We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third Stay here - As good as ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #42 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Our third Stay here - As good as ever!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We spent three nights here recently and had a most enjoyable time. Staff as always went out of their way to be helpful. The hotel is about 4 miles from Edinburgh, but the bus service to the centre is excellent (No. 44). We had a Club room again, which is spacious and well appointed. This time, we spent most of our time in Edinburgh, so regrettably did not have time to use the Leisure centre!

Both meals we had in the Bistro were excellent and Breakfast was even better than before. The black pudding is the best I have tasted for years, and the sausages were excellent!

Free Wifi in the hotel is an added bonus.

Our booking was made through Classicbritain, who offer some excellent deals.

I suspect we will be back again....

Room Tip: Club rooms are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadioGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and your continued support. We have had a few not so great comments about breakfast and we are in the midst of looking at what we are offering and how we present it. We are trialling a few items such as haggis and tattie scones at the moment and we hope to have an upgraded buffet service with a wider range of teas/ coffees and pastries filtering in before the summer. We look forward to welcoming you back to see the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    456
    111
    23
    9
See reviews for
300
452
65
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake District,Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel last Feb '11 & had a great time,so we stayed here again this week.
When we booked,we asked for a Club room and were given Room No.80.
A very comfortable room with a large bed,brand new bathroom and it was very clean & fresh.
Lovely pristine white towels in the bathroom.This hotel has very good leisure facilities,if you have time you should try them out.(The pool is excellent).
The Breakfasts are very good,all the staff are pleasant & efficent.
The hotel is about 4 miles out of the city centre but there is a very frequent bus service.
Lothian & First bus companies run the 44 service that passes right outside the hotel.
A £1.40 single fare gets you to George street as Princes street is closed off at the moment due to major roadworks.A good tip is to buy a £3.50 day ticket if you need to pop back to the hotel to change and return to the city for dinner & drinks.
We would definately recommend this hotel as a perfect base to see all the delights that Edinburgh has to offer.
We will be staying here again the next time we visit Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Book a Club room because the are larger and have big beds and brand new bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scouserjat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel and some excellent tips to fellow travellers visiting the city
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

What a pleasant hotel! Lovely room for my single night stop over. It was only a flying visit and I was quite disappointed when looking to book a room in Edinburgh. The normal cheapo's, Travel lodge etc were asking for £80. The Kings Manor was only, an unbelievable £45.
I had a reunion to attend (booze up) at the City center, I got the bus right outside the Hotel and was in the City in about 15 minutes for £1.30.
I would have no hesitation in booking again and definitely recommend this Hotel. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbodmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I hope that we may be able to welcome you back for a longer stay at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Had an early booking for a Wedding and acquired the accommodation at a price I was not upset about.
Getting towards the day of arrival I was advised that the room availability time was three o'clock. I phoned to say I would like availability earlier and was advised £10 per hour! After some discussion this was reduced to £10 for early availability and that included a room upgrade, so that seemed reasonable!
I learned that this charge for room availability had so upset the organiser of the Bridal Party that they had cancelled the block booking for the Bridal Party. Does this surcharge and it's impososition make commercial sense? I think not.
Reception beyond reproach, duplicate keys offered, quick, smooth and very pleasant staff.
Room, clean and tidy and available as requested, large comfortable bed, outlook a bit industrial but that would be difficult to improve!
Breakfast, somewhat plain and uninteresting, with iced orange juice spending too much time on the cool cabinet. No complaints, the black pudding was a little crisp on the outside, too much time in the Bain Marie. Less than a mile away was one of Edinburgh's premier fish merchants with a huge selection of fresh fish and shellfish, but where was this on the menu, where were the kippers? where was the imaginative menu for a good hotel in Scotland's capital city.
Sunday saw us eating a lunch time snack in the Bistro, ordered a ciabatta and received a panini, they did offer to replace it! That apart all seemed well up to standard for the party of 6 including two children.
In summary, good hotel would recommend for the accommodation, but let us have a bit more imagination displayed and give the clients an experience to remember.
Phoned to request accommodation during Easter holidays at the same same rate as was paid over this weekend and after a little haggling our loyalty was rewarded by charging the same rate for the stay. Well done.
In conclusion, handy for bus routes to Edinburgh and all it's attractions, thinking of visiting Edinburgh? Add this to your list of places to stay!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caravanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post the review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
With regard to your comment regarding fish for breakfast. We offer local kippers and poached smoked haddock as options for breakfast. These items are listed along with other ‘cook to order items’ such as poached eggs and boiled eggs on our breakfast menus. On investigating your comment it became obvious that menus were not always being put out on all tables every morning. This has now been addressed so hopefully on your next visit you will be able to enjoy a taste of the sea for breakfast.
Your comments regarding early check-in equally well apply to guests requiring a late check-out. We always try to accommodate guests requests whenever possible and if a guest requests an early check-in we offer two alternatives. One where we try, within normal resources to get a room ready for the expected arrival time. This service does not guarantee that the room will be ready as it relies on the previous occupant leaving fairly sharply, getting access to the room in good time, and not to many people requesting an early arrival on the same day. If the room is not ready we can store luggage for guests and they are of course able to make full use of the leisure facilities should they so wish , whilst the room is prepared.
Secondly if early access to the room is vital to the guests stay, for example to get dressed for a wedding or to prepare work for a meeting we offer a guaranteed room ready service. This is a total guarantee that if you want a room for 12 noon it will be ready for 12 noon- guaranteed! For this service there is ,as you say a charge. The charge allows us to pull in extra staff from other areas of the hotel to work on the guaranteed early arrivals, on occasion to bring in extra staff altogether. This obviously costs us money to do, so we make a small charge to supplement our extra costs. Many of our guests , in particular wedding guests enjoy the peace of mind that this guarantee offers and it works well for them. Others who want just to come to the hotel , their bases for their short break, and leave , luggage, cars or just use the pool but are not desperate to use the room are happy to request and early arrival safe in the knowledge that we will do our best, without a guarantee.
We have offered this choice for several years now and most guests appear to be happy with having the choice
I hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Three nights in Kings Manor, cannot fault it, better than most of the more expensive hotels closer to the city centre. Above all the Staff were quite outstanding; extremely helpful and genuinely friendly. I could not recommend it more strongly and from now on it is my hotel of choice on my frequent visits to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: No lift to some first floor rooms if you have heavy luggage or are less sprightly than you used to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MH542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for your kind review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. You are right to point out that a section of the hotel is not accessible by either of our lifts. We try to avoid allocating these rooms with any known mobility problems. There is always assistance available with luggage from reception we are delighted to help any guest that needs assistance. These rooms are compensated by their south facing views over the tennis court to the Lammermuir Hills to the south
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just had the weekend in Edinburgh. Lovely city. Bus 44 stops right outside the hotel from the city centre (from george street). We had a family room which was huge (room 253) and were booked in on a B+ B basis.
Breakfast was buffet style - not the widest range of hot food but still good enough. Staff were really helpful - even knocked on my door to give me a birthday card! Can play games and DVDs on playstation in the room (which is free). My partner and 5 yo son used the swimming pool- although she said it was a bit cold- had no complaints about.
Had lots of tourist info and free access to the internet. All in all really good value.
Other bits - worth getting a day trip bus pass (£3.30 for any bus up to midnight) and they run every 10 mins (honest). We used the lockers at the bus station for 1st and last day which were much cheaper than those at the train st.
All in all we had a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: 253 good family room with view if the sea. Nice and quiet at the back of the hotel and next to the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feelnoball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back in the near future. Bus fares are just going up but £3.50 is still a great deal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Excellent location, price, and amenities!! Superb customer service throughout our stay particularly from Robert on front desk. Nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flodobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. I am sure that Robert will be delighted to see his name on tripadvisor. I hope that we can welcome you back at some future date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
4.9 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,502 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
7.2 mi away
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#92 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing