We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Room...no noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #69 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Initially greeted with a fantastic receptionist who was very friendly and very talkative! (She even gave great advice as where to go out!) Generally speaking the hotel is very clean, the rooms wheres always left in an immaculate state and the complimentary mini bar was always stocked up each day.

As for the room, it was on the tad small side however there was no noise to be heard (bar the creaking of a door) which was surprising since the tram construction outside.

The restaurant was very nice and the food was fantastic, though i was left feeling slightly hungry (if you like small portions then this is the place for you!) Would highly recommend to anyone as its central and easy to get to and from, even at 3am!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris209953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear Chris,

Thank you very much for writing such a great review of your stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will certainly discuss your comments regarding portion size with our head chef.

I hope that we can welcome you back to Edinburgh soon.

Stay curious,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,307)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,054 - 1,060 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

Beautiful contemporary hotel. Marvellous rooms with brilliant customer service. All staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, little touches like showing you to your room. Nice atmosphere. Food was really nice too on our DBB package. Got upgraded with my platinum membership. Definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chooee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear Chooee,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. It is always great to be able to pass on such excellent comments to our team.

I hope that we can welcome you back soon, maybe for some Christmas shopping?

Stay original,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Good points:

1 Location - you can walk anywhere you need to within central Edinburgh and local transport links are good.
2 Rooms - comfortable, wittily decorated and though I was in a room at the front, I was never disturbed by traffic noise. One drawback is the amount of furniture stuffed into what are rather small rooms. I think they could lose the shin-cracking coffee table without anyone missing it! The rooms are packed with facilities ranging from a steam iron to a wonderfully thought out bathroom to an incredibly comfortable bed. By far the best thing is the decoration, though. Much appreciated and enjoyed after the blandness of so many contemporary hotels!
3 Breakfast - simply fantastic!

Poor points:

1 The so-called complimentary mini bar. It's a bit of a joke compared with other hotels that offer the same service. On the first day it had a couple of cans of soft drinks, water, a single solitary chocolate biscuit, a small bag of nuts (think economy flights...) and a mini tube of Pringles. The next day you get water. That's it. If you eat and drink all your treats in one go then you don't get any more. Just water. So it's not really worth the bother of having.
2 Nobody helps you with your luggage any more in Europe and in the Indigo staff watched me wrestle with mine without a glimmer of compassion! The hotel is an obstacle course of up and down passages, small flights of stairs, tight corners, a tiny lift and a carpet that seems to hate wheelie cases.

Room Tip: Choose the cooked breakfast - it truly sets you up for the day!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear Abrah,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the comfort and decor of your room. Our freshly cooked breakfast certainly sets you up for a day of exploring Edinburgh.

I am disappointed to hear that some aspects of your stay fell below the high standard of service we pride ourselves in providing. Our standard is to refill the mini bar on a daily basis and I have discussed your comments with our housekeeping manager who will retrain her team members.
Being a 200 year old building the are corridors with stairs and rather tight corners and we do offer all guests to show them to their room. Please accept my apologies that this was not the case when you checked in.

I will certainly discuss your comments with our team and I hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Stay curious,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Had an overnight here last night 20th October. We checked in early evening and the staff where both friendly and very welcoming . We where shown to our room on the forth floor a lovely junior suite with a view over the forth. Our room was in the eaves of the building so was quirkily shaped but the lay out and graphic prints on the wall fitted well.
This is a very nice hotel , little things like a free mini bar ( non alcoholic) had water and juice in it and a couple of snacks touches like these make all the difference. Nice Aveda toiletries just added to the overall high standard this hotel offers. We had a little trouble with some of the lights in our room they flickered then went off. On our way out we mentioned it to the concierge who said he'd have a look. In the morning as we went for breakfast he said that he had had a look but that they were ok but suggested it was a loose wire because it was intermittent fault and with that took us to the restaurant for breakfast ensuring we received it complimentary.
All of the staff where very polite, helpful but not intrusive again demonstrating the overall high level of service this hotel offers.
I would highly recommend this hotel and the people who work there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wittycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Wittycow,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel consists of 5 original Georgian Townhouses and this gives each room their very own quirky character.

Please accept my apologies for the trouble you have experienced with the lights in your room.

I will certainly pass your compliments on to our team and I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Stay original,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Indigo Edinburgh for four nights in October 2012. This is an attractive boutique hotel located a few blocks north of the east end of Princes Street. The decor is very contemporary, and the public areas are small but quite beautiful. It's near Broughton Street, with its independent restaurants, and the Royal Mile is not too far away either. The staff here is excellent--just incredibly helpful. The room on the fourth floor was small, and the bathroom was attractively appointed but very small, with almost no counter space. Good phone coverage and Wi-Fi service (extra charge for Internet access). There are the usual amenities you find in a British hotel, e.g., coffee and tea service and heated towel rack. The only caveat I have regards walking to and from the hotel. Right now, construction work is creating many detours in the area. (Even without the construction, it would probably be helpful to cut through the St. James Shopping Center.) Otherwise, I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear ReMars,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your time with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the comforts of our hotel. Our team is incredibly proud of the beautiful hotel we have and everyone will go out of their way to help our guests where ever possible. We do offer free internet access throughout the hotel for general browsing and emails to all our guests.

We are very centrally located and only a short walk to Princes street but you are right there is a short cut past the St James shopping centre that will take you straight to North Bridge.

I hope that we can welcome you back soon and please do recommend us.

Stay curious,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I stayed here for a 1 night stay and had a great time. The room was large, modern and the bathroom and toiletries excellent. The staff are really helpful and friendly and although the tram works were outside the hotel our room was very quiet and we had an excellent sleep. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willowcatUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear WillowcatUK,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed you stay with us. All our rooms have excellent secondary glazing and this really helps to keep the noise of our busy city centre outside to ensure you get a great night's sleep.

I will certainly pass your comments on to our team. It gives us a great boost when our guests enjoy their time with us.

I hope that we can welcome you back soon to our beautiful hotel.

Stay original,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night at the indigo! Amazing room although small and great bathroom. Some of the nicest mod cons and free mini bar!! They try and give you everything you need and I cannot fault them. Great breakfast and service especially when we were running late for our restaurant booking and they kindly phoned on our behalf. Definitely will stay again

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mckerrowlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Mckerrowlouise,

Thank you very much for your kind words about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I have passed your compliments on to our team. It does give us a great boost to hear when our guests enjoy their stay with us.

I hope that we can welcome you back soon and please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can help you make travel arrangements.

Stay original,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Address: 51-59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £93 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing