We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Indigo just gets better and better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #58 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was our second stay at Hotel Indigo, and this time we decided to take advantage of the good advanced purchase rates and treat ourselves by staying in one of the junior suites. We were delighted with the room and its trendy with an 'Edinburgh twist' theme. The room was sumptious with a small raised mezzanine sitting area complete with chaise longes. This was not supposed to be a totally chilled out break, however we were lured hypnotically to lie on the chaise longes, watch tv and order portions of chips and sticky toffee pudding with ice cream to the room which although did nothing for the waistline, was highly therapeutic. The bathroom was spacious with a big bath, complimentary toileteries and a great shower. Breakfast -more great food and good selection. Most of all courteous helpful and friendly staff with first class customer service. We have stayed at many hotels in Edinburgh over the past few years and Hotel Indigo is by far our favourite. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear Alex,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

Judging by the description of your room you have stayed in one of our basement junior suites. Our basement rooms are a real feature of Edinburgh's New town and it's Georgian architecture and they have a lovely cosy feel to them to really relax and feel at home.

Our chefs are very passionate about creating mouthwatering dishes from the best of our local produce and you can taste this at breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea or dinner.

I will certainly pass your great comments on to our team and I hope that we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood soon.

Stay curious,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,224 - 1,230 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Just spent two nights at Hotel Indigo and had a very enjoyable stay. Our room was very spacious, great funky decor, and, most importantly for me, very clean...and also pretty quiet considering we faced out onto a busy, city centre street. Lovely rain water shower in the bathroom too! The staff appeared very friendly and helpful, and we found the location ideal for our first trip to Edinburgh. My only criticism was the complimentary snacks in the small fridge...my partner commented that it looked like someone's leftover pack lunch; one small bag of dried fruit, one caramel bar, and one small tube of Pringles for two adults! Also, for a room of this standard, a proper coffee machine would have been welcome along with the kettle. Overall, would highly recommend, and would certainly use Hotel Indigo again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear Carly,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such kind words about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed you first trip to Edinburgh. We certainly are ideally located especially when you haven't been to Edinburgh before and want to stay in a convenient location to discover all of Edinburgh's sites, the excellent shopping, the museums and galleries or the shows at the Edinburgh Playhouse or the Stand Comedy Club.

We do review our complimentary mini bar offering regularly and I will certainly discuss your comments with our managers. We do feature pod coffee machines in our Junior suites but will certainly look at the option of extending this to all our rooms.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood in the future.

Stay inspiring,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the hotel for our five yr anniversary. Beautiful rooms, helpful and friendly staff, great toiletries (Aveda) complimentary snacks and drinks and sparkling clean rooms :) the hotel was stunning and my boyfriend loved our surprise weekend away, brilliant location and I would def love to stay again - thank u for a memorable experience :)

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJsparklesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear JJsparklesx,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

It was a pleasure to welcome you at our beautiful hotel for such a special occasion and it is great to hear that you have enjoyed your anniversary weekend with us. I will certainly pass your comments on to our team.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we can welcome you to our neighbourhood again soon.

Stay curious,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Went for afternoon tea on 7 July 2012 with a voucher. Fantastic afternoon tea, great selection of sandwiches, scones and cakes. Service excellent. We had tea in the Turquoise Thistle Restaurant which was very nice. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank typisttrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear Typisttrisha,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review of your time with us at the Turquoise Thistle Restaurant at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed our afternoon tea. Our head chef has put a lot of thought into creating an afternoon tea with a few surprises. Rather than using traditional finger sandwiches we serve smoked salmon and crowdie on a herb drop scone or Ayrshire Ham and Kintyre brie in a croissant to name just two. He is very passionate about sourcing only the best of Scotland's local produce even down to the 100% Scottish slate afternoon tea stand.

I hope that we can welcome you back maybe for an early dinner before seeing a show at the Playhouse.

Stay original,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

+ Cool and modern interior
+ Excellent bathroom
+ A short walk from the central station, and right beside Hertz if you're planning on renting a car
+ Helpfull and smiling staff

+/- The prices are a bit steep (even without breakast)

- Just minor details like one faulty treadmill in the gym (and the fact that the gym is small)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oslolosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed here with a friend for a mini break.5 min walk to Harvey nichols, and a couple more to princess street, so ideal for our shopping trip.had lovely late lunch here, cocktails were lovely,breakfast good.like the London paddington indigo the rooms & facility's within them are great, super comfy beds, good showers.all staff here were superb, obviously great training and it shows throughout, would def stay here again and would reccomed it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Froodmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Dear Froodmer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review of your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your boutique bedroom with all the facilities we offer. Every bedroom is equipped with a complimentary mini bar with snacks and soft drinks, a media hub to play your favorite tunes from your IPod straight to the speaker in the bathroom or bedroom, complimentary WiFi, plush Egyptian cotton bedding and a spa inspired rainfall shower with luxury toiletries. I am delighted that you have found all our team members to be superb and I will certainly pass on your comments to the team.

I hope that we can welcome you back to our beautiful hotel in the near future if not for the excellent shopping maybe to see a show at the Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre.

Stay original,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This recently refurbished hotel is very conveniently located for those who do not know Edinbugh too well. The National Portrait Gallery is 100 yards away whilst some very good restaurants are within walking distance. Facilities are well presented and particular attention has been spent on the bathrooms-always a bonus.
Edinburgh itself seems to be in the throws of massive upheaval with a great number of streets dug up, being dug up or closed which will unfortunately put off a lot of first time visitors from returning. Driving and parking is a nightmare for those who do not know their way around, so taxis are essential.
However the main highlight are the staff, especially Albert their Concierge; good staff are the key to any hotel and here they have got it very right. Would return and recommend without hesitation.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank comlongon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear Comlongon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. You are right we are ideally located to explore the sights of Edinburgh being within walking distance of Edinburgh castle, a short bus journey to Ocean terminal and the Royal Yacht Britannia, around the corner from Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre and all the Festival venues you could ask for. Because we are located so centrally and only a 5 minute walk from the train station or the Airport Express bus stop there is really no need to bring your car but if you wish to do so we have 5 parking spaces available close to the hotel that need to be pre booked and are also in the process of arranging reduced rates with one of the local NCP's.

I am delighted to hear that the team members you have encountered were the main highlight of your stay. We are very lucky to have such a dedicated team and I will certainly pass on your kind comments.

I hope that we can welcome you back to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh in the near future and please do recommend us.

Stay curious,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#87 of 151 in Edinburgh
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Address: 51-59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £77 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing