We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #42 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    456
    111
    23
    9
See reviews for
300
452
65
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This is an older property, has no air conditioning, rude staff and generally just needing a major remodel. I was very disappointed, slept horrible due to poor air flow and just found it to be unpleasant.

The one shinning note was departure went well.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dbtogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us. It is obvious that we were a property that you should not have chosen to stay at, and we did not meet many , if any, of your needs. It is singularly disappointing to have a comment regarding rude staff. As you will see from your fellow reviewers we are generally complemented on our staffs efficiency, courteousness and friendliness. Its unfortunate that you did not draw our management teams attention to the staff responsible so we could have dealt with it at the time. If you wished to contact me with details of the staff that you had issues with I will look further into the situation.
The original hotel was built around 1840. Several parts have been added over the years, with 30 new rooms added 8 years ago. We spend an average of over £300 000 on repairs and renewals each year to keep the keep the hotel up to standard. This does not include the cost of new extensions or buildings.
You were fortunate to stay with us on a rare hot sunny day. On such days air conditioning would indeed be useful in all rooms . Unfortunately for the other 360 days a year, that are not hot and sunny, it would be a waste of money. We prefer to invest in redecorations, upgraded televisions, new furnishings etc which are a benefit to our guests 365 days a year. We do have air conditioning in all public areas including the leisure club where the heat of activities and people make air conditioning a more regular requirement.
I hope that other hotels on your trip were more up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is a superb hotel. My husband and I had a wonderful few days here. The food is excellent and our room was spotlessly clean (we were in a club room which was huge and the bed was very comfortable). All the staff (especially the waiting staff) were very friendly and efficient. An added bonus is that we were allowed to take our little Jack Russell dog with us for a small fee. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review we are delighted that both you, and your Jack Russell , enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here for a night.. absolutely comfortable bed. The bedroom and the bathroom were a bit small but absolutely spotless. One of the cleanest i have seen. breakfast was great as well, but thought the juices were too watery. The dinner service was efficient and my wife loved the Cajun Pork Chop but my beer battered Haddock was not very impressive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUBIN_SUBHASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the beer battered haddock it is one of our most popular dishes, and has been for several years. I hope that you find something more to your taste on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were made so welcome by the friendly and very helpful staff, they made us feel so relaxed as we walked through the door. They couldn't do enough to ensure our stay and indeed our whole trip was the best it could be, even remembered where we were going and asked us about it the following day.
The rooms are excellent, well maintained, clean and spacious. The food was outstanding and very fresh and tasty. The spa, was also excellent, again with very friendly and helpful staff. We can't wait to go back to this hotel and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valerie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for posting such a positive review . It great to hear that our front desk staff’s genuine interest in our guests is noted. We hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTH LANARKSHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The food and service at this hotel is out of this world. Staff go out of their way to be helpful when you need more information regarding the food that is on the menu and also point out the specials of the day. Excellent place to dine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRYCE09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our food service team. It is great to hear such positive comments of our sometimes overlooked colleagues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We booked our stay through Expedia including flights. We got very good value for money, and ended up in a club room with a huge bed! The facilities were clean, with a nice restaurant and bar. Hotel guests can use the spa next door free of charge too, which was lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Just to emphasise that the Spa ’next door’ is owned by the hotel but run for us by health and fitness experts ‘Nuffield’.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
4.9 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,502 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
7.2 mi away
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#92 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing