We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed emotion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #71 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mixed emotion”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed at the hotel Indigo over the weekend and had a nice trip in mind for our trip out to Edinburgh, however I must point out that the rooms are really small and have a really strange smell to them and most of the technology in the room from their phone to the media hub and tv didn't work, although some one was suppose to come have a look at it no one did, and I also sense the general feeling is that no one cares enough about the actual people that stay in the hotel.

If you want to be treated like a civil human being I'll choice a cheaper much better alternative

Room Tip: A good room will be in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 769Ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Ted,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am disappointed to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. Hotel Indigo Edinburgh is a boutique hotel situated in 5 typical townhouse buildings and as such our rooms vary in size.

I would like to apologise for the lack of care that was taken when dealing with your comments. This is certainly not a reflection on the service standards we are so proud in providing and I will investigate this further with our managers.

I would very much like the opportunity to speak to you in person at a time that is suitable to you. Should you wish to do so please contact me by email on dominic@hiedinburgh.co.uk or directly at the hotel on +44 (0)131 556 5577.

I hope that we can restore your faith in our beautiful hotel and I am looking forward to your reply.

Kind regards,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    424
    130
    32
    14
See reviews for
116
721
62
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

New hotel in the New Town of Edinburgh. Staff are very attentive and the rooms are quite modern with interesting colours. Very comfortable bed with a spacious room. Be aware that some rooms are quite small but mine was more than adequate. The executive rooms are even bigger again. My friends and I ate at the restaurant one night for dinner. I had no problem with my food but my friends were not impressed with an overdone steak and what seemed to be a different meat to what was ordered. The Internet provided by the hotel is free however you have to get a new login every 24 hours for every device you have. A real pain to be honest. Also, if you are not as agile as you once were, be aware that the place has lots of stairs. However, given the standard of service, I'm sure if you mentioned this, the staff would do their best to help you out. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel as a place to stay. The staff are great and a pleasure to deal with. The minor quibbles will be ironed out fairly quickly I'm sure.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leerja74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012

3 night weekend stay, great service throughout all areas, staff very friendly and attentive, cocktails in the bar a must! king bedded superior rooms are excellent, large and airy, great walk in shower, free wifi and comp items in the mini bar much appreciated, Scottish breakfast with haggis just outstanding, great location for everything Edinburgh has to offer, Hotel Indigo thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 911dkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We spent a night at Hotel Indigo recently and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are chic, bright and on the whole very nice. The king bedded room we had, had lots of space and a small area with a chaise longe, which I thought was fab! Complimentary goodies inthe mini fridge was a nice added touch and plenty of tea/ coffee/ hot choc etc. The bed was one of the comfiest hotel beds that I have slept in ...zzzzzzzz, and despite being at basement level and on to the street, there was no noise. Breakfast is excellent and yummy. We had a slight tiny minor problem with the rain shower as I think the drain was blocked and the water overflowed into bathroom. We mentioned this to the manager at the reception desk (just so that they were aware so that they could get it fixed). The water was cleaned up immediately, we received an apology and a discount of 50% from the bill for the inconvenience - amazing customer service. We were well impressed with Hotel Indigo and will most definitely be back - thank you for looking after us and being so fab!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and was blown away by the level of service I received from the outset. The staff were friendly and eager to help with any situation and I felt like a highly honored guest at all times. The suite I was given on the second floor was the nicest I have ever stayed in, I particularly liked the decor and the surround sound speaker system. The breakfast catered for everyone and was of the highest quality - I particularly enjoyed tucking into the fresh fruit daily followed by delicious patisserie pastries. The location was also amazing just a few minutes walk from the station and the centre. Overall, I had a fantastic stay in Edinburgh and I would highly recommend this unique hotel. Thank you Hotel Indigo for a wonderful visit to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theweddingcrasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This is a new hotel which helps, but it is well decorated and offered excellent service.
The room I had was decorated in a "trendy" style and very much a breath of fresh air from the anonymous hotel rooms that are on offer.
The hotel is located a brisk walk from the train station and close to a complex offering the usual brand outlets - Pizza Hut pubs and other bars. Its also next door to John Lewis.
The car park only has space for 5 bays but i found some on street parking (free overnight) very close by.

I would definitely reomend this hotel if you are looking for a good quality hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dav555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This relatively newly opened hotel is in a good location in the `New Town'. The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We had a suite with good views. As with all the Indigos we've stayed at, complimentary refreshments are provided in the refrigerator and there is a rain shower plus a flexible hand shower. There are tea and coffee making facilities (and they even provided fresh milk in the fridge).The decor of the suite was bright and modern. The towels and linen were of excellent quality.The `Scottish' breakfast was cooked to order and consisted of high quality ingredients. There is also a cold selection of packaged cereals, croissants, hams, smoked salmon, yoghurts and fresh fruit (both sliced and whole). Car parking can be an issue in Edinburgh, but we were told there is a multi storey car park nearby. We opted to park on one of the streets just a short distance away where car parking charges applied between 08.30 and 18.30 (with no charges on Sundays). We only needed to pay for a couple of hours. If we had wanted to walk just a little more into another car parking zone, fees stopped at 17.30.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marks069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#35 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,124 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Property: Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Address: 51-59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing