We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King's Manor - Could show other Hotels how its done properly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #41 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“King's Manor - Could show other Hotels how its done properly!”
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Great Price. Great Staff both at Reception and Restuarant/Bar. Nothing is ever to much of a problem. We stay here every few months to visit family and friends and have never found a fault. We also ask for an upgrade room (if you don't ask - you don't get! ) and if they are quiet and have one - then they let you have it. Fabulous service! We eat in the restaurant (try the fish'n'chips if you are hungry! ) and again nothing is ever a problem.
Fitness centre is great and bus straight into town right outside. I have booked again for Dec and am not even leaving the hotel this time as demanding my friends and family come to me to eat and drink..why travel into the city when I have everything here? My only worry is if we keep rating them so well... will they put their prices up?. .hope not! Looking forward to next month as I type!.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cambric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
Thank You for your review. Regular guests such as yourselves underestimate the boost that everyone at the hotel gets from you taking the trouble to post your appreciation of our efforts. Your comments are appreciated. We certainly have no plans to increase our rates. There will be a small increase in january to account for the change in Vat but rates will continue to flex throughout the year meaning that real bargains can be had throughout the year, even in the hight of summer. Special offers to past guests can be accessed via our newsletter service on our web site.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    455
    108
    23
    9
See reviews for
296
448
65
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

I've stayed in this hotel a number of times, both with groups and with family. It is convenient to the city centre which is only a ten minute away. It also has a bus stop directly outside the door.

The fitness area is operated by LA Fitness, but is maintained at a far better standard than other LA Fitness suites I’ve visited. It is also free, to all hotel guests!!! The fitness room and pool are good and the changing areas are kept very clean. The steam room and the sauna both retain an excellent temperature and are well worth a visit. If you’re going to use the fitness area you need a pound coin for the locker; you get it back.

The standard rooms are what they say; they’re standard, but clean, tidy and smaller versions of the Club Rooms. The bathrooms are well stocked with towels and soap, and have low level ambient lighting.

The breakfast is excellent; there is both plenty of choice and amounts. The choice of food in the Bistro is a little limited, but very reasonably priced, and again there’s plenty of it.

The Kings Manor is about three miles east of the city centre, but it can be reached by a very convenient ten minute drive. There is plenty of free car parking on three side of the hotel and there is a bus stop directly outside.

Finally the only thing I haven’t mentioned are the staff, who I’ve always found to be extremely helpful whether you’re looking information about the hotel, the city or travel arrangements.

This is not a five star hotel, but if you are looking a reasonably priced break in a pleasant, well equipped hotel then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulaid59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
Thank you for your glowing report! We are all a wee bit emarrassed with your comments . We do try to offer a good service at a fair price and obviously you appreciate our efforts. One small addendum our Spa if run by Nuffield Health, one of the countries largest health club management companies. They will also manage our new leisure club at our sister hotel in Fife . the Balgeddie house, when their new spa opens later this month.
Thatnk you for your kind comments, we look forward to seeing you back with us in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Excellent all the way, from the staff, room, cleanliness, restaurant - the whole trip was great.

Our room (352) was huge, 4-poster, flat screen tv, sitting area, full courtesy set, bathroom with large bath, walk-in shower. The hotel was great, large, free internet, even creaky floorboards, which made us laugh.

The restaurant was great, the food delicious for both breakfast and dinner. The staff very welcoming and service was faultless.

There is a swimming pool, health spa, gym/fitness centre, etc. We didn't use it but did have a look round. The pool is large and open until 10pm - great after a long day of sight-seeing in Edinburgh.

The hotel is on a frequent bus route, £1.20 into the city centre about 4 miles away, so we just parked the car in the hotel car park and didn't use it again until we were leaving to go home.

Although this hotel is not in the city centre, it was quite nice to be able to go back to the peace and quiet of our hotel and our room, with a view of the sea. It was good not to worry about parking the car and driving into the city. We were able to spend the day at our leisure, take a 'wee dram' if we fancied it, have a meal and a drink in the evening and not worry about having to drive back.

We would definately recommend this hotel and we will definately be going back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. You point out rather well one of our key attractions- our location! On the face of things not being in the city centre may be seen as a drawback but you do not have to try to sleep over the noise of late night revellers or the early morning bin men - and you can park your car for free. You point out the fast and cheap bus service , but we are only a few hindered yards from brunstane station which will take you to Princes Street in 7 minutes so access to the city is easy , and quick. The attractions of a few minutes walk to Portobello prom or visiting Musselburgh Harbour on an autumn evening cannot be over emphasised. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

This hotel is fantastic. The service is of a standard that you would expect in a 5*. Nothing is too much trouble. We booked a club room which was huge and had everything you would expect and more - flat screen tv, play station absolutely huge bed plus single. You have use of the swimming pool, spa bath, sauna and stream room included in your room price. Dinner and breakfast are superb. We got all this for £70 for one night for the three of us. My four year old had a ball!! We are sure to return here, really easy to find and ideal for exploring Edinburgh. Thank you Kings Manor!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhrScottishBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
Thank you for your comments. I am glad thad you took advantage of one of our autumn offers and got the benefit of all our leisure facilities. we hope that you will return to visit with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We spent one night in a family club room with our two young children. The service from the staff was outstanding for a chain hotel, especially Robert on reception who made us all feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The room was spotless and very roomy with two large King beds and a seating area. Breakfast was a tad disappointing with the staff seeming a bit stressed at the swarming coach party. Bacon steamed rather than crispy and scrambled eggs solid , usual mass produced hotel breakfast. However we felt this place was a cut above the usual four star chains and will certainly be back. The proximity to the A1, beaches and easy access into Edinburgh was a bonus too.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

just returned from a family bereavement and stayed at this hotel for 2nights, was lovely to have somewhere to come back to in evening and chill....had 2 young grandchildren with us and nothing was too much trouble for anyone to deal with...food when we wanted it....on return from the funeral, the lift was out of order and we were on 3rd floor, my sister has a disability and straight away the staff arranged for her , my daughter and kids to move into a spacious ground floor room, the staff were very attentive as my sister was quite upset, they even made her a coffee in the room! I would like to thank everyone for a lovely stay under the circumstances and would recommend to anyone visiting edinburgh as so close ot city centre and local transport excellent, also close to lovely beaches if we only had the weather!!!! all the staff were so plolite and smiley....true scots!!!! thanks again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldScotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Loved our spacious and spotless big club room! The staff were excellent, especially the breakfast, dinner and bar staff. We wonder if the hotel could do a bed, breakfast and evening meal deal ? We had the chef's special chicken breast one evening and it was stunningly good!
You can order things like porridge at breakfast, not just have what's there. It could cater more for vegetarians then, as another guest has said.
We would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterBookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
4.9 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,481 reviews
7.2 mi away
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing