We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #45 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have stayed 2nd time. And maybe come back in the future. Hotel is nice. It has very good leisure facilities. It looks like that temperature of water in the pool depends of time and a number of people in it. In another Best Western hotel in Lake District the temperature of the water was much warmer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnatoliZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post the review of your recent stay.
The pool temperature is kept at a constant temperature by a system of pumps, dosing units and boilers that I don’t fully understand! The temperature is designed for ‘leisure swimming’. That temperature is lower that the temperature that a ‘leisure pool’ would be. Anyone trying to do 20 or 30 laps in leisure pool temperatures will soon overheat, whereas anyone who is just enjoying a quiet moment in a pool heated for ‘leisure swimming’ will find it cool. Best option if you are felling cool is to have a few minutes in the spa bath, sauna or steam room. That will soon warm you up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

681 - 687 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

We were happy with our stay at the Kings Manor. It was very reasonably priced hotel on the outskirts of the town with plenty of parking and an absolutely wonderful leisure centre. Our family really enjoyed the pool, it was not crowded and water was warm compared to our pools we have visited.

Quiet, clean and comfortable rooms with towel warmers in the bathroom.

The hotel was within a 5 minute walk of several bus stops. This made it very easy to jump on the bus and travel downtown. The trip took about 30 minutes.

Also, we discovered the Asda grocery store was within walking distance, about 15 minutes walk. This was very convenient for snacks, etc.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carrieAkron_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to post your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I just can't compliment this hotel enough. In the US, Best Westerns can sometimes be marginal. This one was phenomenal. Staff bent over backward to accommodate a family of five. So helpful. Located right on bus route into city center, and hotel could provide all-day passes. We were able to drop our car there in the morning before we checked in, and they took care of our luggage without any fuss, even though we were morning arrivals. Hotel restaurant food wasn't gourmet but sure hit the spot with everyone after a long day in town. Easy access in and out of the motorway, as well. Great place! Perfect family stay in E-burgh.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. Best Western hotels are all individually owned and each countries hotels reflects the style of hotel of that country. It certainly would be a bit odd to have a Motel style of hotel in Edinburgh of the style popular in the USA.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you try some more BW properties on your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A return visit here for us and will most likely return next year! Reception staff went out of their way to please, room huge and a very large comfortable bed. Position ideal if wanting a city stay plus dog as well.
Ate in the bar first night and my only criticism would be of oversized portion., we could have shared the fish and still had plenty. As the hotel are keen on green credentials perhaps it would be good to introduce a "small" serving as one piece would surely be enough for alot of folk.
Breakfast good and we were always on the late side having swum and dog walked first, a plus is to order the fish which is prepared to order.
We thoroughly enjoyed again- Thank You

Room Tip: Worth having a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your very kind comments. I will raise your comment regarding the size of portions with my colleagues. Unfortunately the size of the fish portion is to a large extent by the size of the fish available from the market. We are never keen to cut fish in half or cut a quarter of it, but if it is an issue with guests we will certainly look at it as an option.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank maryandcolin25
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This is an older property, has no air conditioning, rude staff and generally just needing a major remodel. I was very disappointed, slept horrible due to poor air flow and just found it to be unpleasant.

The one shinning note was departure went well.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Dbtogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us. It is obvious that we were a property that you should not have chosen to stay at, and we did not meet many , if any, of your needs. It is singularly disappointing to have a comment regarding rude staff. As you will see from your fellow reviewers we are generally complemented on our staffs efficiency, courteousness and friendliness. Its unfortunate that you did not draw our management teams attention to the staff responsible so we could have dealt with it at the time. If you wished to contact me with details of the staff that you had issues with I will look further into the situation.
The original hotel was built around 1840. Several parts have been added over the years, with 30 new rooms added 8 years ago. We spend an average of over £300 000 on repairs and renewals each year to keep the keep the hotel up to standard. This does not include the cost of new extensions or buildings.
You were fortunate to stay with us on a rare hot sunny day. On such days air conditioning would indeed be useful in all rooms . Unfortunately for the other 360 days a year, that are not hot and sunny, it would be a waste of money. We prefer to invest in redecorations, upgraded televisions, new furnishings etc which are a benefit to our guests 365 days a year. We do have air conditioning in all public areas including the leisure club where the heat of activities and people make air conditioning a more regular requirement.
I hope that other hotels on your trip were more up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is a superb hotel. My husband and I had a wonderful few days here. The food is excellent and our room was spotlessly clean (we were in a club room which was huge and the bed was very comfortable). All the staff (especially the waiting staff) were very friendly and efficient. An added bonus is that we were allowed to take our little Jack Russell dog with us for a small fee. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review we are delighted that both you, and your Jack Russell , enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,598 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#95 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#76 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,293 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#109 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £49 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing