We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations, will return, lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #41 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations, will return, lovely hotel”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I went with my partner for the New Year period for 5 nights. It was one of the cheaper options on Expedia which is why my expectations weren't the highest. Upon arrival there was lots of car parking space so no stress there and all staff were extremely friendly. The room was massive and quite luxurious, I was certainly impressed from the off and all at a good price. The use of the swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi are all free to residents and we took advantage of this also - was brilliant. Also on site were a very nice looking restaurant (although we didn't eat there) and a nice relaxing bar (which we did use) with a good atmosphere. We were there for visiting family and exploring Edinburgh so seemed the ideal location. For going into Edinburgh centre there was a bus stop directly outside the hotel and a no. 44 bus comes very regularly and takes 15 mins to get to heart of the action. Costs £3.20 for all day hop on and off or just £1.30 for a single journey. If you're out late there are night buses also running until 4am so no trouble getting back. The hotel room contained lots of tourist information and bus times which was very useful. After the NYE celebrations again there were free night buses which again got us back to the hotel with no trouble at all . Staff were there to greet all guests again and wish us a happy new year. Really pleased with the hotel it far exceeded my expectations. I've never stayed at a Best Western before this one but I'll certainly return to this hotel and look out for Best Western's in other areas if they are all similar. Really pleased. Many thanks.

Room Tip: We had a 'club room' so not sure what the others are like but it was great and we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay over New Year. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us . I think our edge of town location is best enjoyed at this time in year where the city centre is chaotic and you can easily retreat to tranquilly at The Kings Manor using the excellent public transport system.
I hope that we can be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    455
    108
    23
    9
See reviews for
296
448
65
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We had booked a night after spending time with the family over Christmas.

The room was ice cold when we arrived even though we had booked several days ahead. We were found a smaller, warmer room when we complained.

Breakfast was chaotic...the buffet ran out of fried eggs, bacon, sausages all at the same time and a queue built up.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJJ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
I am disappointed to hear that your room was not warm enough for you when you arrived but I am glad that a suitable alternative could be found for you speedily and with no fuss.
As with all breakfast buffets a limited supply is kept ‘out front’ on the buffet as even the best buffet counters do not keep food piping hot . A back up supply is kept in a warm oven in the kitchen so that it can be used to replenish the buffet immediately the food at the front is nearly finished.
This works very well except where there is a sudden large influx of guests and the back up food is used before fresh items can be cooked. This is obviously what happened in this case. This is an unusual occurrence but can only be totally overcome by asking guests to book a time for breakfast, as we would do for dinner reservation. For obvious reasons we are reluctant to go down this route.
Normally guests are not in such a great hurry in the week between Christmas and New Year that having to relax and enjoy a slice of toast and a cup of tea for the 5 minutes it takes to cook fresh sausages, bacon, etc is not to arduous a task. Obviously this was not the case for yourself. For that I can only apologize and hope that you may try us again at a future date so that we can prove this to be a hiccup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

On arrival, the reception smelt of stale cooking.

The room was a good size and the bed comfortable.

The double glazing was woefully inadequate as it allowed the very cold air through ... admittedly the winds were very strong that night, but the room was too cold, even with the heaters on.

Breakfast was buffet style and the food good, but the dining room is far too small for the amount of rooms in the hotel and people were having to wait and queue for breakfast , or go early which we did.

The Wifi in the room was, at best intermittent, but generally not available, even after taking the hotel advice and reporting it.

The bathroom ceiling looked as if it would collapse at any moment and we reported this to reception who had no idea that it was in such a state.

The flowers in the room was a nice touch, but would have been nicer if the water in the vase had been fresh!

The Arran chocolates in the room on arrival were lovely.

The reception staff were very helpful to us, but we would not stay there again. This hotel was not what I expected from Great Western.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seggiesmoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights & had great time. The hotel accommodation is excellent and the staff efficient & friendly. The buffet breakfast was of a good standard. The leisure facilities are free & we made good use of both the gym and swimming pool, steam room etc. Although not right in the centre of Edinburgh this hotel is close to the beach at Portobello where we walked our dog every day. It takes about 15 minutes to drive in to the city centre.We had inter-connecting club rooms on the ground floor.Rooms are quite well insulated for sound & the hotel is environmentally aware which we liked.We did not eat in the hotel other than for breakfast so can't comment on the food in the restaurants although they did seem to be quite busy.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakeland5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Thank you for your kind review of your stay. I am delighted that your dog enjoyed the bracing seaside walk. It is indeed a great location for dogs. We are working on a few little things that will hopefully make our canine guests stay a bit more comfortable. Hopefully you can all return to see how they work out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Stayed at Kings Manor for our first Christmas away and was a faultless experience! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, all without exception, polite and friendly. I emailed the hotel to say we would arrive early on our first day (travelled on the night sleeper) and the manager arranged for us to have breakfast on arrival and also for our room to be ready. We got exactly what we wanted with our room, and the club room was gorgeous. We had a flat screen Sony tv, showing all the Freeview channels, plus a Playstation 2 (we could play DVD's on that) and the biggest bed ever.
Spotlessly clean. Throughout our Christmas stay there were lots of little touches that made our trip more enjoyable (gift of homemade biscuits was really lovely) . The food was very good, and Christmas lunch was delicious. A nice end to the day was the thoughtfulness of the hotel to provide a light supper of sandwiches. The location of the hotel was great, with buses stopping outside to travel into Edinburgh, also 5 minutes away a good train service. On Christmas Day we walked on a lovely beach at Portobello, about 10 minutes walk away, brilliant!
Has to be the best value for money trip we have taken, and will definately return.
Many thanks again to all the staff for a very memorable Christmas.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, and a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superladygenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed sharing your Christmas with us and chefs biscuits! I hope that we may consider joining us again at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

i really liked this hotel, it's clean and comfortable. that's the best part! and for me it is what matters most.location is not so bad. the city centre is accessible by bus, a 20 min bus ride. it is also near to portobello beach but we didn't go there because the weather is not good, there was a storm. they also have pleasant staff, really helpful.
the downside is, i could hear noises from the other room, so i guess the walls are thin? but aside from that, spotless. we didnt try the breakfast, it wasnt included in the room rate but then there is complimentary coffee and tea in the room. and i want noodles for breakfast so, no need XD
i definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diobots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Thank you for your comments. I shall investigate your comments regarding hearing noises. With regard to your comments regarding noodles for breakfast. I will certainly look to bring that to chefs attention as we are getting more guests each year from the far east who would enjoy a taste of home for breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We have just stayed at this hotel for our first Christmas away and we have had a wonderful time. The Solley family, management and staff could not have been more helpful. Our club room was huge, spotless, very quiet, in fact perfect.
The meals were excellent with lots of choice and served with a smile. Nothing was too much trouble.
There is a bus stop right outside the hotel that takes you to the city in 20 minutes or so. There was even the bus times in a leaflet in the foyer. Most helpful when used to car driving!
The Christmas meal was excellent with the Solley family helping to serve to ensure we had everything we wanted.
Thank you for a wonderful stay, we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleydiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Thank you for your kind review following your Christmas stay. You do highlight the fact that although we are members of BEST WESTERN hotels , and are delighted to be associated with a brand that champions service and customer care, The hotel is owned and run as a family business – as it has been for over 35 years. With various membes of the family being involved in all aspects of the hotel , including handing out sweets on Christmas Day! The families personal commitment to the hotel and you , our customer, focuses everyone associated with the hotel. I hope that we can welcome you back in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
4.9 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,481 reviews
7.2 mi away
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing