We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel: bathroom/could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #42 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Great hotel: bathroom/could be better”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Had a great stay at the kings manor. The spa faccilities are wonderful and the service was great! Not the best shower in the world but the other good parts make yo for it e.g the food at the restaurant and bistro are good! Would reccomend to anyone

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuntyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for your comments. Many of our showers are fitted with water savers that can restrict the flow of the water to save waste as part of our environmental commitment. Occasionally these may need to be adjusted to give a good flow so that it can be used for its purpose. If you could email the hotel with the room number I can get our plumbing team to check if this is the case here. I am delighted that the rest of your stay was enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    452
    108
    23
    8
See reviews for
294
446
65
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This was our second visit to Kings Manor and we once again had a very enjoyable stay. We were lucky enough to be allocated a Club room, which was spacious and very well equipped. All the staff were excellent and made one feel like a valued guest. The Leisure Club was also excellent. Bus service into the centre of Edinburgh was excellent.

The hotel has free WiFi throughout, which is most useful.

The 44 bus stops outside the hotel and makes getting to and from Edinburgh City Centre very easy. There is also a railway station nearby. We mostly left the car at the hotel and travelled by bus.

The only slight reservation was that one of the starters in the Lauders restaurant (the Chef's special!!!) was still frozen in the middle. The price of the starters was deducted from our bill, but as we were on a DBB package, this did not affect the final bill to any extent.

Overall, an excellent stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dadioGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. I am sorry that your meal was not as good as it could have been. I know that the kitchen brigade were aware of the error and hopefully we can avoid a repetition in the future. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This is a great place to stay. Very homely and the staff can't do enough to make you feel so welcome . Swimming pool facilities are really good as well. A great way to work of that hearty breakfast! Free wifi is a nice touch. Will come back again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moxeymania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thanks for your kind comments I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We wanted to visit the Edinburgh tourist attractions but had a car to park. Nearly all the central hotels we looked at had limited or zero parking. This Hotel was Nth' West of the main center but had its own parking and a 44 bus route outside (£1.30 each) approx' 20 min direct to city centre. Worked out very well.
In previous years we had avoided Best Western as mostly, they seemed old and jaded but recently we have used several of them as they seem to have splashed some cash and upgraded them. This one was very clean and smart.
We had also joined the B'Western rewards card earlier and this got us a free upgrade as a Exec' room was available. They allowed us to stay an extra couple of hours on the last morning so as we could utilise the pool and steam rooms before we drove back to Surrey,
It was also a good base for driving the 10 min' to Ocean Terminal where we visited the Royal Yacht Brittania. A must do. Ocean terminal also had plenty of shops, resturants and a Vue cinema which we utilised. (Utilised the hotel computer/printer to find and print some discount vouchers for resturants before we set off to Ocean Term')
We found the weather very wet, windy and cold (October 'up-north'), so take a fleece at least.
This is the first time we have added a review to Trip Advisor so hope it helps.

Room Tip: Join the B'Western rewards card before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thanks for your comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us. Guests can join the Best Western rewards scheme on the Best Western UK web site or on arrival at the hotel. You can gain rewards points on stays at over 270 Best western hotels in the UK and over 3000 worldwide. You may not be aware that Best Western do not own any hotels. All hotels are owned and managed by individual owners and operators The Kings Manor has been owned and run by the same family since 1976. They also own and operate 2 hotels in Fife, both personally managed by family members. To join Best Western a hotel must pass an exacting inspection and each year is re inspected to ensure standards are maintained. It has been Best Westerns policy or ‘raising the bar’ each year on these inspections so that each hotels minimum standard has to improve to stay within the orginisation. Several hotels over the past few years have not managed to keep pace and have left the orginisation. The result to the customer , as you testify, is a much improved quality in each hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Whilst not in the city centre the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from Brunstane Train Station which is a 7 minute train ride from Edinburgh Waverly. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. The hotel is about a 30 minute taxi ride from the Airport (about £30).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malpensa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Reasonable place. Lovely leisure facilities.

Got a good deal on the room but the price paid did not live up to expectations.

Bonus was free wifi which is a must for me.

Also miffed that the price did not include breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkcanary76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
I am sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations. We offer Room Only, Bed and Breakfast and Dinner Bed and Breakfast rates so guests can choose a rate that suits their needs. I would urge guests to double check what type of booking that they are making. Breakfast is available at a discounted rate on check in to those who have not booked a B& B rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Best Western Kings Manor. The price was unbeatable, the location was great, and the room was fabulous! If you are planning to stay in Edinburgh, I definitely suggest staying in this hotel. Please note that this hotel is not in the city center; however, getting to the city center is very easy.

To get from Edinburgh Waverley Station to the hotel, take the train to Brunstane Station (it runs every day except Sunday). It takes approximately 8 minutes and costs £2.10 each way. The walk from Brunstane Station takes about 5 minutes.

On Sunday there is a bus (#44) that runs from just outside the hotel to Princes Street. It is £1.30 each way and takes approximately 30 minutes. **Go to the hotel's web site for more detailed transportation directions.

All in all, I will most definitely stay at the Best Western Kings Manor again. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and the room was unbeatable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chanookc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for your kind comments I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I totally agree that the excellent bus and train service to the city centre is a great asset to us. You can enjoy easy access to the city without the noise, crowding and lack of parking that you would associate with a city centre hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#22 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#94 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing