We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet hotel in nice area of edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #41 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“quiet hotel in nice area of edinburgh”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed 2 nights this week at this Best Western hotel along with my sister in law and a mutual friend. We were in Edinburgh to see The Lion King show and wanted to stay somewhere quiet but not too far from the city centre. This hotel was recommended to us by a relative and it certainly met with our expectations. Even though there were 3 single beds in our room it still felt spacious. The beds were very comfy and the bathroom lovely and modern. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning and really enjoyed our evening meals. The chef was a wizard as we all tried different things and agreed that every morsel was to die for and we can recommend the house Rose wine- delicious. Every member of staff was friendly and helpful including the attendant at the pool. If we go back to Edinburgh we will definitely stay at this hotel and I have already recommended the hotel to other relatives. If you travel by bus or train there is an excellent public bus service which takes about 20 minutes from Princes Street and stops right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: We were in a ground floor room at the back of the hotel and it was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELAINE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, I hope that you enjoyed the show as well and we can welcome you back for another theatrical weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    455
    109
    23
    9
See reviews for
297
448
65
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AYRSHIRE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just had a family weekend at this very friendly hotel. We had 2 club rooms which were fantastic, one double and one family room. The rooms were lovely, very large and modern. Managed to check in at 12 and could have kept this until 2 because of the deal through hotel conditions. Staff were all very polite and helpful. Leisure facilities were good, very clean. The breakfast was lovely and served until 1030 which was great. Menu for dinner was reasonably priced and sounded nice but we had planned to eat in Edinburgh after the theatre. We always stay out of the city to avoid driving in the busy roads and not having to pay expensive car parking. There is a bus stop outside the hotel, cost s £7.50 or a family of 3 for a day ticket, journey was about 25 minutes going in and only around 15 minutes on the way back home when the roads were quieter. Spent the sunny Sunday walking along portobello beach before heading to leith shopping centre. Would defiantly stay here again. It was my mums birthday and there was lovely chocolates and a card in the room, lovely touch, thank you!

Room Tip: Book a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AYRSHIREBOYDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We are delighted that you chose to celebrate your mums birthday with us and you had a chance to take in the lovely walk along Portobello promenade certainly one of the city’s ‘hidden gems’. The New Family Day Tickets from Lothian busses make it so easy for families to travel all round the city for very little cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 Nights in October. Room was small but tidy with what we needed although we both found the bed extremely hard and uncomfortable. Reception Staff were Very helpful, they directed us to the correct transport and always seemed chatty :)

The swimming pool with sauna, steam room, Spa tub was nice to relax in after walking around edinburgh town. Water could be more heated though.

We ate in the hotel on our first night as we were unsure of where to go etc but it was a pleasant meal.
We didnt purchase bed and breakfast when booking but we did pay for breakfast on our visit. We decided it what rather pricey for what you get but didnt have alot of option unless you left the hotel early to find somewhere else.

overall we had a lovely trip to the city and would definately return. there are so many things to do and just not enough time. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammie_Jayne09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for posting a review. I am sorry to hear that the mattress did not suit you. Its unfortunate that you did not let us know at the time we could have checked it for faults or offered you another room. We are currently replacing some 70 mattresses and beds as part of our continuing maintenance and upgrading.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed here one night on business. Everything is spotlessly clean, and immaculate. Lovely big swimming pool with jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. Nice spacious changing rooms.

Staff are all very friendly and helpful.

Good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJMScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for very brief and very kind review of your recent stay. I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chingford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed for three nights with family and friends for my wifes 60th Birthday party.We had a party in the Lothian suite on the Saturday night which was catered for by the hotel and done extremely well. Staff very friendly and obliging considering we were such a big crowd, Spa and swimming pool was also very good. Rooms excellant.
Overall a very good hotel with good links to Edinburgh and we will definitely be coming back again in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garyo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay in connection with your friends birthday celebrations. We are delighted that you enjoy your stay and hope that you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
4.9 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,481 reviews
7.2 mi away
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing