with plenty of hot water and nice toiletries. The whole place has the look and feel more of a home than a hotel. Breakfast was delicious, chosen from a menu and freshly cooked. A lovely way to start the day looking out into the garden. David is available to give any advice and assistance. A bus adjacent to the residence took you into the city in 10 mins or in the opposite direction to the Royal Yacht Britannia. 10 minutes walk away, a recommended Italian restaurant, Guillianos, serves delicious food with panache. Altogether a very enjoyable stay. Thank you David and staff. I will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quitosmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
#91 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#144 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Channings Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Haven Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Haven Townhouse Hotel

Property: A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
Address: 180 Ferry Rd, Edinburgh EH6 4NS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Haven Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your A-Haven Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing