We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #41 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Happy”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed with my daughter just few days ago.
I thought that the hotel was very good for location, service and quality.
I slept very well, the room was clean and so was the bathroom.
I will use it again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gioinharrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your very succinct review of your stay,. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    452
    108
    23
    8
See reviews for
294
446
65
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salina, Malta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very friendly receptionist on check-in and check-out. We were only there for one night, but the room was spacious and comfortable. Nice breakfast in the morning. We had dinner at the bistro which was quite good, pity they couldn't serve coffee after 10pm as they had cleaned the machine for the night!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irgam89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Sorry about the mix up with your coffee there was an issue with the machine so they started the cleaning early. Someone should have offered to get you coffee from the restaurant machine. Sorry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I'm actually in the middle of my nights stay and I'm already writing a review! I arrived around 5pm, entered my room to find the previous occupiers bottled water, sweets and other confectionery scattered around the room - I then went into the bathroom to find wet towels!! When the porter visited to remove this I didn't feel any real apology, quite the opposite I felt blame! I then went to options restaurant - as a vegetarian I ordered a pasta, which was average but then discovered what looked like chicken, when I pointed this out I was told it was quorn, definitely quorn! Why I asked as it wasn't in the menu description? A mistake by a new chef I was told - not a convincing response I think it was chicken, again no real acceptance of doing anything wrong - also charged me full price! It's a shame as the room is nice but already just want to checkout:-(

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to post your review following you stay with us. There was as you point out, an issue with your room not being correctly serviced prior to your arrival. In fact two separate levels of checks failed to spot the error until it was to late and you had arrived, I think we were so shocked that this had happened, and concerned to see how it had happened, that we failed miserably to deal with the main issue, that of course being you, the customer, and the fact that you had a disappointing start to your stay. We allocated our porter to dealing with serving the room whilst the rest of us looked at what had gone wrong, and continued looking at the compiling errors that meant that room was not serviced properly. We should have obviously spent more time in apologising to you, I do this now , if somewhat belatedly.
Your pasta dish was described as ‘Roast Mediterranean Vegetable with Pesto Sauce’, I can only think that the chef got it slightly confused with its predecessor on the menu ‘Roast Vegetable and Quorn Pasta!’ . Again another mystery as to how such an error was made and one that you are undoubtedly due another apology for!
We do hope that you try us again at a future date where you will see that such errors are not common place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is quite an old hotel, and had by far the smallest bed we had slept in on our travels through Scotland. That said the room was good. It was a really friendly place to stay . We ate in lauders restaurant and in the Bistro on site, and both were good. It is a maze of corridors, fun to find our way around. A bus runs from just outside into Edinburgh, but this is far enough away from the city to be a pleasant place to stay. I have no problems with it being slightly old, and we really enjoyed staying here. Breakfast was buffet style and very good. Would stay there again (but not too sure I want to visit Edinburgh again, having been several times!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. All our double beds are either Queen or King size beds , all single beds as standard 2 metre by 1 metre beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Have just returned from my first beauty treatment at the Fountain Spa with Heather, felt as though I had known her for some time with her friendliness and extremely professional manner. Well done! Will be returning. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alibro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your report on your beauty treatment, I am delighted that the quality of the treatment was matched by the friendliness of the service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in April 2014,we found the staff to be helpful and friendly but the hotel position was far from any thing except a small shopping centre about 20 min walk as we were on a coach tour we were restricted on where we could go. The hotel is old and needs to be refurbished from the outside it looks old and as if more of the hotel had been added on as time went by, the wifi did not work on the 2nd floor despite the staff assuring me it would so had to foyer to get a signal, found the elevator after the staff directed us to our room via the stairs. probably would stay else ware next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your stay in April. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay despite a few reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The staff here really made the place. Helpful lasses at check in always make things easy.

The main thing that got me off to an angry start was arriving in my rom to find two single beds when I'd clearly booked a double. Lots of hotels think they can get away with this lately which is getting on my nerves.
I asked the girls the quickest way to Porto beach to go for a run and asked if they'd find me a double bed and move my things whilst I was away. They did so sorted.

Other good points
-The gym and pool are great. Good size and lots of kit to play with
-Nice terrace outside of hotel if it's sunny
-TV channels have BT sport!

Where you really need to improve
-WIFI is terrible. Had to use my 3G phone to do work after an hour of trying
-Beds are springy and feel cheap mattresses. Way below expectations of today
-Terrible cheap washing / bathroom stuff

Would I stay again? Nope.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Basurq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay.
Many of our guests choose to book with us via on line booking agencies in the mistaken understanding that they may be cheaper than buying direct. This is never the case and it has the very bad consequence of us not being able to contact guests before they are as these agents don’t usually give us your contact details. Any questions we have about the type of room twin or double or any aspect of your stay we have to guess and hope to rectify at check in, never the best way to start a stay. May I suggest if you are booking through an agency that you take a few minutes to double check with the hotel before you arrive to ensure that the hotel has the correct details of your booking. As you suggest changing a twin to a double on arrival is usually not an issue but it is an annoyance. No hotel would ever try to put you in a twin instead of a double as a matter of policy it makes no sense, even down to costs, its cheaper to launder two double sheets than 4 singles! As you suggest that this seems to be more prevalent in a number of hotels, I would suggest a quick contact to the hotel before your arrival would help everyone concerned.
Wifi remains one of the great unsolved mysteries of the hotel. It works really well for ages then it just refuses to work at any speed without being rebooted. We have had ‘experts’ looking at it, new equipment put in, extra node points installed and it still has issues. Normally these are solved by a quick reboot of the system. Its unfortunate that you did not let us know and we probably could have solved the issue for you.
Beds and Mattresses’ are top level contract furnishings, all being replaced every 12 to 18 months.
The bathroom soaps and shampoos are provided by Gaskill and Soames which are recognised as quality toiletry providers.
I am sorry that we did not match your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#21 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#94 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing