We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #45 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed here in November 2011 and it was lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful, the location is great, there is a health club attached which you can use for free as a hotel guest and the facilities are really lovely. There are also two restaurants, we didn't use the a-la-carte but the other bar/restaurant was lovely and has a good menu. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Thanks for your kind words , I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that we may welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

Stayed at The Kings Manor recently and it definitely ticked all of the boxes. The three reception staff we came into contact with were very helpful and friendly. Our room was first class, very spacious, comfortable bed, teapot for making tea (pet hate - teabag in a cup) lovely bathroom and really clean throughout. We booked on the bed, breakfast and evening meal basis and the food in the restuarant was excellent, again the staff were very attentive and friendly .The pool facilities were a bonus, good sized pool, large changing room with cubicals and free towels and shower jel. Would'nt, hesitate to recommend to my friends and would stay again if visiting Edinburgh.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, room 85 and found it to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VandaHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Thank you for posting your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. You may want to know that our pool is the second largest hotel pool in the city. I hope that you can come back to see us soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel and we will def be back. The staff are all very friendly and even although we arrived about an hour early they were very accomodating and got our room ready quickly for us. The rooms are very spacious and clean and have modern decor and flat screen tv's. We were there on a Saturday night and it was very quiet, but i'm sure if you wanted a quiet room anyway they will do that for you. We had dinner in the Options bistro that is attached to the hotel and the food was very good and reasonably priced as well, just the normal prices you would pay elsewhere. The bistro staff are all very pleasant making the overall experience of this hotel an excellent one. There is a bus stop just outside of the hotel and if you get on a 44 bus it is about 15 mins to get into the city centre with it costing 1.30 per adult and 70p per child (single) and you must have the exact change the bus drivers don't speak much but would def recommend staying here. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xlittlestarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Thank you for your kind review . we are all delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us. I hope that you had a chance to visit our leisure club on your visit. I hope that its not to long before we can welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Fantastic really, from reception staff, bar staff, room attendants, gym staff, everyone friendly approachable and helpful. We stayed the whole weekend and were upgraded to a club room.
Room clean and comfy and spacious, the gym was great and the pool facilities, restaurant good, bar good, breakfast good. i was surprised to see a ps2 in my room and the chanels bountiful felt totally spoiled. bus service and train service great and well positioned for access to the lothians and centre of town i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: go for the club room if you can do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m1monroe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Thank you for your kind words, I am sure everyone here will be encouraged by reading them. I hope that we might welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We visited Edinburgh in August this year and stayed at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel. We chose it mostly for the affordable price compared to most other hotels in Edinburgh. Granted, its location isn't the best - 15ish min bus ride to the centre. However, the bus stops right in front of the hotel and it runs every 15 minutes, until very late at night. So, getting to centre of town wasn't hard at all. We were also there during the Fringe festival so I'm not sure if the bus service was more frequent than usual.
The hotel itself is located on a quiet street, and it's very well kept. The airline lost my friend's bag upon arrival to Edinburgh, so the staff were very helpful in accommodating her. One of the ladies working at reception even went out of her way to buy a small cosmetics kit (toothbrush, toothpaste, deodorant, etc) and have it for my friend the next morning after we arrived. This wasn't something that the hotel had usually for guests - this lady went to the store and bought it for my friend! That's what I call customer service! The other employees were also very helpful and advised us not to drive to the centre but to take the bus.

Our room was very spacious, with high ceilings. It was immaculately clean. The bathroom was also quite nice and clean.

I would recommend this hotel to others. Its only downside is that it's not walking distance to the centre, but its price more than made up for this.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Bug81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

What can I say other than what an amazing find this hotel was. We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay, room was amazing with more than enough room for us and the dog. Huge bed, lovely big bathroom, dressing table and separate table and chairs (which is great for bite to eat). Small fee of £5 per night for the dog which I was more than happy to pay considering how clean the room was (Stayed in Hilton's previously with a £35 charge).
Staff were very friendly and helpful upon arrival, we were told that dogs were allowed in the lobby lounge and breakfast could be eaten there if we wished. Plenty of parking and space to walk the dog. Hotel conveniently just off the A1.

Portabello beach is a 20 mins walk and there is even a dog friendly pub "Epsy" which I'm told serve brilliant food (sadly was too busy when we arrived).

Train station 5 mins walk and there is a regular service that will take you directly to City centre in 10 mins. Also dogs welcome at no extra charge on Scot rail trains which was great relief as I didn't fancy the 40 mins on the bus.

All in all a very relaxing break made all the more special having the dog with us.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geol-grad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Thank you for your review. We seldom get feed back from our pet owners and so are especially delighted to hear from you. We are indeed in a great location for dog walks along the beach or in the adjoining countryside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I've stayed in the BW King's Manor hotel on two occasions now, and wouldn't stay anywhere else if I was in the area.

The biggest positive for this hotel is the staff. They are all warm, friendly and really helpful - and they go out of their way to make your staff pleasant and to assist with all sorts of things. One staff member took time to write me alternate directions to Dunfermline to help me miss the roadwords, which was really helpful!

The rooms are large and very comfortable. I stayed in one of the club rooms on the 2nd floor - it had a nice big bed, good sized desk for working, chairs and a table which was great for room service and complimentary wi-fi which worked quickly all the time I was using it.

The breakfast was great - lots of variety, hot and cold options, and all was fresh and very tasty. I had a steak pie for room service, and that was very nice too.

There are not enough parking spaces for everyone, but the road outside is wide and safe to park on. There is an Asda and some other shops in walking distance, if that takes your fancy. Otherwise a nice easy drive to everywhere.

Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Club rooms are best, but to be honest there isn't a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loxias27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Thanks for your kind words about your stay with us. We are really proud of the team we have here and how they go out of their way to help guests whenever we can. We are just starting a set of in house customer care courses to ensure that everyone is focused on our guests at all times.
Hopefully we can continue to make your future stays comfortable and your welcomes warm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,598 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#95 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#76 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,293 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#109 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £49 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing