We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$613
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,354)
Filter reviews
1,354 results
Traveller rating
697
488
129
29
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
697
488
129
29
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomportobello beachleisure facilitiescity centrelauders restaurantswimming poolsteam room and saunasingle roomgood sizebus stopreception staffexcellent hotelbuffet stylenumber bushuge bedbus servicevisiting edinburgh
Filter
Updating list...
1,220 - 1,225 of 1,354 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Our party of 25 arrived on 26th November, some having horrendous journeys due to the weather! Reception staff greeted you warmly and efficiently! A warm fire in the reception area was soon congregated around as we ordered tea and coffee. We had all been upgraded to Club Rooms and you simply couldn't fault them. They were modern with heating controlled by you (however it wasn't switched on due to the "green policy" until 4pm, however was immediately offered a mobile heater when I mentioned the room being cold). Breakfast was of an excellent quality and choice. The two dinners taken in a private room, again were off a high standard and options. Some of us stayed for the Sunday night and although the restaurant was closed due to staffing difficulties caused by the heavy snow we had an excellent meal in the Bistro, where again the staff were exceptionally helpful and courteous. All queries at reception were dealt with efficiently and one member of staff spent a good deal of time on Monday trying to ascertain whether the local station was open - in the end the bus was and we took that to the station. Concern was expressed by these staff when we left that we all had a safe journey home in view of the weather conditions.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarAnnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2010

Thank you for your kind review. I think the success of your trip was due in no small part by the efforts of the organiser of the trip. She made wise decisions on format of meals etc that I think suited your small party to a T. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we may have the pleasure of accommodating you again at some point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Great Price. Great Staff both at Reception and Restuarant/Bar. Nothing is ever to much of a problem. We stay here every few months to visit family and friends and have never found a fault. We also ask for an upgrade room (if you don't ask - you don't get! ) and if they are quiet and have one - then they let you have it. Fabulous service! We eat in the restaurant (try the fish'n'chips if you are hungry! ) and again nothing is ever a problem.
Fitness centre is great and bus straight into town right outside. I have booked again for Dec and am not even leaving the hotel this time as demanding my friends and family come to me to eat and drink..why travel into the city when I have everything here? My only worry is if we keep rating them so well... will they put their prices up?. .hope not! Looking forward to next month as I type!.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cambric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2010

Thank You for your review. Regular guests such as yourselves underestimate the boost that everyone at the hotel gets from you taking the trouble to post your appreciation of our efforts. Your comments are appreciated. We certainly have no plans to increase our rates. There will be a small increase in january to account for the change in Vat but rates will continue to flex throughout the year meaning that real bargains can be had throughout the year, even in the hight of summer. Special offers to past guests can be accessed via our newsletter service on our web site.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

I've stayed in this hotel a number of times, both with groups and with family. It is convenient to the city centre which is only a ten minute away. It also has a bus stop directly outside the door.

The fitness area is operated by LA Fitness, but is maintained at a far better standard than other LA Fitness suites I’ve visited. It is also free, to all hotel guests!!! The fitness room and pool are good and the changing areas are kept very clean. The steam room and the sauna both retain an excellent temperature and are well worth a visit. If you’re going to use the fitness area you need a pound coin for the locker; you get it back.

The standard rooms are what they say; they’re standard, but clean, tidy and smaller versions of the Club Rooms. The bathrooms are well stocked with towels and soap, and have low level ambient lighting.

The breakfast is excellent; there is both plenty of choice and amounts. The choice of food in the Bistro is a little limited, but very reasonably priced, and again there’s plenty of it.

The Kings Manor is about three miles east of the city centre, but it can be reached by a very convenient ten minute drive. There is plenty of free car parking on three side of the hotel and there is a bus stop directly outside.

Finally the only thing I haven’t mentioned are the staff, who I’ve always found to be extremely helpful whether you’re looking information about the hotel, the city or travel arrangements.

This is not a five star hotel, but if you are looking a reasonably priced break in a pleasant, well equipped hotel then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulaid59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2010

Thank you for your glowing report! We are all a wee bit emarrassed with your comments . We do try to offer a good service at a fair price and obviously you appreciate our efforts. One small addendum our Spa if run by Nuffield Health, one of the countries largest health club management companies. They will also manage our new leisure club at our sister hotel in Fife . the Balgeddie house, when their new spa opens later this month.
Thatnk you for your kind comments, we look forward to seeing you back with us in the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Excellent all the way, from the staff, room, cleanliness, restaurant - the whole trip was great.

Our room (352) was huge, 4-poster, flat screen tv, sitting area, full courtesy set, bathroom with large bath, walk-in shower. The hotel was great, large, free internet, even creaky floorboards, which made us laugh.

The restaurant was great, the food delicious for both breakfast and dinner. The staff very welcoming and service was faultless.

There is a swimming pool, health spa, gym/fitness centre, etc. We didn't use it but did have a look round. The pool is large and open until 10pm - great after a long day of sight-seeing in Edinburgh.

The hotel is on a frequent bus route, £1.20 into the city centre about 4 miles away, so we just parked the car in the hotel car park and didn't use it again until we were leaving to go home.

Although this hotel is not in the city centre, it was quite nice to be able to go back to the peace and quiet of our hotel and our room, with a view of the sea. It was good not to worry about parking the car and driving into the city. We were able to spend the day at our leisure, take a 'wee dram' if we fancied it, have a meal and a drink in the evening and not worry about having to drive back.

We would definately recommend this hotel and we will definately be going back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. You point out rather well one of our key attractions- our location! On the face of things not being in the city centre may be seen as a drawback but you do not have to try to sleep over the noise of late night revellers or the early morning bin men - and you can park your car for free. You point out the fast and cheap bus service , but we are only a few hindered yards from brunstane station which will take you to Princes Street in 7 minutes so access to the city is easy , and quick. The attractions of a few minutes walk to Portobello prom or visiting Musselburgh Harbour on an autumn evening cannot be over emphasised. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

This hotel is fantastic. The service is of a standard that you would expect in a 5*. Nothing is too much trouble. We booked a club room which was huge and had everything you would expect and more - flat screen tv, play station absolutely huge bed plus single. You have use of the swimming pool, spa bath, sauna and stream room included in your room price. Dinner and breakfast are superb. We got all this for £70 for one night for the three of us. My four year old had a ball!! We are sure to return here, really easy to find and ideal for exploring Edinburgh. Thank you Kings Manor!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhrScottishBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2010

Thank you for your comments. I am glad thad you took advantage of one of our autumn offers and got the benefit of all our leisure facilities. we hope that you will return to visit with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews