We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #39 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We spent one night in a family club room with our two young children. The service from the staff was outstanding for a chain hotel, especially Robert on reception who made us all feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The room was spotless and very roomy with two large King beds and a seating area. Breakfast was a tad disappointing with the staff seeming a bit stressed at the swarming coach party. Bacon steamed rather than crispy and scrambled eggs solid , usual mass produced hotel breakfast. However we felt this place was a cut above the usual four star chains and will certainly be back. The proximity to the A1, beaches and easy access into Edinburgh was a bonus too.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    463
    114
    24
    9
See reviews for
312
454
65
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

just returned from a family bereavement and stayed at this hotel for 2nights, was lovely to have somewhere to come back to in evening and chill....had 2 young grandchildren with us and nothing was too much trouble for anyone to deal with...food when we wanted it....on return from the funeral, the lift was out of order and we were on 3rd floor, my sister has a disability and straight away the staff arranged for her , my daughter and kids to move into a spacious ground floor room, the staff were very attentive as my sister was quite upset, they even made her a coffee in the room! I would like to thank everyone for a lovely stay under the circumstances and would recommend to anyone visiting edinburgh as so close ot city centre and local transport excellent, also close to lovely beaches if we only had the weather!!!! all the staff were so plolite and smiley....true scots!!!! thanks again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldScotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Loved our spacious and spotless big club room! The staff were excellent, especially the breakfast, dinner and bar staff. We wonder if the hotel could do a bed, breakfast and evening meal deal ? We had the chef's special chicken breast one evening and it was stunningly good!
You can order things like porridge at breakfast, not just have what's there. It could cater more for vegetarians then, as another guest has said.
We would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterBookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This hotel is in an older, rather rambling woodframe with very creaky floors. It is located in the eastern suburbs of the city near Musselburgh. There is regular bus service into the city, about a 20 minute ride. Parking is adequate. There are very few services within walking distance, but the usual big box shopping (ASDA, etc.) within a short drive.The old villages to the east such as Musselburgh are interesting. Our bedroom and bathroom were reasonable. The television was large with good picture qualilty and channel selection. The wireless internet worked OK in the room, but the sink was plugged and the kettle DOA. The desk and maintenance staff were quit friendly and helpful. We did not try the restaurant as the prices seemed excessive. This is a decent value for a base from which to explore the city.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick_1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Booked two nights bed and breakfast for myself, my partner and the dog last month. Expected just the normal double/twin room but was surprised and delighted to be allocated a club room at no extra charge. We were very pleased with the room - very spacious which is ideal when you have a large dog to accommodate. The breakfast was good and the staff all very friendly, pleasant and helpful. This hotel is handy for Edinburgh and has a bus stop just outside the gate which has a regular bus service into Edinburgh. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollieberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I stayed here with my husband & 3 children, which is unusual because you can't always find a hotel to sleep 5 in a room, they have lots and are lovely and large. The room we had was a club room and was absolutely fantastic, the staff were very polite and friendly and were only to happy to help with anything. The hotel is further away but the number 44 bus stops right outside and cost us £4.50 into town.we never moved our car for the whole stay. We had a bar meal at night which was wonderful and the kids were happy with there selection as well. We also used the swimming pool which was brilliant for all of us and a nice treat. I have already told my friends about this hotel and would book again tomorrow!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Front Office Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
Hi! Glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We have in fact 6 rooms that will accommodate 5 guests in comfort. We also have 6 sets of rooms with connecting internal doors that will in theory sleep 8! – If you want to bring your favourite basketball team with you! Hope the kids enjoyed the playstations in the room. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We recently spent two nights at this hotel and were impressed with many aspects of the facilities and especially the service. We had an upgrade on the room which must be something of an exception for an Edinburgh hotel at Festival time. It was a big well equipped room with an excellent bed, good en-suite and was generally well kept and clean. It had an enormous TV that was ignored, (you would have to be seriously sad to watch TV in Edinburgh in August), and a game console which suffered the same fate as the TV.

We had B & B and the breakfast was the only disappointment. Some of it had stood around a long time and self service where all the components sit side by side unsupervised is a bit of a lottery for vegetarians. The juice was re-constituted and the coffee was weak.

The biggest strength though was the staff. All of the people we encountered were friendly, polite, well informed and helpful. This ranged from the bistro staff to the cleaners, the reception to the night porter who cheerily provided us with drinks well into the wee small hours.

The hotel is in Portobello which is out on the coast but it is well served by public transport into the City Centre and it wasn't the hotel's fault that I got Jasper Carrot's "Nutter on the Bus" one morning.

Overall, a very positive experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addicroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
8.4 mi away
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
7.2 mi away
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#94 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing