We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #41 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boroughbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value Hotel”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stay here often. Rooms are nice and modern and I have had free upgrade more often than not. Restaurant has great food if you don't fancy the trip into town and the bar seems to be used by the locals as well ( must be good ) . Don't forget your swim wear, huge pool with sauna and steam room. Make sure you get the breakfast deal, its the best in town.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. Its nice to get comments from regular guests as well as those staying only occasionally. I hope that you are enjoying the new Lauders Restaurant menu and its new ‘Tapas’ innovation . anyone staying with us must find time to use the leisure club , it’s the second largest hotel pool in the city. Our balcony beauty therapy centre has been moved for a couple of weeks taking over a few bedrooms temporarily, but it is due to open next week- and its looking good! Maybe you can make use of that facility on your next visit, we hope to have some promotional re opening offers available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    455
    108
    23
    9
See reviews for
296
448
65
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

we stayed in kings manor on weekend just after new year.had been before in best western hotels and sort of new what to expect.to my surprise it was better from start.check-in was very quick but in a room with two single beds.went back to reception to say what my booking was saying and a girl in reception sorted out my new room(very good in all aspects) in less than a minute.very helpful staff.great food(breakfast and dinner in restaurant) very good fitness centre(swimming pool and sauna, steam room).i would stay again.only shame early check-out at 11.00.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ales2878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay. As you point out it is important when using on line booking sites that you are clear the exact type of room that you are booking. Luckily most of our twin rooms can convert to kings sized doubles. Later check out can be arranged via reception usually there is a small fee , but if we are quiet we can occasionally offer this facility free of charge. Please ask us! If you are waiting for a later flight home, we are always happy to store luggage for you and you are welcome to use leisure club and bistro whilst you wait.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Great staff and modern room and fixtures. Plenty of room in the club room we were given as a free upgrade. Bistro has great food and good value for money over restaurant.
Only negative and a minor one was wifi signal was very weak and cell phones could not pick it up, but laptop was just ok. They do allow animals(dogs) as we heard one during the night, so could be a problem if you are allergic. They charge $5 pounds a night for the dog!

Room Tip: Club rooms are good for families rather than triple or family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for your comments. Complimentary upgrades to club rooms are available to all trip advisor users ( subject to availability) just mention it when booking. We have had real problems with our FREE WiFi system since the end of last year. We are installing a much more powerful router early next week which hopefully will solve the problems some guests have experienced.
We do allow guests to bring well behaved small pets. We do restrict the rooms used for accommodating as some carpets don’t react as well as others to dog hair! If a guest has an allergy it should not be an issue. First of all the charge for the pet pays for extra cleaning on departure so the room should be pet free and ready for a new guest. Guests with allergies can be allocated rooms that are not suited for pets, so that any issues will be minimal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, somerst
Level Contributor
158 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed for 3 nights over a weekend and chose the room only option as we don't eat large breakfasts. The room was larger than average and extremely clean and well serviced. There was a hospitality tray which adequate, but you could request alternative teas etc at reception for no extra cost. We ordered room service 2 nights from the Bistro menu (being too tired to return into town) and the food was tasty and above average portions. The reception staff were friendly, informative and helpful and the buses which stopped outside the hotel ran frequently to and from the city centre and were very good value compared to the taxis. If you are traveling to the airport you can catch the bus into town, do a short walk to the waverly station bridge and catch the blue flight link bus for £3.50 single or £6 return all of which is totally stress free!
I would definitely recommend Kings Manor Hotel if you are traveling to Edinburgh-you will be hard pushed to find a better hotel in this price range.

Room Tip: we missed the free upgrade offer to a club room, which were apparently lovely, but we were very plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glothorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thanks for the kind review we are delighted that the Kings Manor matched your needs. Don’t forget to mention trip advisor on your next visit to ensure an upgrade ( subject to availability).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We have just returned from a weekend stay at the Kings Manor Hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted by very welcoming and helpful reception staff. We were shown to our amazing rooms - we were upgraded to the new club rooms and were given an interconnecting room at no extra cost for our 2 children. What can I say these rooms were fantastic - beautifully furnished, comfortable beds, flat screen TVs and very spacious. We used the hotel pool which was lovely and ate at the bistro - the price of food and drink was very reasonable. The bus stop is just outside the hotel and the number 44 bus (every 10 minutes) goes into Edinburgh and is £2.60 return for an adult. The breakfast was plentiful and a very good selection. I have nothing negative I can say about this hotel - everything was perfect. We will definetly return in the future - thank you

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saby27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for your kind comments after your recent stay. Our interconnecting rooms are a great bonus for families, particularly with the play stations in the rooms. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siberian District, Russia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I and my wife stayed at this hotel for three nights and we really enjoyed it. The service was excellent and staff was very helpful. They always had some change to break notes for bus. Believe me, it's very important in Edinburgh. The room itself was fine, well furnished with comfortable bed, complementary kettle with tea, coffee and biscuits, but a little bit cold. We didn't read guest information folder attentively. You can always ask for a heater. Don't make our mistake. The second problem was the Wi-Fi signal strength, it was extremely poor. I had to walk all over the room with my smartphone looking for the signal, like a fisherman who is searching for a big fish. This problem is disappearing when you're moving close to the reception desk.
In general this hotel is very very good. It's major drawback is it's location. It takes 20-25 minutes to the city centre by bus. But on the other hand, it's quite and peaceful suburb. It takes only 7 minutes from beach and promenade; 10 minutes walking from a huge supermarket ASDA.
Stay at this hotel and you won't regret.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Begemoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. I am sorry that you found it cold, If you had checked with reception we could have seen if the radiator controls were adjusted properly , or in extreme case brought an extra heater. You comment about our WiFi signal is well made. We have a new Router going in over the next few days that should solve the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I went with my partner for the New Year period for 5 nights. It was one of the cheaper options on Expedia which is why my expectations weren't the highest. Upon arrival there was lots of car parking space so no stress there and all staff were extremely friendly. The room was massive and quite luxurious, I was certainly impressed from the off and all at a good price. The use of the swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi are all free to residents and we took advantage of this also - was brilliant. Also on site were a very nice looking restaurant (although we didn't eat there) and a nice relaxing bar (which we did use) with a good atmosphere. We were there for visiting family and exploring Edinburgh so seemed the ideal location. For going into Edinburgh centre there was a bus stop directly outside the hotel and a no. 44 bus comes very regularly and takes 15 mins to get to heart of the action. Costs £3.20 for all day hop on and off or just £1.30 for a single journey. If you're out late there are night buses also running until 4am so no trouble getting back. The hotel room contained lots of tourist information and bus times which was very useful. After the NYE celebrations again there were free night buses which again got us back to the hotel with no trouble at all . Staff were there to greet all guests again and wish us a happy new year. Really pleased with the hotel it far exceeded my expectations. I've never stayed at a Best Western before this one but I'll certainly return to this hotel and look out for Best Western's in other areas if they are all similar. Really pleased. Many thanks.

Room Tip: We had a 'club room' so not sure what the others are like but it was great and we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay over New Year. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us . I think our edge of town location is best enjoyed at this time in year where the city centre is chaotic and you can easily retreat to tranquilly at The Kings Manor using the excellent public transport system.
I hope that we can be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
4.9 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,480 reviews
7.2 mi away
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing