We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms and added extras”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #55 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great rooms and added extras”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Hotel room was very nicely done, with a nice bathroom and nice furnishings. Room was also very quiet. Lovely free shortbread, mineral water, and and a couple of other bits in the mini bar which was a nice treat, as well as some excellent coffee.

Staff very friendly, our luggage (which we had dropped off earlier in the day) was waiting for us in our room when we returned later, which was a nice touch.

Location very good - on the edge of the centre but within very easy walking distance of Princes Street and George Street. We walked virtually everywhere - nothing was more than 15 minutes away.

Only one niggle, which we should have raised at the time but didn't (it probably would have been fixed), there was a speaker in the bathroom playing the sound coming from the tv, with a volume switch on the wall, however the volume on this varied wildly even while turned completely down, and more annoyingly, it never played the full sound from the tv, normally only the background music - probably a dodgy connection somewhere.

But this is a really minor issue, overall an excellent quality hotel for not a bad price and would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Emmzah.

Thank you very much for your fantastic comments regarding your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. We are located at the east end of Edinburgh's Queen street and as you correctly mentioned are within walking distance of Edinburgh's major sites, shops and bars, restaurants. We do react to any guest comments as quickly and efficiently as possible and please do let us know if there is anything we can do for you during your stay.

I will pass on your comments to our team and hope that we can welcome you back to our beautiful hotel in the future.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    405
    117
    24
    12
See reviews for
104
685
60
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lauder, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We know Edinburgh well, but as a treat booked a night in the city so that we could have a drink and chill out. We found Hotel indigo on laterooms.com and got a real bargin, the hotel was beautiful, the rooms are fantastic and ours was very spacious. The showers are fantstic and the complimentary fridge very nice. The staff are caring and friendly and as it was chucking it down we borrowed an umbrella to go out for dinner. We had breakfast in the morning and it was very yummy- although my husband would have liked more. The location of the hotel is perfect and they have made the most of classic interiors and added a modern beautiful twist with printed wallpapers and beautiful blues. We had a lovely night. WELL DONE

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Laura,

Thank you very much for your kind words about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your room, our teams friendly service and our freshly cooked breakfast. Please do ask for a top up when you stay the next time.

It is great to be able to pass on such lovely comments to our team and it really makes all the hard work worth while for all of us.

I hope that we can welcome you back to our beautiful hotel soon.

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights in September 2012. It has a small bar/lounge area and a breakfast room/restaurant. We were a little disappointed to find that we had been allocated a room at basement level thinking it would be dark and dingy. Happily we were completely wrong and the room was gorgeous with two large windows to let in light during the day and plenty of lamps for evening lighting. I loved the decor of the room which was very colourful with a small seating area to include a chaise longue. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom was very modern with a very efficient shower. Everything was spotlessly clean. The hotel is very well situated with a bus stop right outside and approximately 15 mins walk from Waverley Station or a short taxi ride. There were only two minor negatives as far as I am concerned, the first was the breakfast - food not great quality, service a little shoddy and tables far too close together and the other negative was that our room seemed to be next to a staff room of some kind which was used at all times of day and night and caused some disturbance due to slamming/squeaky door. All said, I would stay there again without any hesitation and just have breakfast at Jenners or one of the many other alternatives locally available.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazzalovesLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear CazzalovesLewis,

Thank you very much for your kind words about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the decor and comfort of one of our basement rooms. These are a real feature of the Edinburgh New town and the Georgian Townhouses that make up Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I have discussed your comments regarding breakfast with our food and beverage manager. We take great pride in the locally sourced produce we serve in our Turquoise Thistle restaurant and are very disappointed that you have not found your breakfast to be of our high standard.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood in the near future and thank you again for your comments.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel only to be told that their computer system went haywire & they did not have a room for us for night 1 (we stayed 3 nights). The gentleman on the front desk was very apologetic, booked us another hotel & got us a taxi there (we are very patient people, so we were happy with this).

We called the hotel on day 2 & they arranged a taxi back (at their expense). We left our bags & went out for the day sightseeing.

We were originally told that because of their glitch, our room had been upgraded to the king junior sweet. The room was amazing - we loved it. Very spacious & so funky.

The bed was very comfortable, the shower was very spacious & the separate small seating areas allowed us to chill out & relax.

We got back after our day out on day 3 only to find that our room was open. Everything was there, however, it was a bit disappointing. From our observations the next morning, it appears that the maid forgot to lock it (we noticed she was holding other doors open with the security latch).

Breakfast was average & very slow. Toast came before breakfast (got cold whilst waiting). However, like the bedroom, dining area was very nice.

We ordered room service - it was great - however, the salt shaker had no salt in it.

It was a nice room & good sleep, however, not sure if we'd stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flutterbybecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear flutterbybecs,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to one of our Junior Suites and please do accept my sincere apologies for the issues you have encountered with your reservation.

I have met with our housekeeping manager to discuss your experience with us and have reiterated the correct procedures with the housekeeping team.

I hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel in the future to restore your faith in Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

We paid £99 for our room and were upgraded to a Junior Suite which was lovely. That said it faced the main road with a bus stop outside so I thought we would get quite a bit of noise. Thankfully not. The noise didn't transfer into our room and we had a lovely nights sleep. We arrived early for check in and our room wasn't ready but they offered to keep our bags whilst we went sight seeing. Breakfast was excellent with local produce making for a very tasty start to our day.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedsmammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Tedsmammy,

Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely words about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

We are very luck y to have excellent secondary glazing in all our bedrooms which really keeps the noise of our buzzing city center outside and let's our guests have a great nights sleep.

Our chefs take great pride in the fresh local produce they use in our Turquoise Thistle restaurant which does make for an excellent full Scottish breakfast. I recommend you try our afternoon tea or dinner the next time you stay with us.

I will certainly pass on your great comments to our team and I hope that we can welcome you back to our beautiful hotel soon.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Having stayed in hotel indigo Glasgow, we had to book indigo Edinburgh to compare. Absolutely loved it, staff lovely, room amazing, bathroom great, location was excellent as we were there to see phantom of opera at the playhouse, plenty of restaurants close by, only downside is the tram works, but not hotels fault. We stayed B&B due to a special offer, it wasn't great and wouldn't book breakfast again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazbo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Shazbo2,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. It is always great to hear such lovely comments from our guests. We are ideally located to visit the Edinburgh Playhouse and with Dirty Dancing coming up soon I hope that we can welcome you back.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I just spent 4 nights in Sept 2012 here and was thrilled with the hotel. Very friendly yet professional staff from the front desk to the Turquoise Thistle restaurant. Daniel at the desk gave me great tips for restaurants near the hotel, and another staff member loaned an umbrella for the day when it rained. My room was compact to the point where it was difficult to pull out the chair at the desk without hitting the bed, but it was beautifully furnished with all the amenities. I loved it!

I had breakfast every morning, one dinner and afternoon tea in the restaurant. Delicious and great service. I highly recommend the hotel and would love to stay there again sometime.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labboyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,407 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
269 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#29 of 150 in Edinburgh
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Property: Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Address: 51 - 59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you in April 2012! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing