We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Scottish Gem”
Review of Teviotdale House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Teviotdale House
Ranked #250 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We booked this Hotel / Guest house due to its location, price & car parking.
We were very happy with what we got.
We booked the 4 poster bed room, which was very well priced & very spacious.
It was wonderful.
The hostess, sorry could not remember her name, was very attentive & nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was very nice with a wide choice available.
It was lovely.
I would recommend this to anyone & everyone visiting Edinburgh.
We will certainly be returning here when we come back to Edinburgh.

One slight negative...The shower was not very good, but did work.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Teviotdale House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

A very comfortable stay at Teviotdale house and easy access to the centre of edinburgh. The house itself has alot of charachter and is very cosy. The beds are a lovely big size and very comfortable. Breakfast was good but not outstanding. The house is very clean and tidy and the staff very friendly. I have no complaints about this place at all however compared to other 4 star properties I have stayed in around the country it is not as luxurious however overall a nice place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank multitaskhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Lovely big room with a four poster and all the usual tea & coffee, hair dryer etc. The room was clean as was the spacious bathroom. We were given advice on local buses, taxi's etc., but in the end we walked into Edinburgh in about half an hour. Breakfast was plentiful and pleasantly delivered. Lovely place. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Exant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We arrived at 5.30pm to a warm and friendly welcome. We were taken to our rooms and offered a choice of two. We were given details of how to get in to the centre of Edinburgh which was only a 5 minute bus ride - we actually walked and it took just 30 minutes.

The B&B was super clean and very quiet, and as for the breakfast there was heaps to choose from and the coffee was good too :)

I would highly recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChilliLOUNGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Staying during the Fringe festival it was full up and, despite, comings and goings we had quiet enjoyment during our two night stay. It is a manageable walk into the city but also lots of buses run along nearby Nicholson St, which is parallel to the nearest city bound street which has only one bus route. Parking was a bit of an issue with a CPZ outside.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed for a long weekend break in late June. We chose this hotel because of the good comments on TA and we were not disappointed - we agree with everything posted about this hotel. The breakfast was freshly cooked and of a very high standard. The room was well appointed and the en suite was a masterpiece of design - I take my hat off to the person who managed to fit a quite spacious ensuite into the bedroom without compromising the bedroom space available. The host Marta was very pleasant and welcoming.

There is a bus stop only minutes away at the top of the street if you need to take transport into town but it's a flat walk and we made it, even fairly slowly, (soaking up the architecture) in about 20 minutes. There are two good pubs at the end of the road, again 2 minutes away and they serve good less expensive meals (compared to town prices) and a good pint of real ale. If you like indian food - there's an indian tapas restaurant on Infirmary Street called Mother India, which is well worth a visit but you will have to book as it is very popular - which speaks for itself. All the breads are light and fluffy and cooked fresh and the best we have tasted. You do feel a bit rushed through the courses but i would prefer to put it down to their efficiency in service rather than the feeling of wanting you out asap. Next to this is a very old pub, perhaps the smallest in Edinburgh, (Royal Oak?) they seemed to have buskers on each night starting from about 6pm and the quality of the performers was excellent and totally free - new musicians seemed to come and go all night. We enjoyed a sing along with visitors from different parts of the world and the atmosphere was good hearted and friendly. I remember with fondness Paul Simon songs sung in 3 different languages all at the same time. Edinburgh is a lovely city - enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krumblelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Our family of four just returned from two excellent stays at Teviotdale House in Edinburgh, staying a total of four nights. The home is a well-maintained and beautifully furnished row house in a friendly, safe neighborhood very close to a great old pub, fish and chips shop and bus stop to the town center. Marta was a very gracious hostess and helped us plan our travels in Edinburgh. She and her staff served excellent breakfasts, including bacon and sausage from their local butcher and toast from home-baked bread. Our beds were very comfortable with crisp sheets and comfy pillows. One room was en-suite with a four poster bed and the other was a twin with private bathroom, both with immaculately clean and well-lit facilities. The showers were great! We booked our second visit after the first and will return to Teviotdale House next time we are in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: If you have special requests or needs, just ask Marta.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#101 of 393 in Edinburgh
288 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,963 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#11 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,637 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teviotdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teviotdale House

Address: Grange Loan 53, Edinburgh EH9 2ER, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £56 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Teviotdale House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Teviotdale House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing