We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Prestonfield(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,354)
Filter reviews
1,354 results
Traveller rating
697
488
129
29
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
697
488
129
29
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomportobello beachleisure facilitiescity centrelauders restaurantswimming poolsteam room and saunasingle roomgood sizebus stopreception staffexcellent hotelbuffet stylenumber bushuge bedbus servicevisiting edinburgh
Filter
Updating list...
1,143 - 1,148 of 1,354 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Stayed at Kings Manor for our first Christmas away and was a faultless experience! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, all without exception, polite and friendly. I emailed the hotel to say we would arrive early on our first day (travelled on the night sleeper) and the manager arranged for us to have breakfast on arrival and also for our room to be ready. We got exactly what we wanted with our room, and the club room was gorgeous. We had a flat screen Sony tv, showing all the Freeview channels, plus a Playstation 2 (we could play DVD's on that) and the biggest bed ever.
Spotlessly clean. Throughout our Christmas stay there were lots of little touches that made our trip more enjoyable (gift of homemade biscuits was really lovely) . The food was very good, and Christmas lunch was delicious. A nice end to the day was the thoughtfulness of the hotel to provide a light supper of sandwiches. The location of the hotel was great, with buses stopping outside to travel into Edinburgh, also 5 minutes away a good train service. On Christmas Day we walked on a lovely beach at Portobello, about 10 minutes walk away, brilliant!
Has to be the best value for money trip we have taken, and will definately return.
Many thanks again to all the staff for a very memorable Christmas.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, and a quiet room.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superladygenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed sharing your Christmas with us and chefs biscuits! I hope that we may consider joining us again at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

i really liked this hotel, it's clean and comfortable. that's the best part! and for me it is what matters most.location is not so bad. the city centre is accessible by bus, a 20 min bus ride. it is also near to portobello beach but we didn't go there because the weather is not good, there was a storm. they also have pleasant staff, really helpful.
the downside is, i could hear noises from the other room, so i guess the walls are thin? but aside from that, spotless. we didnt try the breakfast, it wasnt included in the room rate but then there is complimentary coffee and tea in the room. and i want noodles for breakfast so, no need XD
i definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diobots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Thank you for your comments. I shall investigate your comments regarding hearing noises. With regard to your comments regarding noodles for breakfast. I will certainly look to bring that to chefs attention as we are getting more guests each year from the far east who would enjoy a taste of home for breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We have just stayed at this hotel for our first Christmas away and we have had a wonderful time. The Solley family, management and staff could not have been more helpful. Our club room was huge, spotless, very quiet, in fact perfect.
The meals were excellent with lots of choice and served with a smile. Nothing was too much trouble.
There is a bus stop right outside the hotel that takes you to the city in 20 minutes or so. There was even the bus times in a leaflet in the foyer. Most helpful when used to car driving!
The Christmas meal was excellent with the Solley family helping to serve to ensure we had everything we wanted.
Thank you for a wonderful stay, we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleydiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Thank you for your kind review following your Christmas stay. You do highlight the fact that although we are members of BEST WESTERN hotels , and are delighted to be associated with a brand that champions service and customer care, The hotel is owned and run as a family business – as it has been for over 35 years. With various membes of the family being involved in all aspects of the hotel , including handing out sweets on Christmas Day! The families personal commitment to the hotel and you , our customer, focuses everyone associated with the hotel. I hope that we can welcome you back in 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We have stayed at the kings manor on several occasions now and have always had a very nice stay, but the last stay topped the lot as we were given a club room which was a lot bigger and had a more luxurious feel to it and everything was immaculate and clean.The young lady on reception took the time to ask if our stay was business or pleasure As it was a special birthday on our departure day she must have noted this as a card and some cookies were left in our room which was a nice touch.
We travelled by train and then bus which stops just outside the hotel, but if needed the hotel has a large car park. We did not dine in the restaurant on this visit but have before and both the food and value are very good. Breakfast was hot and cold help yourself style buffet with any special requests to order and was also very good.
The hotel has its own leisure club with pool steam room, sauna, spa pool and treatment rooms and I use the pool when staying and it is very clean and relaxing, but early morning or early evening can be busy with members so if you can choose a different time it was quieter.
Although most visitors go to Edinburgh the hotel is well located for any other attractions in the area and a 20 minute walk to Musselburgh.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BessyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Thank you for your kind review following your last stay. I am delighted that we continue to offer a standard of service that meets your needs. I hope on your return we can tempt you to try our new Lauders Restaurant menu which features a range of tapas, if your appetite wont stretch to a main meal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This was the first time I had stayed at a Best Western Hotel but will not be the last if this one is anything to go by.

I'm usually quite fussy and hard to please when it comes to hotels, food and customer service, but this has been one of the best hotels for service, friendliness and cleanliness I have stayed in.
The welcome when you walk through the door to reception was warm and friendly, the staff are polite and nothing was too much trouble.

The room was warm, clean and tastefully decorated, with the usual tea and coffee facilities to hand.
The bed was huge and very comfortable I managed to sleep well, which makes a change for me to be honest.
The hotel is close enough to the city to commute by bus (£1:30) to George Street but far enough away for some peace and quiet at night.

We ate in the brasserie which was excellent value, food was great, I can recommend the pasta and salmon.

As it was christmas party time there were celebrations going on the weekend we stayed there and you could hear the music in the hotel but after 11:30 ish it all went quiet allowing guests to have a pleasant sleep.

The breakfast in the morning was plentiful with lots of choice and enough staff around to tend to your needs, service was prompt and very friendly.

If I could have stayed a few more nights then I would have done without hesitation.

We will be back in the new year for another weekend, thank you to all the staff and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slider66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Thank you for your review following your short stay prior to Christmas . I hope that your stay has encouraged you to try some more of the 270 Best Western Hotels in Britain. Christmas Party time is sometimes difficult to balance the needs of the revelers and those of the guests in need of a good nights sleep,
We invested heavily in sound proofing our function suite with extra soundproofing in the ceilings and walls and triple glazed windows. I am delighted that although our parties went on till 1am you were not disturbed by any extraneous noise. I hope that we can have the pleasure in welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews