We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #41 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value choice”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just spent the night there following on from a sports event at Pffermill sports ground. Booked cheaply online and wasn't disappointed. A mixture of different buildings makes the hotel a bit of a warren of corridors but the room it self was large, double bed, tv , chairs, tea and coffee and a separate bathroom.

Corridors look a little tired, but room more than makes up for it.

Health centre by Nuffield has a great pool, sauna, steamroom and jacuzzi and it was nice way to relax after the sport!

Beer prices not bad for hotel, breakfast was £12 but prepare £10 for a voucher, and the buffet was ok, fairly standard stuff, nothing to complain about was just average.

Taxis to edinburgh centre, around £14.

Room Tip: 117 next to fire exit stairs and lift, but heard no noise. I believe some rooms have shower only if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us and we fitted the bill for your sporty break.
Just to clarify that we have only two rooms with shower only, one of which is our wheelchair adapted room with a roll in shower. We also have one room with separate bath and shower all other rooms have the familiar shower over bath set up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    455
    108
    23
    9
See reviews for
296
448
65
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Great place to stay, near centre Edinburgh - with the bus. Busstop (bus 4) to centre (princess street) next to hotel.

Tips: Restaurant Rosehip, in Rose Street. One reason I will definitely go back to Edinburgh.Deserts are so delicious.

If you take the bus and you buy your ticket at the bus. You need to have the exact amount of money. They can't change

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs Mandy -
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. Just to clarify its the number 44 bus to city centre. As you say, pay on the bus with exact change, either single trip or day pas. Day passes are also available from reception – we will give you change!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Fast wifi, clean rooms, excellent service! One waitress even specially made me hot cocoa, even though it wasn't on our group list! The staff were helpful with taxi info and the food and drinks were good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Delighted that you enjoyed the cocoa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed for 4 nights along with 20 other (elderly) people on a coach trip. The organisation and service at this hotel really stood out compared to other places I have stayed. As soon as we arrived our cases were taken straight up to our rooms before we new it! The hotel felt like 'home from home' with staff attending to our every need with a smile. Nothing was too much trouble we only had to ask. This made us feel valued as individual customers, even though we were part of a large group. We ate together in the restaurant and were all very surprised by the choice, quality of produce used & size of the portions. It was clear that this hotel works towards offering good honest value for money & customer satisfaction. The hotel is a few miles out of the City Centre which makes it more affordable, and is on a main bus route with regular buses into Princess Street.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catfish465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay. We were delighted that your tour company chose to stay with us and even more delighted that you and your fellow travellers enjoyed their few days with us. We hope that you will be able to return to stay with at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here for my husbands birthday treat. It had everything we needed - our room was large, very clean, comfortable and well equipped. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the Bistro which was very good and a good price. The breakfast was extremely good and we had haggis for the first time! We used the pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna which were all well maintained and never busy ( most people in the pool was 6!) the location of the hotel is ideal as we walked to the beach in 15 minutes, but by catching the bus which stops straight outside we were in Edinburgh in 20 minutes at a cost of £1.50 each. Will definitely be back, with friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your Kind review We are delighted that The Kings Manor ‘fitted the bill’ for your short break and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Kings Manor. The beds were very comfortable and the room was very quiet and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
The breakfast buffet contained a nice selection of cold and hot food.
The only issue was the additions to the hotel made the hallways and location of the elevator a little confusing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6MGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. With the addition of a third elevator in the building we are looking at revising all signage in that part of the building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
4.9 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,480 reviews
7.2 mi away
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing