We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #48 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Lovely hotel, well maintained. Spacious rooms. Good food and friendly staff. Wifi works really well everywhere. Buffet breakfast was hot - a rarity in my experience - but here the plates are hot & the food kept covered so it all stays hot. We had a meal in the bistro and were really impressed at the quality and low prices. Hotel provides fresh milk and ice without any fuss.
Hotel provides a high level of information about the surrounding area, bus timetables, maps etc. which we found really useful. Buses to Edinburgh stop outside the hotel and it only takes about 20 mins to reach Princes St. We went everywhere by bus, including visiting Musselburgh with it's picturesque harbour and lovely beach.
Hotel is making a big effort to be environmentally aware which was good to see such as providing a power off switch for the tv so it's not left on standby.
Leisure club was fab. I used the pool, steam room,sauna & jacuzzi.
Staff were really helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. I noticed two young trainees on reception during our stay. It is good to see a business putting the effort into training up young people.

Room Tip: We had a Club Room - very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TuesdayChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Why is room 3-- on the second floor? When you ask the staff, they get very up-set. Why does a Scottish bar maid talk like she is from Rome? No way to adjust your room tempter? Staff looks like deer in the headlights! I home tomorrow is better than today!

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank I-84OnTheRoadAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your interesting review. You question the numbering of the rooms 301 to 311, in fact these rooms are on the first floor, that’s the floor above the ground floor (The ground floor being the floor at ground level). I understand that some parts of the world insist on calling the floor above the ground floor, as the second floor , but we and, I believe the other 400 million people in Europe and in most of the world, call it the first floor. I am sure that these quaint customs enhance your enjoyment of your travel experience. I would propose that what you saw as staff being ‘upset’ at being asked about room numbering may in fact merely been uncertainty over why the question was asked, and how to answer it, and not part of the ‘great room numbering conspiracy’.
All rooms have client controlled heating systems full instructions as to switch it on or off and adjust temperature levels were in the room information booklets in the rooms or available by asking any member of staff.
Not all staff are born and bred in Scotland. We are fortunate to have staff who originate from 9 different countries, All customer facing staff have English language to a high level. We have never tried to get people to loose their natural accents and would be resistant to try to do so. Again most of our guests find this to be another feature of learning by foreign travel. I am sorry if all staff did not speak with West Coast, Weegie, Borders, Doric, Islander or Gaelic accents, but they just don’t!
I hope that you found other hotels that more closely matched your vision of how we should present ourselves to you. Haste ye back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The weather was not so good in edinburgh but that was the only downside. My party of 9 ladies had the best time in the hotel, food, accommadation, leisure facilities and all the staff in the hotel could not have been better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post the review of your recent stay with us. Hopefully we can get the weather more to your liking on a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Excellent customer service and food and a very comfortable stay. I was in a newly refurbished Club Room, which was plush and spacious and made a business trip a pleasure. I didn't get to use the swimming pool or gym, but if I have the pleasure to stay again I'd be sure to have my sports gear with me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Rubidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your review. Its a shame that you did not have time to fully experience our leisure club, maybe next time ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank gordon f
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed just one night at this hote3l at the start of a sponsored bike ride from Edinburgh to Peterborough. It was good value for money, the rooms were a good size, beds comfortable and the showers were hot and powerful. Breakfast was plentiful and good to eat. All in all a very good stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gnasher8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Congratulations on your recent bike run to Peteborough, I hope that you have recovered from it and we can welcome you back when you are not so pressured for time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Reasonable priced hotel on the outskirts of the town with plenty of parking, great leisure centre, good food choices, reliable internet and comfortable rooms. What more do you need if you want to visit places in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your kind and concise review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#97 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#75 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,318 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#112 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £49 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing