We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel but Tram works make parking awkward”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #59 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel but Tram works make parking awkward”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Lovely hotel with modern decor but York Place is closed to vehicles because of the tram works so parking is limited (and costs) to a car park a few hundred yards away. Also, the air conditioning vent was very loud and the bathroom stank of rotten cloth after it had been cleaned. Perhaps I was at the end of the line of cleaning rounds and I wouldn't let this put you off. The location is superb, the staff are very helpful, the in-room facilities and provisions are top notch.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    407
    117
    25
    12
See reviews for
104
687
60
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

A really enjoyable stay in a great little hotel. The staff, food and accommodation were all fantastic. Rarely do I get the chance to stay in a hotel with such a positive experience. Special thanks to Jakki for a great sense of humour and exceptional bar service. I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying again next time I'm in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJLB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear RJLB73,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay with us.

It makes our team very proud when we receive such great reviews. I will certainly pass your comments on to our team.

Please do recommend us and I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We booked Hotel Indigo through Priority club and received a Platinum status room upgrade. On arrival we were greeted by Jamie who kindly hopped in the car to direct us to the car park and hauled our luggage all the way back to the hotel.The room was excellent - tidy, clean and well thought out. (TV at end of a massive comfy bed, music in the bathroom, superb shower, fresh milk, fruit and biscuits etc. etc.) We used room service for food which was excellent in the early evening but slightly below par in the early hours of the morning. Were a little surprised to see charges for the newspaper and car park (£12/night) which we thought was complimentary. However given the thoroughly relaxing time we had at Indigo these are minor issues.
Will be back as soon as we can dump the kids with Nana and Papa again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolawalker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Nicola,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments regarding your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I will certainly pass your compliments on to Jamie. We do recommend that if traveling by car guests ring the hotel before hand and we will arrange for our concierge to meet you and help with luggage and directions.

I am delighted that you have had a relaxing stay with us and I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed for a weekend during October 2012 to see the sights and attractions of Edinburgh. The hotel was excellent, recently refurbished, with clean stylish rooms and friendly efficient staff. The breakfasts are great and certainly set us up for the day.

Room Tip: We had a rear room with no view but fine for winter breaks when you'll be out during daylight. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prah186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Prah,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have found our team to be friendly and efficient. Our chefs take great pride in sourcing only the freshest, local produce and this is also the case for our freshly cooked Scottish breakfast. It certainly gives you the energy you need to see all of Edinburgh's sights.

I will certainly pass your comments on to our team and I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingussie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Myself and my husband stayed at the hotel for 2 nights over the weekend. Staff are very friendly and attentive. The breakfasts are great, all freshly cooked to order so very nice.
At the bar for cocktails on both nights and they were some of the nicest I have had and I've had a few! Barmaid was also very kind and shared the recipe of one of the cocktails. Would defianlty go again for an evening drink for the cocktails alone.
The rooms are great; we had a junior suite and it was spacious and well equipped. Snack/milk fridge was in the room which was a bonus.
We had a front room so a bit noisy at the weekend (as many city hotels are) so make sure you take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.
Would highly recommend and will definatly be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Dallal66,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

It gives our team a great boost when we receive such positive comments. I hope you did try our signature Cranachan cocktail for a real taste of Scotland.

All our rooms have secondary glazing and are generally very quiet for being in a city center and I do hope that you have still had a good nights rest.

Please do recommend us and I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

My Wife and I along with some friends stayed at the Indigo for two nights in October. The hotel is in a convenient location just a few minute’s walk from the railway station and downtown. The hotel has been renovated and the rooms were very comfortable, we were very pleased with the accommodation. The only downside to our stay was that the parking for the hotel was several blocks away and walking from the car park to the hotel in the rain with heavy suitcases was not ideal. There were road works preventing us from stopping outside the hotel to drop the cases off, and I would imagine it would be quite difficult if you were in a wheelchair. However our stay was wonderful and we would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2wicethefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear 2wicethefun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. We are indeed just a quick walk from Waverley station and Princes street. There are various options to park your car around the hotel but being in the city centre space is limited. We do recommend to contact us before your stay to inquire about parking and directions as York Place is currently closed for private vehicles.

I will certainly pass your compliments on to our team and I do hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

The hotel is indeed in a very good position being so close to the centre, taking 20 mins approx to walk to the castle. The staff were very accommodating and cheerful. The decor was uplifting and very chic. Breakfast well presented and plentiful. As a previous review states room 109 has a noisy kitchen extractor fan that does turn off later in the evening but turns on well before breakfast. If you are deaf ... this is a room for you. Perhaps the hotel need to change it into a store room...

Room Tip: Try to avoid Rooms 109 unless you don't mind noise during the day and it has no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telephonesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear telephonesam,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have reduced the kitchen ventilation speed which has reduced noise in the mentioned room considerably and are currently looking into option to relocate this completely.

I will certainly pass your comments on to our team and hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#32 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#27 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Property: Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Address: 51 - 59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you in April 2012! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing