We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great stay”
Review of Teviotdale House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Teviotdale House
Ranked #253 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Two adults. No complaints at all about the room or facilities. What really made our stay enjoyable was the homemade shortbread and the amazing breakfast. We still talk about how great the food and treats were during this stay. Recommend. Nice and quiet away from tourist areas.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed here 2 nights for business.
The twin room was spacious with a washing basin, bath robes and a powerful hair dryer. Another separate key gave access to the adjacent spacious shower room with washing basin and toilet, everything spotlessly clean. The homemade shortbread in the room was a real treat.
The beds were very comfy and breakfast excellent - we loved the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on toast, yummy!
Very friendly and efficient service. The B&B is located in a very quiet neighbourhood with free street parking in evenings and weekend. Would easily stay here again!

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the adjacent shower room with facilities. It's really no hassle and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AberdeenshireTimmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at Teviotdale House in Edinburgh for several nights and loved the tranquility of the area. The owners were very nice and accommodating and we had fresh, homemade shortbread left for us in the room each day after we arrived back. The location was great because it was just far enough away from the bustle, but, just a couple blocks from the nearest bus stop. We walked to the Royal Mile one day and it didn't take long to get there. It gave us a feel for the non-tourist aspect of the city. There were quite a few nice restaurants in the area nearby as well. On a couple of occasions, we ate at a nice Italian restaurant, just around the corner. I would highly recommend this B&B, especially for first time visitors to Edinburgh. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: I don't believe all rooms had their own bathrooms so request a room with your own bathroom for m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveler2376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We spent 2 nights over the last week end in may. Lovely quiet area within easy walking distance of centre. Used taxi from Waverley station with the case but walked in and back on the Sunday. Room was very attractive with origional features retained but with sympathetic facilities added.
Breakfast lived up to expectations and there was even home made shortbread in the room each day.
Welcome was very freindly. Will stay again when in town.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank HometyreWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at this B&B in a quiet area of Edinburgh. The breakfasts were delicious and our room was spotlessly clean. We cannot fault our stay and we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DriftAwayToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The owners were very accommodating. The Victorian house was lovely and the breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

For our single night in Edinburgh we stayed at Teviotdale House and found it to be absolutely lovely. The rates were very reasonable, and it was close enough to the bus station and the city center that we managed to walk everywhere we needed to go. We especially appreciated our private bathroom, the loan of an adapter with which to plug in our American appliances and laptop, and the hearty breakfast in the morning which was courteously served early because we had a bus to catch.

Anyone who, like us, is hardy enough to walk for 30-40 minutes will find it close enough to walk to all the interesting parts of the city, while being far enough away to make for a safe and quiet place to spend the nighttime hours. I really can't imagine how it could have been nicer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#105 of 393 in Edinburgh
289 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,575 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teviotdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teviotdale House

Address: Grange Loan 53, Edinburgh EH9 2ER, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £56 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Teviotdale House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Teviotdale House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing