We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Think Budget with a few flourishes...style over substance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #56 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Think Budget with a few flourishes...style over substance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

So you are spoilt for choice for hotels in Edinburgh, why choose Hotel Indigo?

Well it's in a good location for all you need to do and see, it's relatively new and it comes with a relatively good reputation. But is it really as special or boutique special or even different...? The answer is a simple no. It is OK and average and so a little over priced for what you'll get.

This room was small but still stuffed full of furniture - designer chair, low table, high bed, cushions. Plus every surface had some guide or magazine on and the bathroom, whilst well fitted, required yet more shifting of bits to make room for your washbag / makeup bag. Time to stop thinking magazine photo shoot and turn to the practicalities of your guests.

It's all nicely done but don't expect to swing a cat, should you have packed one.

Before you get excited about a free mini bar, this guest had exactly:

can of coke
can of irn bru
small pack of pringles
caramel bar
fruit sweets

But no milk, so no nice cup of tea to savour in the morning. Indigo, if you are going to offer something at least do it properly. It's a basic fundamental and your housekeeping staff should be checking.

The iron and ironing board, once you figure where to squeeze it in, was cheap and leaked water.

There are some one off gripes which this guest didn't and you shouldn't take to heart, but does indicate this hotel isn't up to the scratch it should be.

When I arrived the restaurant had shut due to some unexplained catastrophie: no food and no room service. As a frequent traveller, not sure this had been experienced before. The wifi code was out of date and even if free wifi is a nice bonus these days, equally you expect front of house to give you a valid one when the slip of paper clearly stated the day before on closer inspection. Oh and the Gym was shut too, for another catastrophie no doubt. Not a good day for them was it...

All in all, this feels like a slightly up market budget hotel, which is certainly no insult. It's not boutique for all its town house pretensions but it's clearly tried to make the best of a restrictive space.

It's style over substance and when you are spoilt for choice, this traveller at least, wouldn't trouble the doors of an Indigo again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoyoImp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear LondonYoyo,

Thank you for the detailed review of our hotel. I am pleased you liked the location. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    407
    117
    25
    12
See reviews for
104
687
60
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Small and cozy hotel extremely well located with regards to the central station and the city centre. The multi-tasked staff was super efficient and friendly.

It was my first stay in the Indigo chain which I highly recommend especially if you like chic hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superclarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

This hotel went through a recent renovation and the rooms a very nice, I had a junior suite which was very comfortable and had a small separate seating area. Certainly not the largest Jr suite I've stayed in but comfortable, and spacious enough. The bathroom in my room (#6) was quite large and had a roomy shower. My room was on the lower floor, below street level and while amazingly quiet considering the work being done on the underground outside my room, it was less than private and I would recommend one of the upper floor rooms for privacy and the ability to open your windows. The rooms are very well appointed and extremely clean. There are free snacks and milk in the mini bar.
The staff was really quite friendly and helpful and while I didn't eat there I was told by a local that the restaurant attached next door was an excellent place to eat.
From a location standpoint it was about three blocks off the Royal Mile, which is kind of nice especially during the festival because it's away from the crowds. It is also a short walk to the train station which is nice. I certainly felt I got my monies worth from a comparison of room prices around Edinburgh.
Personally, I love Edinburgh, it is a truely great city for a visit, fun and beautiful. I would highly recomend spending time in the small towns the dot the coast in East Lothian, Direlton, Berwick Gullane are all very enjoyable and have walking paths for nice strolls.

Room Tip: I was on the lower floor and would recomend asking for an upper floor room simply for the privacy af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifesawalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed here over the festival for a couple of days and we had a great stay. The hotel has only just opened as an Indigo hotel 4 months ago so everything inside is brand new and of good quality finish.
Free mini bar(no booze!) with (real!) cold milk and high quality teas and coffees in the room. It's nice not to be ripped off by a mini bar.
The location of the hotel is good in a nice area of Edinburgh close to the main shopping streets and Princes Street.
The rooms were really well decorated with a quality feel to them.
There is also a small gym with a couple of running machines and a small multigym.
Staff were great and we had a good breakfast.
So good we are staying again there this week!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrange, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

The hotel is located well within walking distance of the cities hot spots (and there are plenty).The hotel has a very modern feel from top to bottom. The guest rooms were reasonably sized for the UK, not the smallest and not the largest. Very comfortable! Front Desk, Bar, and Dining Room, the entire staff was very helpful and pleasant. A joy to be around! If I am fortunate enough to go back to Edinburgh again the Hotel Indigo will be at the top of my stay list.

Room Tip: Make sure the person showing you to your room explains how some of the modern items in the room work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slider19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We ended up having a very good experience at Hotel Indigo but the first night we were put in one of four rooms on level 0 (i.e. below street level). There were windows but that's because there was a stairway down from street level down to the windows. I wasn't thrilled about it because it felt like we couldn't open our curtains without people looking down into our room. I asked to change and they didn't have a room available that night but said we could move the next night (we stayed for 5 nights). I'm so glad we asked to move because around 6am the next morning we started hearing the hotel staff walk around above us - it was quite loud because it was obviously a hardwood or tile floor. So my advice would be to ask for a room on levels 2-4 rather than 0-1.
The hotel staff was very accomodating and spent about 10 minutes in our room when we first checked in telling us how everything worked, made recommendations for going to the castle, Festival, etc., and they were very nice about letting us move on the second night. Hotel was in a good location - a little removed from the Royal Mile but still within walking distance. The bathroom was on the small side but the room was rather spacious. Overall a very good choice as long as you don't stay on level 0.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Alissa,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us and that your comments regarding your allocated room were dealt with to your satisfaction. Our basement rooms are a real feature of the Georgian architecture that defines Edinburgh's New Town but we do certainly try to allocate every guest a room that suits their needs.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel early August and even though the staff was very freindly and the hotel had a good location, we were slightly disappointed.
We had booked a king size room, but the bed was much smaller, the room was very modern but absolutely tiny!
We had a small window, with a view onto a wall very close by, this made the room feel even smaller and very unwelcoming!
The room was mainly clean, dust in the corners though, the bathroom was spotless!
We would stay again, but would request a room with a bit of a view and bigger if possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iona-Luing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Iona-Luing,

Thank you very much for writing a review of your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you would stay with us again and please contact us in advance with any room preferences you might have.

Hotel Indigo Edinburgh is situated in 5 original Georgian Townhouses and therefore all our rooms vary in size and layout. Please do accept my apologies for the shortfalls in cleanliness in your room. I will certainly discuss all your comments with our team.

I hope that we can welcome you back to Edinburgh in the near future.

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#32 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#28 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Property: Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Address: 51 - 59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you in April 2012! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing