We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for what we recieved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Thrums Edinburgh
Ranked #293 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at the Thrums for 7 nights end of July '14'. Very disappointed. The room was dingy, tired and in need of much repair. Half of the secondary glazing was missing paint very dirty as was panelling around room. The bed was clean and comfortable but the sheets obviously hadn't been pressed they appeared to have been dried scrunched up. The bathroom had a hole in the floor but otherwise clean and functioning. At the beginning of the week our towels were changed and clean ones left. Towards the end of the week we had to ask for clean towels. The waste bin had liners in at the start of the week again as the week went on they were missing. Our cups for drinks were always marked. The floor was vacuumed once only and underneath the bed the dust and rubbish from other guests obviously had been there a while. We paid for a cooked breakfast which was okay but for some reason we weren't allowed bacon when we asked the manager he just said we don't do bacon with no explanation then walked away. We have stayed in 3 star accommodation before and received better service and quality of accommodation.
This hotel is not worth the money, but could be a nice if more attention was given to it.
The location of the hotel is the only plus side as it is convenient for the city centre and local buses.

Room Tip: rooms are big and spacious, quieter at the back of the building. Can't give a specific room to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SeahamDruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

I think this place needed updating. I booked a family room, not sure it was. The carpets were a bit grubby and the room was very dark. Not sure who ran the place, however the chap at reception was very pleasant. The bed was also very comfortable

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank VickyC3025OQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed at Thrums for 2 nights in a family room with 2 teenagers. Overall the accommodation was satisfactory but no more. Not as clean as I would like. Some aspects of the room looked tired especially the carpet. Great location for getting into Edinburgh (20 min walk or regular buses) On arrival we were greeted by a very polite, helpful young man on reception and the building itself is very impressive. Not sure on security as we had one key which opened both the front door and our room? The worst thing was the lack of friendliness from the lady who seemed to be in charge of the breakfast room. No greeting as we entered, barely a smile and a very brusque manner when making even a basic request. We overheard her speak to an Italian couple and a French family in a very condescending way as if everything was an inconvenience.The breakfast was also very basic. It makes me cross when people in the service industry really can't be bothered. We loved Edinburgh but will look for more friendly welcome if we return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed in a family room here over the weekend. The positives are it is a good location, half hour walk to the Royal Mile (with children), parking round the back, room decent size, good shower, quite a reasonable price, firm beds. Disappointments were they almost forced you to pay by cash (adding 2% to ANY card transaction), breakfast was ok, but having seen the young man managing it we didn't like to order a cooked breakfast (at an extra £5) as we weren't sure how he'd manage it, and as no-one else ever ordered it we didn't know what it would be like. Beautiful old house, rooms a bit tired, modern bathroom was lovely to use, but not in keeping with the building.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I'll start with the negatives:
- The hotel is advertised as "Continental Breakfast Included". The breakfast actually proposes drinks (coffee, juices, tea), butter and jam and toast. For some this might be enough but for most, you should have more diversity (maybe some meat? some yogurt? etc).
- In the room most of the things actually worked, even though some of the equipment are very old. It was cold and the heater was too small for the surface of the room. The receptionist did tell us about a second "plug-in" heater that would work, if we got cold, but only for about 15 minutes. It looked to old, I didn't try it.
- The bathroom is functional but quite old looking and in need of some repairs

Positives:
- big and clean room
- good location (lots of buses just outside of the hotel)
- nice and attentive staff

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neben78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel, with its sash windows, stairs, floors, and ceilings, could be a period details sourcebook; located within walking distance to the best places to visit in and around the city centre, yet I fell asleep and woke up to bird chirps!
A tiny minus point for the 10 o'clock check-out (but we were allowed to leave our car in the car park all day free of charge), no satellite signal, and little attention to detail in the en-suite.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anglicist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at thrums as part of group. The place itself is well kept and very well presented. The rooms were well worth the price. Only down side is the staff. Rude On a number of occasions and incapable of understanding numbers and more importantly prices as well as a manager who won't appear in public when a problems arrise but hides out of the way.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Geoffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#135 of 151 in Edinburgh
185 reviews
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#199 of 394 in Edinburgh
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#109 of 394 in Edinburgh
290 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,015 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thrums Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thrums Edinburgh

Address: 14-15 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 1RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £53 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thrums Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Thrums Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thrums Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
The Thrums Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing