We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but needs air conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #41 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but needs air conditioning”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Lovely hotel, pool excellent, as is other fitness facilities. Ate in the restaurant one evening, very, very nice. Staff were lovely, especially in the restaurant.

Wifi excellent.

Shower pressure not the best but there are baths too.

Biggest complaint was the temperature of the bedroom - yes, it was warm outside but the temperature in our room was hotter than the temperature in reception. We were provided with a fan, but ideally a hotel company such as Best Western should have air con in rooms.

Would stay again though!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank aerofine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel
Unfortunately the number of days a year that air conditioning would be a benefit to our guests does not, at the moment, justify the huge expense. We will certainly keep it in mind for our next major refurbishment of rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    455
    108
    23
    9
See reviews for
296
448
65
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed for 1 night to be near required location early next morning so did not have the breakfast. Friendly helpful staff, very good leisure facilities, spacious and clean room, good bar snacks - overall very good value, will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments following your stay. I am delighted that everything met your approval and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Firstly, good points - spacious bedroom, clean and very comfy bed, friendly staff. Bad points - small bathroom with a sink that had a dodgy plug. The water started to drain away as soon as you filled it up. Despite asking on two separate occasions for this to be remedied, the problem remained unresolved (during a stay of four nights). The breakfast was extra and for £12.50 did not live up to expectations. For example, pain on chocolat appeared on the menu........but not on the buffet, except on one occasion. And don't get me started on the rubber eggs. Fried and left to harden nicely under hot lamps. So I'm sorry to say that the niggles outweighed the nice touches, like the well prepared bus & train timetables and the free loan of umbrellas. Unlikely to be returning on my next visit to a Edinburgh.

Green Features: They have notices up relating to this and ask customers to play their part. What's the point of that, when you need to keep the tap running in order to keep up the level of water in the sink? If you're seriously committed, fix the blooming plug!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exbelfastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post the review of your stay. We are delighted that you found the rooms comfortable.
I am unable to find a reason as to why your issue with a plug was not resolved during your stay. I have checked our maintenance faults diary and , assuming that I have identified the correct room that you were in, I have just checked and the fault seems to have been fixed, not that this is much comfort to yourself at this late stage. You are quite right that wasting water is one of the most inefficient thing we can do to damage our ‘green credentials’ not only is the water wasted but the energy to heat it as well.
I am sorry that you had to suffer this inconvenience.
Full breakfast , if bought at time of booking, can be had for less than £7. We offer pre purchase vouchers selling breakfast at £10 if bought by 9pm the night before.
Most of our standard breakfast items are served buffet style and there is no denying that fried eggs are by far the worse items in terms of keeping hot and edible. As it says on the menus, we are happy to cook freshly any items on the menu to your taste, it just takes a few minutes.
Sorry we could not persuade you to use our services again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here in June of this year for a weekend away.
We were in a club room, which was gorgeous, lovely bed and pillows, nice selection of beverages and was a very quiet room.
The breakfast was very well set out, the cold buffet wasn't always full but the hot was and wasn't dry.
The fact you can use the pool and other facilities when you stay is a big bonus.
The only downside is the location and that you have to pay about 4 pound to get to town and if you don't have the right change for the bus, then your not getting on.

Room Tip: club rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrekandfiona11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Bus fare to the city centre is £1.50 for adults. As you say you need exact change for all buses. You can purchase day tickets at reception for £3.50 that allow you to hop on and off all buses all day , and we do give change!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were 10 men on a golfing trip , the breakfast , rooms , serviice was fine however the bar shuts at 1045pm which is not acceptable in a city centre , you can drink in the foyer which is not as comfortable or have the TV facilities - the only disappointing part of our stay - although probably helped with the quality of the morning golf

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank davidbD5803OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Than you for your review. We often are able to extend our bar opening times if demand warrants it. Unfortunately since the bar has no shutters we cannot offer drinks service without full time bar attendance. At least the golf showed positive signs if not our bar till!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed for one night, I know Edinburgh very well as I was born there. The hotel had all the amenities I needed. I was able to bring my dog, and got parked right outside the door. Not possible in the city centre! I personally didn't use the gym/pool, but could have done as part of the deal. I also chose to use public transport while I was there, great value too, and so convenient. This hotel is not in the city centre, but don't overlook it as an option, it's a wee gem.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for the kind review of your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A very smart and clean hotel serving a great breakfast with a decent variety of cold or cooked food made to order and good to eat unlike other Hotel Resteraunts.
The rooms are spacious and the bathroom also has decent space.
The staff were excellent and looked into any problem or request asked of them.
Yes will stay their again!
The pool was an added bonus for my wife and I.

Room Tip: After three visits they were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lasvegas696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Owner at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for the kind review of your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
4.9 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,480 reviews
7.2 mi away
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing