We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel; hope to return soon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #40 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Very good hotel; hope to return soon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Spent the weekend here and I can only agree with all the positive comments. Lovely staff, very good rooms (our bathroom seemed to be brand new) and facilities, and excellent value.
Cheap and easy to reach the city centre by bus and a nice walk down to the beach at Portobello. A £10 taxi ride to the Port of Leith. Just off the A1 too, if you're approaching from the South.
Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YonyYamathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
Thank you for your kind, and perceptive comments. As you point out we have just upgraded a number of bathrooms in the main building of the hotel and the effect is spectacular. Most guests feel that the new bathrooms have really given the whole room a ‘lift’. I hope that we can be of some service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    445
    104
    24
    8
See reviews for
291
438
65
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

Tried to get city centre accommodation for Bon Jovi concert in June but left it too late and found this little gem by accident.
Decided to have a 3 night break there starting 15tn Feb and was highly impressed.
The club room was great with very efficiently controlled temperature, massive bed, free wifi, playstation, digtal tv, quiet & peaceful, great en suite, hairdryer & iron in every room.

Free access to leisure centre with well equipped gym with headphone connection to 4 flatscreen tv's on gym wall, great changing area with free towels & soap, sauna, steam room , jacuzzi & pool.

Comfortable Bistro with varied and tasty menu, also bar with large screens showing sport if desired - seemed to be well attended by locals which is always a good sign.

Smart Restaurant which we didn't use, did sit down there one night and chose the roast beef which we were told only came with gravy and the veg etc had to be chosen/ bought separately so decided to eat in the Bistro.
Not complaining probably just our ignorance of fine dining, the menu was attractive and the staff looked attentive.

Got the bus into Edinburgh daily to sight see & shop(£1.20) and a taxi back a couple of times late at night after shows (£10 -12)

Didn't have breakfast only because we were so comfortable & relaxed and never got up in time - had breakfast in the city or at a massive ASDA 5 mins drive up the road.

The staff are so friendly in every department, even had a great chat with the housekeeper in the corrider outside our room and every time you pass reception you are acknowledged.

Loved the "green committment" dont change your towels if you leave them on the towel rail which is great by me and you also get the opportunity to pay a little extra to finance green policies - separates the ones who talk good green ethics and those who are genuinely willing to committ.

Can't fault this great establishment, most other hotels I've been to could learn how to run a hotel properly from this place (sure I could if I tried really really hard) - will definately be back - love it.......

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highlander033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments. We are deeply honoured that we are the first establishment to warrant a review from yourself on tripadvisor. Your review does shower us with praise. I only hope that we can live up to these comments on your future visits. I am sure you will let us know if we don’t! On your comment on pricing in Lauders Restaurant. This is an area we are reviewing . I think we have some more ‘product training’ to do with some staff in explaining the menu to guests. All dishes come with some form of vegetable, potato, rice or similar that is appropriate to the dish. Extra portions of ‘todays market vegetable’ or ‘french fries’ etc can be ordered as an extra side dish but most diners feel that they are not required. But at least we have something to work on prior to your next visit! Once again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

Courtesy and Comfort. Very quiet , slept like a rock. Very good Hotel and good prices.
Very well connected to city center, the bus stop is just out of the road, 15 minutes and youre in the center . very good service . I reccomend this hotel for its tranquility and quietness.
No noises from the road an traffic.
Personnel very avalaible anytime an very kind.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roberts65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District,Cumbria
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

Just returned from Edinburgh after staying at The Kings Manor Hotel.Arrived early friday morning(The 11th) and left the car in the free car park as check in was not until 3pm.
We caught the no.44 bus into the city,4 miles away.(Bus fare £1.20).
Returned to the hotel in the afternoon and checked in,no problems.
We were given one of the newest club rooms,no.257.A very nice room indeed.
Very spacious and had all the necesssary facilities.
The Gym & Swimming pool were great,as was the sauna & steam room.
We were advised by the receptionist to book a table in the restaurant that night because
she expected it to be busy,the night before the 6 nations rugby game between Scotland & Wales.
Wish we had'nt bothered.As I opened the restaurant door I felt like I was walking onto the Moon,No Atmosphere and No People...!!!
Only one other couple was in there just finishing their desserts.It just did'nt feel right,us on our own with the waiter and waiteress clearing away glasses and setting up the breakfast bar.There was'nt even any background music to break the silence..!!
Being the only 2 people in there you would think the food would be top notch,believe me it was not.
I ordered today's special soup,Scotch Broth but I think there was a printing error on the menu,it should have said Scotch PEPPER PEPPER Broth(With Extra PEPPER..!!!).
2 x Sirloin Steaks arrived,nothing special,warm vegetables and gravy as thin as dishwater.Poor.
The best thing was dessert,Double choc chessecake and Cappuccino's.£50 wasted.
Thank god the Breakfasts were much much better.Plenty of the usual breakfast fayre.
I will recommend this hotel to my friends but advise them to catch the no.44 bus & eat dinner in the city.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scouserjat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad that you found the hotel comfortable and convenient and you had time to make full use of all our leisure facilities. I regret that your restaurant experience did not match the rest of your stay. As you point out your stay coincided with the eve of the Scotland v Wales rugby international and with nearly 200 guests staying we were anticipating a busy night in both our restaurant and Bistro and encouraging those that wanted to dine to make a reservation. Our expectations were borne out in our bistro , with a very busy night all evening, but the restaurant , while it was steady early on by the time you dined was , well - dead. I note your comments on various aspects of your dinner and we have drawn them to chefs attention. Its unfortunate that you did not point out our shortcomings at the time when we would have had the opportunity to put things right for you. Maybe we will get the chance to prove that this was a one off when next you visit us. Many thanks for your comments and your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motherwell
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

What can i say about this hidden gem..i have previously stayed at this hotel over 5 years ago and that stay was great however this stay was fantastic.This hotel has been modernised and rooms outstanding. we upgraded to a superior room at an additional cost of £5.00 per person this was weel worth it - room was large, lcd tv, playstation and what can i say about the bed,,,it was about 8ft and so comfortable...the hotel was quiet due to time of year,,by time we went for evening meal was only us in restaurant food and selection was amazing and staff very efficient..the hotel also has a bistro should you wish to eat there,,,the hotel also has a bar which has a firendly atmosphere including guests and locals and serves bar snacks...we made full use of leisure facility and this includes check out day too.,,the recepitonist who works long hours was very pleasent and efficeint,,try this hotel if you already hevent.

I would like to say as well i stayed at a hilton hotel the night before and the KINGS MANOR puts them to shame.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbieg477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2011
We are obviously delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us - again- and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Although our standard rooms are a good size and being constantly upgraded it is true are club rooms are that bit bigger. We have a promotion for all Trip advisor user untill the end of February, if they present the coupon on the top of our Trip Advisor page they wil get a complimentary upgrade to a club room ( subject to availabilty). At other times of the year upgrades are available both prior to arrival and at check in, and they don't cost the earth.
Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

We had a Best Western card (room upgrade) and to be fair the hotel was between the peak of Christmas and New Year. Given that, the staff were really pleasant, the food in the bar was above average for a hotel and the room was beautifully designed, furnished and looked after. Breakfast was really nice too.
2nd time here now, only comment is you have to concentrate really hard on the invoice when you get it, especially if you prepay and add extras - it's the only flaw.
Breakfast (again) was very nice too - freshly cooked fish/porridge etc as well as the usual buffet and continental - Lovely stay - definitely going back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOSTELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutterblid, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2011
Thank you for your kind review. I note your point about checking your final bill. I would certainly endorse that. Some on line booking agencies charge you in advance, others allow you to pay us on departure. It is certainly not always clear when making a booking. If you are unclear please ask our reception staff during your stay, who will have a copy of your on line booking and will be happy to explain any questions that you may have. I hope that you will take advantage of the great rates and the guarenteed room upgrade offer ( see top of page) for trip advisor users and will enjoy another stay with us shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardineshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

My wife and I (and on occasions our granddaughter) have stayed at the King's Manor on several occasions and know the standard to expect. This occasion was no different. This is a hotel where the management obviously invest not only in the property but in their staff. The hotel is kept immaculately; the staff are welcoming and friendly and I include not only those who should present 'a front' to guests, such as reception staff and restaurand/bar staff but also those charged with keeping the rooms immaculate.

On this ocasion we had a bar meal - of a very good standard and breakfast on two mornings where again the emphasis was on quality, not overt profit. The staff were not only polite but friendly - nothing forced in their dealings with customers. On other occasions we have eaten dinner at the hotel and the quality is superb.

For a second (or perhaps third) time we were placed in one of the hotel's club rooms. These rooms would be the envy of all but the most expensive hotels anywhere in the world. They are huge; they have an ample supply of tea/coffee making facilities. They have a king size bed and a single bed. They have large LCD Tv's and games consoles (should you be so inclined). There are subtle touches as well, such as the night light in the ensuite toilet. There is also the emphasis on 'green' technology, although we did feel that the insuulation was so good our room was almost over-warm. However, the hotel ponts out that the heating is on stand-by overnight to conserve energy and the temperature of the room certainly testifies to the efficiency of their conservation efforts.

Although not used on this occasion. we can testify to the superb pool/fitness facilities.

To some, the location may not be appealing but if one considers there's a regular bus service to and from the front door with the cost of £1.20 pax for the 20 minute journey(plus a nearby suburban rail link) and compare that with the frustration and cost of parking in Edinburgh the location is of little significance except it is superbly quiet.

This is a hotel which genuinely cares for its residents. It is of a very good quality and is priced very fairly for the services provided.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUCHENBLAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#78 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel
Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing