We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #42 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,279)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 1,280 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night after a wedding at Portobello area ! We found the staff very friendly and helpful( I emailed Dawn slot to organise our stay and she was very efficient!!)
The breakfast was plentiful and good quality unfortunately hangover prevented me tucking in but enjoyed what I had!
Again hangover prevented my planned swim in the morning !
I would definitely recommend this hotel !!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank gail s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that the hotel played a part in your enjoyment of the wedding. I hope that we can welcome you back for a swim and a full breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great place to stay, just outside the city. Hotel is clean, friendly and well placed for access to the city or the coast. Great rooms and value for money. I have stayed there twice and enjoyed both visits. Couldn't get an appointment at the spa, so book early, but the pool and steam room are great, as is the Bistro for meals.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonS32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your latest stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We always suggest if you are looking for a spa treatment, particularly at weekends, book the time when you book the room. You can decide on what treatment you want later but at least you will have a therapist booked to do the treatment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel. Pleasant staff, nice rooms (although some better than others!) but this visit the food was nowhere near the level I've experienced previously here. Sort it out!! It's obviously a new chef or a lazy existing one!!
Great hotel, great location, great staff. Food has room for improvement xxxxx

Stayed: July 2014
Thank TheRascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for posting your comments I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us but obviously disappointed to hear that the food was not up to your expectations.
Perhaps you could find time to contact one of our management team to help us identify where problems may lie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed with my daughter just few days ago.
I thought that the hotel was very good for location, service and quality.
I slept very well, the room was clean and so was the bathroom.
I will use it again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gioinharrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your very succinct review of your stay,. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very friendly receptionist on check-in and check-out. We were only there for one night, but the room was spacious and comfortable. Nice breakfast in the morning. We had dinner at the bistro which was quite good, pity they couldn't serve coffee after 10pm as they had cleaned the machine for the night!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irgam89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. Sorry about the mix up with your coffee there was an issue with the machine so they started the cleaning early. Someone should have offered to get you coffee from the restaurant machine. Sorry!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I'm actually in the middle of my nights stay and I'm already writing a review! I arrived around 5pm, entered my room to find the previous occupiers bottled water, sweets and other confectionery scattered around the room - I then went into the bathroom to find wet towels!! When the porter visited to remove this I didn't feel any real apology, quite the opposite I felt blame! I then went to options restaurant - as a vegetarian I ordered a pasta, which was average but then discovered what looked like chicken, when I pointed this out I was told it was quorn, definitely quorn! Why I asked as it wasn't in the menu description? A mistake by a new chef I was told - not a convincing response I think it was chicken, again no real acceptance of doing anything wrong - also charged me full price! It's a shame as the room is nice but already just want to checkout:-(

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to post your review following you stay with us. There was as you point out, an issue with your room not being correctly serviced prior to your arrival. In fact two separate levels of checks failed to spot the error until it was to late and you had arrived, I think we were so shocked that this had happened, and concerned to see how it had happened, that we failed miserably to deal with the main issue, that of course being you, the customer, and the fact that you had a disappointing start to your stay. We allocated our porter to dealing with serving the room whilst the rest of us looked at what had gone wrong, and continued looking at the compiling errors that meant that room was not serviced properly. We should have obviously spent more time in apologising to you, I do this now , if somewhat belatedly.
Your pasta dish was described as ‘Roast Mediterranean Vegetable with Pesto Sauce’, I can only think that the chef got it slightly confused with its predecessor on the menu ‘Roast Vegetable and Quorn Pasta!’ . Again another mystery as to how such an error was made and one that you are undoubtedly due another apology for!
We do hope that you try us again at a future date where you will see that such errors are not common place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,558 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £59 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing