We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury In The City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #70 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Arrived Edinburgh in the pouring rain early evening and had booked last minute at the Indigo,good price,not knowing what to expect.Quick downhill walk from Waverley station and you are there.Everyhing about the hotel was excellent,food,service.accommodation and once inside you would have no idea you were in the middle of the city,very quiet and peaceful,myself and management will be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKevin190770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,085 - 1,091 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

Nothing to complain about and central enough to talk everywhere in the city.
Parking in the shopping centre behind is a bit of a pain due to no lifts...but not so bad!
Enjoyed our stay and have already recommended to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomElkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This hotel was a perfect choice for a short stay in Edinburgh- central but quiet location and small but perfectly appointed rooms. I also ate at the hotel restaurant one night and it was great food for a very reasonable price.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Hotel Indigo is in an ideal location. It is a 10 minute walk from Waverley Station, (i would advise walking we asked a taxi driver and he laughed and said it wouldnt be worth his while!!). There is a bus stop outside and staff are very helpful in advising which buses to get - we got the bus to Edinburgh Zoo with no problems ( for just £1.40). But the rest of the time we walked - we walked to the Royal Mile & The Castle as well as the main stretch of shops- and found no need to taxi or bus.

The staff at hotel indigo are excellent and deserve credit as thier customer service skills were brilliant - from the cleaning staff to the reception staff everyone is friendly and greets you. Furthermore the reception staff are very helpful with providing directions/ general tourist advice!

The room was beautiful - modern and bright with an attractive colour scheme, comfortable, quiet on an evening (black out curtains) and an excellent entertainment system. There was also a complimentary mini bar and excellent air conditioning (ideal as the weather was hot!). The room was immaculate and no fault could be made.
Aswell as the bedroom the bathroom was excellent, gorgeus rainfall shower, lovely complimentary toiletries and it was immaculate.
The rate per night was so reasonable i didnt expect such a nice room for that price- so it was a lovely suprise! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and didnt want to come home!

There is also plenty to do immediatley around the hotel if you dont want to go far- just down the road is a large complex with resteraunts, bars, nightclub & a cinema. Aswell as this we found a lovely pub on the corner, a tesco express just opposite the hotel (as theres always something you forget to pack!) and a number of resteraunts & pubs nearby. We spent the first evening in this area & explored further into town on the second night.
We did not try the restaurant attached so cannot pass comment - but we might consider it if we stay again!

I have reccomended this hotel to friends & family and i would definatley stay again Thank you very much Hotel Indigo for making our minibreak perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarveyBoyd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed here for two nights at the start of July for a conference in Edinburgh. Whilst it is part of the Intercontinental group, it looks like this is franchised to another company, and the experience was quite distinctive as a result. The hotel had a boutique feel to it, from the check-in at reception (personalised service, you were taken to your room by one of the reception staff) to the rooms (wood floors, nice TV system, interesting decor and pictures). It didnt feel like your standard holiday inn, crowne plaza. It was helped by the location - in an old street of classic Edinburgh houses, amongst offices and small shops. Very close to Princes street and all the attractions, but the feel of the hotel was quite quiet but vibrant nonetheless. My room was great - big widescreen TV, great decor. Free WIFI in the lobby/restaurant areas which was good. The service in the bar and restaurant wasd very good and the food was also very nice. The reception staff were also very helpful - I had to leave ealy on the second day, and they accommodated the change of plans and cancelled the second night without me incurring the full charge for the room.
Overall, this is a really good hotel, well worth a look

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Myself and my Husband visited Edinburgh for our first wedding anniversary, and we stayed here. It's a very new hotel, it has a nice modern feel to it and everywhere is very clean, which is a huge plus for me!
I told the hotel in advance that this was a special trip, and they very kindly upgraded us free of charge to an executive suite, and there was a bottle of prosecco and nibbles on arrival in our room, complimentary of course! We thought that this was a very nice touch and was a great start to our trip. The room itself was nicely decorated - a bit orange, but everyone has their own tastes! The shower was fabulous, very roomy. Aveda cosmetics too!
The staff were all very friendly and accommodating, they couldn't do enough for us.
The location of the hotel is fantastic, right in the middle of the new town, and a short walk from the old town.
My only gripe was our room was overlooking the tram works on the main road of York Place - it was a good job that I packed my ear plugs. We were also overlooking a very busy bus stop. You expect to have some noise in a hotel on the middle of a busy city - but it did get a little too much at times.
Other than the above, we had a great time here, I would certainly return - I would just ask for a room at the back of the hotel!

Room Tip: If you're visiting for a special occasion, make the hotel aware. Book your parking in advance if...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Our first stay with the new Hotel Indigo brand and a great success from start to finish. We arrived late and a member of the reception staff did an Olympic sprint to guide us to the parking space we had reserved and then to the hotel. From this helpful and friendly start, we had a great stay right through to checkout and beyond, (my wife having left expensive perfume in the room and housekeeping posting this to us afterwards).
The interior design of the hotel is very attractive, our room being the most appealing of any chain / brand we have stayed in, being very well equipped, comfortably contemporary and spacious. Notably, the ventilation and aircon units were very quiet in their operation and indicate the attention to detail that has gone into the design and specification of this hotel. The public areas were comparatively small but again very attractively designed and they worked fine even on the busiest of the three days of our stay.
Breakfast was of excellent quality and offered a good if slightly limited choice. Service was generally of a high standard and all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. The small bar was also a pleasant venue for afternoon tea, which had a creative twist in both it's presentation and taste, offering a convenient and interesting alternative to more established venues in the city.
Finally, the hotel's location was just right as we had easy walking access to the New and Old Towns as well as a wide range of bus routes passing right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front (North) of the hotel are double glazed so well insulated from street noise even d...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Address: 51-59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £95 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing